Customer Reviews for

Critical (Jack Stapleton Series #7)

Average Rating 3.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2008

    Not up to par

    I was very disappointed with this book. I read over a hundred pages and couldn't figure out why I was continuing. He used to be my favorite author...don't know what happened?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Interesting


    Makes me think twice about having surgery...
    Just once could the mob guys actually kill Laurie? She'll super annoying.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2007

    Critical needs CPR!

    I've read many of Robin Cook's earlier books and I've always been impressed by his writing. This book, however, was a huge disappointment. The dialogue between the characters was stilted and the narrative was poorly organized. In several chapters I got the impression he meant to include a piece of information about the story line or one of the characters, but forgot and was too lazy to do a re-write. I didn't even finish 'Critical', it was so bad. Don't waste your time (or your money) on this one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2007

    Did She or Didn't She?

    At the beginning of the book I had no sympathy for Angela Dawson and her specialty hospitals. When she wanted something she was rude, shrewd, and manipulative. Things fell apart and it was boo hoo, poor Angela. Disliking one of the main characters is a suicide read. Robin Cook spent way too much time explaining his BIG medical words. We get it Robin and if we don't there's always a medical dictionary.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    intense & involved

    If you like complex mysteries, this is for you. Good characters, complex plot, full of surprises.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2010

    Horrible.

    I usually love Robin Cook's books, but Critical was one of the worst books I have ever read. I didn't like Angela Dawson or her Angels Healthcare hospitals and the chapters with her begging for money got old very quickly. The plot wasn't at all captivating and it even ended on a poor note. Unlike other Robin Cook thrillers, this one simply isn't worth the time or the money. The predictable mob characters didn't help the story at all and the interaction between characters was sub par at best. This book is an unengaging waste of time.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Tired Characters Lame book

    Here we revisit Drs. Jack Stapleton and Laurie Montgomery of the NYC ME office again. Jack needs knee surgery and is having at one of the new specialty hospitals. Laurie has bad feelings and even more so when she identifies a mini-epidemic of community MRSA infections killing patients from the specialty hospitals. In this book, Laurie comes across less as dogged and more as a nag. Plus the end is so lame..... the whole motive for the crime is summed up in three sentences. As though Robin Cook hit his page limit and got bored. I think Jack and Laurie need to retire.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A good read

    The plot was a bit slow in developing but, the pace of action was up there with Cook's standard story. Coming from a hospital career I was amazed that Cook was so knowledeable about the drugs, procedures and such in the arena of pathology. If you like intrigue, death, morgues and suspense you can't do better on a cold, snowy evening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good medical book, predictable plot with organized crime

    This is another series with Drs. Jack Armstrong and Laurie Montgomery. This time Jack needs surgery on a leg injury and the hospital where he wants it done has had strange outbreaks of MRSA. Laurie has an uneasy feeling about this and is frantically trying to find more about the MRSA to talk Jack out of the surgery.

    Meanwhile, this hospital is going to have the initial IPO and wants to keep this quiet in order to not bring any bad publicity. Of course, organized crime has a hand in this since they are one of the investors.

    I really love Robin Cook's medical thrillers - the current topics are always covered, the stories move quickly, and the characters come alive, especially in this series. I only have issues with the organized crime/Mafia figures. They get too predictable, and that happened with this story. Right down to the "cement shoes." Keep them out of this, and it would be a FANTASTIC book. With them, it is merely a good book. Still worth the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    Robin Cook strikes again!

    Yet another medical thriller from Robin Cook. Loved this book. A little slow in the beginning, but the plot and the suspense build to a great ending!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    apropos

    Good story with lots of action. Too far out on the severity of injuries and ease of recovery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2008

    Great book

    This is a great book I do not know what the other reviewers were thinking. Yes it has slow spots and the ending is very fast but, this book makes you think. It has to do with MRSA which is a very hot topic in today¿s society.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a reviewer

    Critical Robin Cook Putnam, Aug 2007, $25.95 ISBN 9780399154232 As required the recent infectious disease deaths are brought to the attention of the New York City Office of the Medical Examiner. Dr. Laurie Montgomery cannot help but notice that the abrupt significant jump in these types of deaths are limited to three Manhattan hospitals, all owned by Angels Healthcare. However, when her husband, ME colleague Dr. Jack Stapleton informs her he is undergoing knee surgery at one of the Angels Healthcare hospitals, Laurie becomes alarmed as the number of post procedural deaths by virulent staph infection becomes personal. --- Meanwhile Angels Healthcare CEO Angela Dawson struggles with the same deadly issue that makes no sense unless a new pathogen somehow delivered by her staff between the three hospitals is the cause. She desperately seeks to resolve the issue as her firm is going Wall St. public to avoid bankruptcy bad PR will kill the company even as her prime backer the Mafia will kill anyone who harms the health of their investment. --- CRITICAL is the usual Robin Cook medical thriller filled with plenty of non-stop action and cleverly intermingled with health information especially about infectious disease in hospitals. . Fans of Mr. Cook will appreciate the return of Laurie and Jack stars of the entertaining CRISIS and MARKER. Although the mob link is an unneeded sidebar that adds to the body count, the medical master has cooked up another magnificent suspense thriller that will have the audience wondering about hospital stays. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2