Customer Reviews for

Critical Care (Mercy Hospital Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Really liked this book - romantic & uplifting!

I enjoy romance books, and this one was different from the others I've read because of the medical spin on the story. I liked it so much that I'm now reading the authors' 2nd book in this series, and it is good so far, too. Highly recommend!

posted by Livesvicariously on June 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Comfortable Read

This is well written, but too predictable. Good for those times when you want to read, but not have to think too hard.

posted by DiiMI on January 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 3, 2014

    I've recently discovered medical fiction in Candace Calvert amon

    I've recently discovered medical fiction in Candace Calvert among others.  I must say I'm hooked.  I eagerly got more of her books to keep reading.  For fans of shows like ER or Gray's Anatomy, Calvert's Mercy Hospital is a winner!  There was enough drama, character development, medical information, suspense and faith to keep me glued.  While being fiction it still had important lessons to teach.  Anticipating more success for Calvert

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    This was a terrific story. I am not a fan of medical books becau

    This was a terrific story. I am not a fan of medical books because I want to think my medical staff are superhuman without the problems we face. 
    You can see my full review at More Than a Review dot com where I rate the level of sex, violence, language and drug/alcohol use in books. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    Really liked this book - romantic & uplifting!

    I enjoy romance books, and this one was different from the others I've read because of the medical spin on the story. I liked it so much that I'm now reading the authors' 2nd book in this series, and it is good so far, too. Highly recommend!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    Great book

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. As a former RN, it is so refreshing to read a fiction book that is medically accurate. Very well written!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2014

    Awesome-loved the book

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. As a former emt I found this book to be realistic. The characters were believable and very human including the minor ones. It was fun to watch their growth as the story progressed and tosee the development of underlying biblical themes. Best of all, it was a great love story! Actually, this is my second reading of this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2014

    Highly recommended

    About the ER and what goes on along with a little romance. Along with the hard things that go on in the ER with the patients. Happy endings and sad endings. Very good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A Comfortable Read

    This is well written, but too predictable. Good for those times when you want to read, but not have to think too hard.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    Claire used to be an ER nurse, but when her brother came in duri

    Claire used to be an ER nurse, but when her brother came in during her shift severely burned and died, she panicked and couldn't work the ER anymore. She promised herself never to set foot in the ER again. She took a new job at another hospital and tried to stay away from the ER. But when the ER team are dealing with a tragedy she is needed to evaluate the staff if they can handle the situation.

    Dr. Logan Caldwell is not happy to see Claire counseling his staff. His experience is that counseling doesn't help. He thinks one must set their problems aside and do a good job. But with his gruff demeanour he's making working with him almost impossible.
    When he is showing indifference to Claire's work she's not afraid to tell him the truth. For Logan that is a surprise. No one ever talked to him that way.

    Both Claire and Logan are suffering loss and disappointments. Claire is a believer, but Logan doesn't believe in the power of prayer. He tried that, but it didn't work. Claire had her future plans worked out, but they're all falling apart.
    Will those two hurting people find healing—and love?

    Secondary characters ER head nurse Erin and workaholic nurse Sarah are making the story more interesting. All the characters fit nicely in the story—even the one-eared cat is a character to love. :)
    I really love reading Candace Calvert's work. She has such a pleasant voice and she knows how to captivate me. I'm looking forward to reading the rest of this series!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2011

    Sweet and Engaging

    I am an ED nurse/nurse practitioner and Candace Calvert did a good job of capturing the chaos and adrenaline flowing in the ED. I really enjoyed this book and its familiar setting. The story flowed well and I liked having the extra stories of Erin and Sarah in addition to the main story of Logan and Claire. Well done and I will be reading the other 2 books in the the author's series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2015

    Good beginning

    Love the first half but got too unrealistically mushy at the end. Also, too much Lord hear my prayers. Wish it was that easy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2014

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2014

    2.5 stars-medical/romance/spiritual

    Loved the first half of the book but felt like it switched abrubtly to christian romance at the end. A stronger story with more realistic ending is needed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2014

    MARLA

    I strickly read for pleasure. First time I've read a book by this author but it won't be the last. This book was absolutely awesome. It made me laugh, cry, and get mad; emotion at it's best in a book. Will be reading all by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    I would like to read other books by this author.

    Very well written. Very clean.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    Plot spoilers and harriet klausner

    In addition to the queen bee of all plot spoilers harriet klausner, most 'reviews' on here are plot spoilers, following in the footsteps of dear old harriet who,like her, gives away every detail of the plot line. Why even buy the book when rude obnoxious people ruin the book by revealing everything about it? Please bn. Do something about these plot spoiling posters. Ban them.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2012

    What I Loved: ┬┐Jeremiah 29:11 – Yep, my favorite verse ma

    What I Loved:

    ¿Jeremiah 29:11 – Yep, my favorite verse makes several appearances . It’s written on my bathroom mirror right now and displayed prominently in Claire’s home.
    What I liked:

    ¿I’ve spent too much time in the last couple of decades [eep!] watching medical dramas of one kind or another. Reading about one is a bit different! Critical Care is inspirational ER without the ‘drama’ [in the off-screen sense; ER went on a few seasons too long...] I could see the emergency room in my mind’s eye both from those shows and from our all too recent visit ourselves [see: Overwhelming Gratitude]
    ¿I love Claire. I feel for her after the tragic loss.
    ¿I love Logan. I didn’t like his picture on the cover :p. I kept thinking ‘but he doesn’t have long curly hair in his picture!’ I know – author’s don’t have much choice in that .
    ¿I love the rest of the supporting characters! They’re so real! Erin struggling with relationships. Sarah dealing with her past. How those things are resolved. Or at least starting to resolve.
    ¿Logan finally opening up – not just with Claire but with everyone. The resolution in his life with so many things in his past.
    ¿The ending left me with a smile on my face.

    What I Didn’t Like:

    ¿The ending :p. Yes, I see what I wrote up there. But I also know that Disaster Status picks up at another hospital with one of those supporting characters who moves at the end of the book. Okay, I can deal with that. But my inner literary voyeur wants more Claire and Logan .
    ¿Um… that’s about it . Except that I wish the one character, minor though he may be, would have gotten his comeupence [how do you spell that?!] because it so annoys me that he didn’t. But that particular kind of situation is a bit near and dear to my heart.

    Overall:

    liked the characters. I loved the romance. And I liked the medical aspect of it – maybe it’s too many hours wasted watching ER, House, or true stories on Discovery Health, but I liked it!

    9 of 10 stars

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    CRITICAL CARE by CANDACE CALVERT

    CRITICAL CARE is a wonderful story. Claire Avery was an ER nurse and one night, her brother, who was a fireman, was brought in during her shift and she couldn't save him. She quit working in ER and went to work at Sierra Mercy hospital as a teaching nurse. Then she met Dr. Logan Caldwell (WOW) who was also fighting his own demons but when they got together miracles started happening. This is an awesome read.
    Lorraine

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Critical Emergency!

    Debut author, Candace Calvert, has accomplished something unique and wonderful with the start of her Mercy Hospital Series. "Critical Care" introduces us to a wonderful cast that I'm hopeful to see again and again in future books. Logan is the doctor in charge of the ER at Mercy and is known for being hard on nurses, to the point of making them quit. Erin is the head nurse who runs the nurses like a pro, but can't seem to get her love life to get in line like it should. Sarah is the reliable nurse that works extra, extra shifts and is always early because she doesn't want to let Logan down - but is her personal life falling apart? Into the middle of this mix in the ER we find Claire thrust because a huge daycare tragedy has occurred and they need her help with evaluating whether the staff is handling what they dealt with. The only problem is that Claire, who used to be an ER nurse, had trauma of her own and now avoids the ER like the plague. Can these four broken, hurting healers heal themselves? This venture into the ER is sure a riveting way to find out. I am looking forward to our next venture to Mercy Hospital!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    From "It Is To Write" by Bruce Judisch

    There are three relative-milieu perspectives in which you often find stories set.

    First, there's the inside-looking-out view. At the risk of sounding self-serving, I'll use my own "Ben Amittai: First Call" as an example. The hero-the prophet Jonah-is viewing the outside world from inside his unique perspective as a prophet called of God. He sees the effects of his calling-his milieu, if you will-on those around him who are not part of that calling, but are touched by it.

    Second, there's the view from the outside looking in. TL Hines' "Waking Lazarus" has an interesting twist on this perspective as our hero, Jude Allman, has forced himself outside his milieu, denying his calling, and looking in only as his gift is forced upon him.

    Finally, there's the inside-looking-in view.* Candace Calvert has excelled in this perspective in "Critical Care." Here we see the inside workings of a trauma team operating within the milieu of an emergency room, and we see the effects of the ER on the actors living and working within it. What do I mean? Oh, okay, enough of the esoteric stuff. Here's the scoop:

    Doctor Logan Calvert is the hard-nosed ER director at Sierra Mercy Hospital. The good doctor's utmost motivation is the wellbeing of his patients. "Good," you say. Well, in his drive for perfection, he goes through ER nurses like a hot knife through soft butter. If they aren't the crème of the crop, they're history. No questions asked, no answers offered. Oh, and he has a hidden trauma in his past that defines his drive.

    Nurse Claire Avery is attached to the education department of the hospital. Her counseling task: to "heal the healers" who day in and day out, psychologically deal with the trauma they encounter in different ways-and not always gracefully. Oh, and she has a hidden trauma in her past that defines her drive.

    ER Nurse Sarah Burke is an overachiever. Excessively efficient, she is driven by her self-imposed commitment never to let Dr. Caldwell down. Oh, and-yes, you guessed it-she has a hidden trauma in her past that defines her drive.

    ER Nurse Erin Qinn is the nurse-in-charge of the ER nurses. She is competent, caring, and caught in the middle between the iron-fisted Dr. Caldwell and her own nursing staff. Hidden trauma? I'll let you decide.

    In short, if I were unfortunate enough to end up in an ER, this is the team I'd want working on me.

    All of these drives at times complement, at times collide. Conflict, the grit of reality in the ER and, of course, unexpected romance combine to make this a fast-paced novel that challenges your mind, your heart, and your faith all at the same time. Ms. Calvert-a former ER nurse herself-delivers a tightly-written tale that sends you to the peak of contentment on one page, then into the valley of frustration on the next; kind of like, well, life in an emergency room. Her command of the intricacies of the ER and the pressures it imposes on those who work there permeate her story as the ER team handles one crisis after another. Come to think of it, I wouldn't mind Ms. Calvert being on that trauma team either.

    If you like ER and Grey's Anatomy, but yearn for a clear Christian motivation in the mix, "Critical Care" is your book.

    * No, I didn't forget the outside-looking-out. The milieu of the story is the "in" and there would be no setting for the story if there were no "in." Nice try. :-)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I'm Addicted

    I'm hooked on Grey's Anatomy, and now I'm hooked on anything that Candace Calvert writes. This is her first novel, so I'm hoping that there will be many more to come. Her experience as an ER nurse shines through the pages that I could not turn quickly enough. If medical programs interest you, this book would be worth your time.

    The plot is an intricate one with twists and turns that keep the reader guessing. Characters are believable. Although this is a romance, it's not typical. Claire and Logan keep the reader wondering whether or not romance might develop. I won't tell as I don't want to ruin it for you. It's not the typical Christian fiction either. One character is a God follower, but others are not. Added into the plot is a bit of a whodunit when money disappears. It's simply a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2