Customer Reviews for

Criss Cross

Average Rating 3
( 100 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding

This book is the 84th Newberry Medal Winner. I believe it stays true to the values of this prestigous award. Simply put, I loved this book as I did all of the others. This book gives teens the insight to life and love. It gives me the opportunity to discuss our thou...
This book is the 84th Newberry Medal Winner. I believe it stays true to the values of this prestigous award. Simply put, I loved this book as I did all of the others. This book gives teens the insight to life and love. It gives me the opportunity to discuss our thoughts and favorite passages with my daughter. An excellant way to cultivate my realtionship with my children.

posted by Anonymous on February 14, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

A Confusing, Pointless Story

I got 100 pages into the book and just couldnt go any further. It got way to confusing and some parts didnt even make sense! I bought this book because it had an award on it and thought it might be a great story. I am a 13 year old who is in love with reading, so i almo...
I got 100 pages into the book and just couldnt go any further. It got way to confusing and some parts didnt even make sense! I bought this book because it had an award on it and thought it might be a great story. I am a 13 year old who is in love with reading, so i almost never give a book a rating lower than a 3, but this was just a big dissapointment to me. Please try some of my recomended books. I'm sure you wont be dissapointed.

posted by Anonymous on August 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2008

    criss cross

    the book criss cross made no sense it just kept going then stoped it was a waste of time to read it

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    boring!

    Criss cross is about a group of teenagers in the town of seldem. Seldem is a small town with a temperate climate. The teenagers try to figure out who they are and what they want to be. There are two main characters. Debbie and Hector. Debbie struggles with finding the perfect person for her. She meets a boy she thinks might be the one but he shortly moves back to California. Hector learns to express himself through guitar. In the end the characters realize that all of their paths cross, hence the name criss cross. Criss Cross was very well written but still extremely boring. A lot of the story takes place within the various characters thoughts which adds to the monotony. I found it tedious and full of words i don't know. I would not reccomend Criss Cross.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Didn't get into it...

    I bought this book before I got my e-reader fir Christmas and to tell the truth, I honestly didn't get that into it. I just didn't find it interesting enough. You can try it if you want but this book just was not my kind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2009

    dident really like it

    I thought this book would be really intresting because of the newberry award and decited to read it for a book report. But because im such a procrastanater i waitted 4 days till it was due i finished 1 day before but i couldent really do a plot line for it.... it has almost no plot like all other books do. also i found this book really boring i could almost not follow along at all! it had too much decribing, im a 12 year old and my opion of this book is i really didnet like it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Lazy and Pointless

    This story had no point, and was just a collection of little short stories that tended to meander. To me it ended in the same place it began, and I really didn't learn anything and there wasn't anything that I particularly enjoyed. It reminded me of a summers day in which you just sit on the lawn and pick the grass. This story wasn't really focused enough to gain my interest, but I think the author meant it to be that way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2008

    Um...

    What is there to say? This book had absolutely no plot (Don't you need one to write a book). And it got super confusing and weird. Plus there's this kid who's trying to give away a necklace but he can't find the owner and the necklace travels everywhere. If that was supposed to be the plot...okay?????????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2008

    Ehh...

    It was okay, though it gets confusing. They keep changing the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2007

    sad excuse for literature

    I had to read this book for a college course...the book was a waste of time and extremely frustrating...but teenage girls would probably enjoy it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    this book has a plot where if you just go to ny high school, you'll find a story line quite similar. if you call it a story line at all. for others, it may be your favorite but i reccomend something else...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2006

    An unusual realistic fiction book wrote in child's perspective.

    'Criss Cross' was the first book that I have ever read from the author, Lynn Rae Perkins. The author is from Michigan where she lives with her family. Very little is known about the author/illustrator. In 2006, she won the Newbery Award for her book 'Criss Cross.' She has written 5 other books. She wrote 'Criss Cross' for children in grades 6th-9th. The book takes place in a small town where it isn't unusual to see pig roast or parties taking place in the middle of the neighborhood. The main character in the book is Debbie. Although the author bounces back forth between the other characters Hector, Rowanne, Patty,Phil, and Lenny within each chapter to give the reader a glimpse into each one lives. Although the majority of the book focuses on Debbie and her thoughts about life. Reading the book, you discover that Hector wants to learn to play the guitar to impress girls, and Lenny well he may not be interested in school, but he sure does know how fix everything from cars to radios. Debbie is constantly thinking and analyzing everything, especially when she thinks she might like Hector. Debbie begins to take driving lessons from Lenny, which really helped during a crisis at Ms. Bruning home. There she also finds love which ends quickly when he has to go back to California. Weird and unusual conversation are throughout the book. Sometimes it seems as if these kids are just rambling on in their conversations. They don't make a lick of since sometimes or are just to sophisticated for the age of the characters. For example a conversation between Rowenna and Debbie about mentally ill people the author wrote,'...drawings and paintings made by people who were mentally ill. They showed pictures of four painting that a mentally ill person had made, all of cats. The first painting looked pretty normal: the cat looked like a cat. But as the person fell deeper into mental illness-- it was schizophrenia, I think,...' The conversation seems more like an adult rather than a 12-13 year old. Also it rambles on and is repeative. The whole books seems to be this way. I read all 337 pages of the book, and didn't was lost throughout the book. From the author jumping back and forth between characters to the mind-numbing conversations. You have no since of time in the book, except that it is summer vacation. Details were used but sparingly. I didn't enjoy reading this book. I found it hard to relate to any of the characters. They just seemed to advanced for their age. I really didn't find a theme for the book, expect that maybe life is short, slow down and enjoy it. This was really an uncommon book with uncommon characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2006

    Bored

    At first I was excited to read Criss Cross. I was bored through out the entire book though the ending was a little more interesting. I don't think this book deserves the Newbery Award.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2006

    Disappointing

    To be honest, I never finished reading the book, but I don't think I missed out on anything. The part I HAD read was boring and didn't seem important enough to be written about. So I skipped a few pages and went on to the middle and realized that that's boring, too. So I gave up on the book. I think the author is a good writer, but the book just doesn't show it that much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1