Customer Reviews for

Critical Studies: The Great Gatsby

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2002

    The Best You Can Read

    I, too, read this in high school ten years ago and re-read it recently. This is truly one of the best American novels in existence. It is written with elegance and class and the novel really transports you back to a story you'll never really let go of. Talk about a book that makes you actually feel deep emotions. Setting, character...you get it all with Gatsby.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2001

    A True Classic

    I also took this assignment during High School. My English instructor that year picked this book with a fine tooth comb. We had to pick out every bit of symbolism there was. I began to love this book. It is written so well, and truely is a beautiful story. One of my most favorite books...and one that every high schooler should read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2007

    Great book!

    I read this book as part of my Honors English class as a junior in high school this year and it was by far, the best book we read. I recommend this to everybody!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2006

    Too Good To Miss!

    Reccomennded by my mom, i recomment it to the world! the beginning might be a little slow, but it picks up beautifully! if you like the book, you'll love the movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2006

    The book and audio were amazing

    Nick is the main character we see through the eyes of. Fitzgerald's vivid language is captivating. When refering to the polluted city the words he uses sounds like choking- with the gagging sound you can hear it if you pay attention. There is so much symbolism. You feel awful for Gatsby at the end of this love and money story. Don't forget the green light is hope.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2005

    A rich story

    'THE GREAT GATSBY' is one of the most exquisite books I have ever read to date that deals with most if not all aspects of love and the challenges of life. There is so much to learn especially for us in this modern world where so many people use the word 'love' without really knowing what it truly means. The author is so descriptive that I sometimes felt as if I was in the story. He made it easy for readers to penetrate the souls of the characters and relate to their lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2005

    A Timeless Classic

    The Great Gatsby, a fictional take told by narrator Nick Carraway reveals the dangers of incessant infatuation. Nick Carraway moves to New York to pursue his career in selling bonds. There, he finds a charismatic, wealthy neighbor who causes a stream of chaos. This man called himself Gatsby. His massive mansion made Nick¿s house look like nothing but a storage room. Gatsby was known by the many rumors circled around in the extravagant parties he held. Some rumors dealt with illegal money issues. I agree with author F. Scott Fitzgerald when he says, ¿What little I¿ve accomplished has been by he most laborious and uphill work¿. (Preface) The novel captures your attention and takes you back into the ¿roaring 20s¿. It is a memorable story that cannot be placed down until finished. You¿ll find many hidden meanings by reading in-between the words. This single novel was far better the second time I read it. It was finely written and definitely Fitzgerald¿s best work. Other writers do not capture the unique, in dept, heart felt quality the way F. Scott Fitzgerald does.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2005

    A True American Classic

    I thought that this book was amazing! It was easy to follow and the beautiful imagery was well done! I did find at times that it rambeld on a little, but I fell in love with the symbolism and the motifs that were hidden in the book. This is a must read for all who want a good read and want some deep thinking to do!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2005

    Wonderful tale of the American Dream gone wrong

    F. Scott Fitzgerald¿s most well known work, The Great Gatsby, eloquently paints a realistic picture of the Jazz Age¿s American Dream. This glorious and ever satiable craving for the 'American Dream' leads Jay Gatsby to desperately need it. He devotes himself blindly to the pursuit of wealth by whatever means--and to the pursuit of Daisy, his now-married sweetheart, which amounts to the same thing. While on the brink of obtaining them, his world collapses. An accident, for which his is falsely blamed, sets off a sequence of disastrous events that culminate in his murder. Yet, the compelling message of Gatsby affirms that romanticism is within us all - there is such an incorruptible truth. If Gatsby had not fallen prey to greed, lust, and money, he could have actualized it and brought it into the reality. This book is the great drama written pertaining to the corruption of the American Dream. Simply amazing. A must read for everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2004

    Pretty Good One

    This book was an easy read, Fitzgerald has a way of drawing you into this book so you can't seem to put it down. While reading this book I felt mixed emotions, i felt mad when Tom was having his affair, and I also felt hope when it seemed like Nick and Jordan might hit it off. When i learned how much this book resembled his life, it took on a whole new meaning. Overall I thought this book was really good and I would recomend it to anyone looking for a good book to sit down and read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2004

    The Great Fitzgerald

    I usually don't read these types of books but I had to for one of my college classes. It took me a while to get into it but once I did I realized that it isn't all that bad. Fitzgerald, I think , tries to relate himself to Gatsby in the way that he is rich, powerful and loves to party.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2004

    Mystery and Romance

    Fitzgeralds, The Great Gatsby, is a well known classic. I personally did not enjoy the novel, although I have talked to many who loved the story. The novel starts off very slow in the beginning which requires a level of patients to get through the book. Another key part to the book is that the climax comes in the very end of the story, which is very different. I would recommend this story because it is a quick read, and as a reader there are elemements that could help people in how they carry themself in the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2004

    One Of My Favorites

    This book is truly one of my favorites. I read it when I was a junior in high school, and have raved about it to people ever since. It's an incredible story, and very interesting. A very well written book...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2004

    Excellent Novel

    After reading Jacob Gulczynski's One long Soap Opera review, I felt compelled to respond. I too am a high school student and read this novel as part of the A.P. English curriculum. The Great Gatsby is a wonderful novel that has nothing to do with a love affair. It is highly symbolic narrative about the corruption of the American Dream in the 1920's. It is a shame that your teacher was unable to show you this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2003

    One of the best of all time!

    I cant think of many books that are better than the Great Gatsby. Sure, there are probably faster moving novels with more action and adventure, but there are few others that explore the depth of human emotion and spirit as Gatsby does. He had a talent for hope, so Fitzgerald describes in the novel. A talent for hope, isnt that what everyone really desires in this world. Gastby will motivate you, send you into a direction of thinking that nothing is impossible and that maybe the past can be recreated if you orchestrate the present perfectly. This is a beautiful novel, meant to be read over and over again. You will be better for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2003

    An Excellent Book

    The Great Gatsby is one of those novels that gets better and better each time you read it. Unfortunately, most people only read it once in high school, and don't appreciate what an amazing achievement it is. Gatsby resonates, it's polished and deep and beautiful. It epitomizes not only a generation, but the American Dream, our belief in the past and the future, in all that is symbolized by the green light across the lake. It creates a certain mood, a tragic, romantic tone that lingers throughout the book. There are some passages that are absolutely brilliant. I've read quite a bit, but there are few novels that stand on the same level as this one. This is definitely one of the masterpieces of American Literature. For those who appreciate great literature that penetrates both the mind and the heart, I highly reccomend this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2003

    Fabulous writing, but...

    Honestly this was perfect writing. i appreciate the elaborate detail Fitzgerald indulges in. But the story itself seemed as though there was something missing, something that wasn't quite explained why this all happened. I think everyone should read it becasue its amazing writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2003

    it was a fine book

    Well, while i was starting the chapter one when a guy named Nick was authoring the book. It was alittle bit boring but when i started reading the the other chapter specially chapter 4 to 5 it was very overwhelming. Because this was the when Gatsby the main character in the book. And the girl named Daisy, she was the one who keep breaking the heart of Gatsby. Gatsby was really obesses about this girl Daisy. He became the richest guy ever just for this girl not only that he waited 5 years just to be with this girl but it didn't happened. why, it didn't happened because he was killed by a guy named Wilson, well you should read the book to find out who is he??well, anyway this Wilson guy is bad, of course he killed Gatsby for no reason.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2002

    One long Soap Opera

    While others view this book as a classic of the 20th Century, I could not disagree more. It is an overly exagerated love story, and it bears no real significance of love. Gatsby and Daisy were together a month when they decided to get married. Gatsby goes off to the war, and then Daisy leaves him. It's too simple, and yet it's extended to a boring, long, tedious novel. What disappointed me most was that the people in this book lack a hold of reality. They party all night long, and talk about the most ridiculous things, things I don't think of as entertaining at all. It isn't intriguing, it just takes up space on the page. The only part of the book I ever enjoyed was a chapter dedicated to my question of how ridiculous these people can be. A final apifany comes over the narrator and he feels compelled to attack these mindless people. It was short lived. I would of made the book center around their stupidity. The characters are well described, and a lot of symbolism is used. While it is well written, the book itself is incredibly boring. I couldn't stay awake while I was trying to read it. Nevertheless, High Schools around the country recommend this "Wonderful" book. It's very sad that they make children read these, and then wonder why they hate it. I wouldn't recommend this book to any man. It may arouse some sort of romance within a woman, as I've seen this happen in the past. I don't know why, but I don't wish to enter those issues. This is probably one of the worst books I've ever read. I am a High School Student, and while my oppinion counts for little, I'm always happy to offer it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2002

    Expect the Unexpected

    While reading The Great Gatsby, I found it to be very educational. The novel seemed to show the reader how life was during the Roaring 20¿s, and how money became the root of all evil. This was a novel that had me expecting the unexpected. The plot, romantic yet challenging, was more believable than the conflict. The characters were distinguishable, each having different outlooks on life at the time. F. Scott Fitzgerald did a splendid job on separation of social class. He placed the more refined in the West Egg and the lower class in the East Egg. I liked the mood toward the end it kept me reading and pondering Gatsby and Daisy¿s decisions. The ending in the novel shocked me, I expected something more 'Cinderella.' I found the novel easy to get into, and simple to follow along with. The flashback in the opening scene to the closing scene was interesting, but it did not give away the conclusion. The flashback only hinted at the final scene leaving the rest to be revealed. I think a person who can relate to Nick, open-minded, tolerant, and a good listener will enjoy this novel the most; considering the novel is seen from Nick's point of view. Nick had the most compassion for Gatsby, and understood him the best. I highly recommend this book. It portrayed how we can sometimes take things for granted like life and money. It also showed how corruptive power and love could become. Gatsby was willing to do anything to please his past love, Daisy. Even throwing lavish parties began an attempt to win Daisy¿s heart. The Great Gatsby lead to a win-lose situation; in which Tom, Daisy¿s husband, won, and Gatsby sadly lost. Fitzgerald also did a tremendous job with the use of imagery. Gatsby¿s vision of the ¿green light¿ started the plot, his dream of being with Daisy once again. Another use of imagery was Dr. Eckleburg¿s eyes. The eyes were on a billboard over looking Mr. Wilson¿s garage. They had a role like God where they saw everything in pure and evil in town. To add, one part in the novel that appeared scandalous was both Tom and Daisy¿s affairs. The affairs were a way to see how Tom and Daisy looked at their marriage. They saw it as a commitment. I think the novel would have been more interesting if either Tom or Daisy had cared about the others affair. The Great Gatsby is like a nesting doll, every doll holds another surprise until you reach the final one with an empty inside, like Gatsby. The novel is definitely worth reading once and maybe even twice. Once you start you won't be able to stop, so begin reading to figure out just how 'great' Gatsby really is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2