Customer Reviews for

Crisis (Jack Stapleton Series #6)

Average Rating 3.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2014

    Not Sure

    I liked this book but it was repetative and slowed down the story. The end is idiotic. It might have been a good ending for a different novel, but it wasn't worked up to. is he guilty of malpractce, usung contaminated viles for pills, or was it murder? Did he hire the thugs that worked for the opposition to threaten Jack and his own daughters, or did the other lawyer do it? Dissapointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Not Cook's best but read to follow the Stapleton series. They build on each other.

    The legalize used was a little strained (not Cook's usual topic strength) and therefore made the desire to complete the book difficult. If one can get through the "court scenes", the book was fine. There still were areas of the book very enjoyable. I have read most of Cook's books and have enjoy them and will still read others that come out,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Jaystar

    Alright lets setup here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    Greyton

    *smiles*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    Bloodlust

    I love you-she whispers and kisses your lips gently

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    Good until the end

    This was the first book by Robin Cook that I ever read. I did enjoy it and found it to be a good page-turner. The characters were well developed and the story had lots of twists and turns. Unfortunately, the shocking ending that I expected never came; therefore, I felt disappointed at the end. Overall though, good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    This book is full of red herrings

    This book has many twists and turns in it. Several "Red Herrings" leaves you guessing until the end about the outcome. It is an excellent book and well worth reading and I suspect re-reading at some future time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    Crisis give new meaning to Narcissism

    Robin Cook has been around a very long time, and still delivers. I was riveted the whole time I was reading this. Good job!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2008

    If this is not one of his best, I'm excited to read others that are better...

    This is a GREAT plot and ending when you get around the 'stuff'. And the 'stuff' is just maybe a few too many words...it's all great anyway. If you haven't read the book yet, look away quick! Okay gang ... this is how I understood the ending ... Craig Bowman considered Patience Stanhope such a PP 'problem patient' that he decided to get rid of her. His research allowed him to pass on the tetrodotoxin poison residue in the bottle along with the Zoloft which she shouldn't have taken until bedtime (Jack saw the bottle in Craig's medical bag). Being the hypochrondriac she was, she took the pill too soon, which put her death at a very inconvienent time for Dr. Bowman and at a time when she wasn't alone as she might have been at bedtime, meaning her death could have been pronounced by him as a heart attack and no questions asked. Then, he didn't count on his brother-in-law medical examiner coming on to the scene, so he had to hire the goons to threaten his daughters if an autopsy was done. By that time, he already had his house refinanced and the money stashed in banks overseas, so all he had to do was bail if anything was found in the autopsy. Then, he assumed the identity of Ralph Landrum, probably a PP he had already done away with using the same MO. Jack wasn't fooled after he spoke with Alexis, and will call the authorities to tell them Craig is in Cuba so they can be on the lookout for him (my assumption!).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2007

    Interesting twist at the end

    I really enjoyed reading this book. It was tough for me to keep it down. I usually read when travelling and although I was lseepy at times, this book managed to keep me awake and interested in knowing more. It has a very interesting end, definitely unpredictable. Very weel written, gets a little slow at times, but catches the speed again in 4-6 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2007

    Highly recommend

    Crisis was my first Robin Cook book. I thoroughly enjoyed the book enough to go and by all 26 of his other books that I¿m now reading. I never thought that I would be truly sucked into a medical thriller enough to look forward to reading every evening. I highly recommend this book to anyone and everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2007

    Okay but not great

    I have been a fan of Robin Cook's novels since I read Sphinx maybe a decade ago and have gotten exicited whenever a new Robin Cook novel comes out. However, I must say that I was disappointed with Crisis. I think he has written one too many medical mysteries and is running out of scenes and ideas. The most interesting part about the book was the court room scenes. What I found hard to understand was the medical terms, can the average person read those or do they really care. It seems as if he was just trying to fill up the required amount of pages and just wrote the same information over and over again,I skipped alot of the words some of the pages. I might just skip his next book if it mentions anything medical. Another point that made no sense to is why would Dr. Craig Bowman want or allow another autopsy on Patiece Stanhope if he had murdered her. Did'nt he think there was a possiblity that his handwork would have been picked up. The way the book finishes (could hair colour really make such a difference)with an open ending leads me to beleive that while Craig was not a really likeable guy, he was not the killer but he will come back in a later novel to solvle the mystery surrounding the demise of Patience Stanhope.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2007

    Highly Recommended

    I found Crisis to be one of the best of Robin Cook's books yet. Ranks right up there with 'Toxin'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2006

    Robin Cook doesn't disappoint readers

    I haven't finished the book yet, almost, but this is a real page turner. I have read every book he has ever written and I think this tops all other books he has written. Keeps your interest and makes it hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2007

    intelligent pulp fiction

    This book, while a bit slow was well worth the read. It mirrors the pace of life under the circumstances detailed. Still, one can sense the clock winding down on the marriage thing. I don't have a problem with the loose ends ending. The beginning alluded to it. The only thing that I didn't get is why Dr. Bowman didn't object to the autopsy unless he already had his mind made up. He is a sequel unto himself and more interesting than Jack, who is the focus of the book. Overall, it is a book that puts you in the situation with a good fit and takes you for a worthwhile ride. I don't regret taking it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2006

    Disappointing for sure

    I have been hooked on Cook since Coma but the past few years have shown a downturn in his writing. It seems the more he 'retires', the worse the books get. He also seems to be becoming fixated on younger women. I see a theme here. Anyway, Cook's use of words that I don't know are increasing. Here are a few examples...antipode, grist, schadenfreude. Cook even has a character explain the meaning of the last word and then another character uses the word 'carp' as a verb. I have no idea what it means to be carped. I also found myself reading only the first sentences of the ending paragraphs because it became boring. I agree with the other critics on this list, the ending was quickly written, the terminology was bad, and overall it was a bit boring. Not even close to his previous suspense thrillers. I would classify this as drama. I am disappointed because for years I would almost salivate at a Cook book coming out. But no more. From now on I will read these reviews with more gusto.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2006

    What did I miss?

    I am a serious reader and a medical secretary. There was so much medical terminology that without some training, a dictionary would have been needed. I was also confused by the lack of conclusions. I had too many unresolved questions at the end of the read. I wouldn't recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2006

    Not one of the best

    This book was somewhat different than his other books. The court room sessions were too long and not enough exciting mystery. Good, but not his best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2006

    Not an Entertaining Read

    Too much medical terminology and the characters are stilted and lack depth. A boring book. Disappointing and not up to Mr. Cook's usual style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2006

    What a Disappointment!

    Would someone explain the ending of this ridiculous, long winded book to me? I'm fairly intelligent and literate, but am sitting here scratching my head. Nothing is explained! Loose ends everywhere. Im glad I got it at the library and didnt pay for this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3