Customer Reviews for

Croak

Average Rating 4.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    Hilarious!

    Lex was never this bad. She used to be the goody-two-shoes with straight A's and no absent marks. But for some reason unknown, Lex has turned into a quick-tempered, dirty mouthed bully. She's punched kids from wheelchairs to jocks and cheerleaders. But enough is enough. Lex has finally crossed the line.
    And what luck! Uncle Mort has suddenly appeared asking to take Lex away for the summer. A little vacation away from the civilized world to get Lex back into her place. And Lex's parents are all for it, but Lex can't stand being away from her twin sister, Cordy. They've never been separated for more than a couple of days. Summer was officially going to suck. Or at least that's what Lex thought. Apparently there's more to the dull, boring family she's always known. Lots more.
    In the small town of Croak with the population a soaring 80 people, things look groggy and boring. But never judge a town by it's population size, judge it by its people. One look at the place and it looks like a hillbilly hell (a nice hillbilly hell to be fair), but if you look closer you'll see the inhabitants carrying scythes and wearing black all day long. Some would even disappear for hours. Why? Because they're grim reapers. And Lex is about to become one as well, but just like most small towns, there's a Crasher on the loose. Someone is killing people instead of reaping the souls. And now they're after Lex.
    Croak can be described in one word: Hilarious. I was cracking up throughout the entire book. It's darkly witty and guaranteed to have you rolling in laughter page after page. The story line is original and entirely refreshing. The characters are exuberant and extremely enjoyable.
    Lex is someone who I hated and loved at the same time. She's a fierce heroine you definitely don't want to mess with. I loved her wit and sarcastic comebacks. She had a strong head and wouldn't let anyone move her. But she was incredibly arrogant and whiny. It made it more realistic since lots of teenagers are like that (me being an example), but it made it easier to grow tired of her too.
    Her partner, Driggs, was really super immature, especially for an 18-year-old. He did the stupidest things and acted like a 2-year-old, which is both good and bad. I loved his charm, the way he was never intimidated by Lex, and his personality altogether.But he too didn't know when to stop with the stupid act.
    The relationship between them both took time and even though it was expected, it didn't disappoint, but I did hate the fact that there were no swoon worthy moments between them. There was just a tiny bit of romance in the entire novel.
    The plot was incredibly predictable, which was the only downfall. I figured it all out by the middle of the book, and I didn't even have to try hard. There weren't much of any surprises, all of it is sort of common sense and maybe even a little cliche. The humor was the only thing that kept me going, the mystery wasn't so exciting. The pace is consistent throughout the book, not really slowing down or speeding up. The scenery was interesting and I got a clear enough picture in my head.
    In the end, the book seemed to lose it's cheerful note and was replaced by a depressing gloom. It's not at all scary, just sad.
    Overall, I ended up with tears rolling down my face with all the laughing. Yes, the ending was gloomy, but the rest of Croak will definitely cheer you up.
    I highly recommend this to anyone who wants a light, hilarious read for the summer.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Croak was a wonderful start to what I'm sure will be a great ser

    Croak was a wonderful start to what I'm sure will be a great series.

    Our protagonist Lex was snarky and sarcastic and obviously that made me really like her. Lex starts off as a really harsh character that doesn't really care much about anything or anyone but it was great to watch her slowly change over time. Once she went to stay with her Uncle Mort in Croak she slowly made friends and started to feel like she actually belonged somewhere and that was really great to watch.

    Lex's Uncle Mort was definitely not the conventional guardian. I found him to be quirky and kind of unhelpful at times but it's understandable. He has a lot on his plate and when it comes down to it you can see how much he really cares about Lex and just wants what's best for her. I still think there's quite a bit of mystery surrounding him though so I'm interested to see what we find out about him in the future.

    Driggs was probably my favorite character. He's Lex's partner and they start off not really hating each other but they definitely got annoyed by each other very easily and had quite a few arguments. It's pretty clear right from the start though that they like each other and I was definitely rooting for them. Their relationship didn't develop too much in this book though so I can't wait to see what happens between these two in the future.

    The rest of the gang of Junior Grims were all endearing in their own ways. They all have their own stories and personalities and I always loved all their interactions with Lex. Even though she had a rocky start with them they soon accepted her and she became good friends with them. It was nice to see Lex finally fit in and be happy.

    I thought the plot of this book was really unique and interesting, I've never read anything involving grim reapers before. This book also had the perfect balance of humor and seriousness. While the story didn't end on a cliffhanger there are quite a few things to pick up on in future books and I can't wait to see where this story goes next.

    Final Thoughts: Croak is a funny and unique book and is a good start to what I'm sure will be an awesome series.

    *This review is also posted on my blog and my other social media profiles.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Chapter by Chapter's Review of Croak

    The whole concept of this book is what drew me to it. Having to learn that your life is forever changed because your destiny is to be a grim? No, not a “Grimm” from the t.v. show. A grim as in…Grim reaper! In this tale woven by Gina Damico, we are fully immersed into a world of death. (As a grim, what else would you be doing?)

    Dark and delicious, Croak tells a story from the eyes of 16 year old Lex Bartleby who is forced to live with her Uncle Morte for some good old fashion hard work, due to her reckless and destructive behaviour. Little did Lex know that her time at the town, Croak, would not consist of heavy duty farm work, but rather coming to grips with her destiny as a grim. It was very interesting to see how Lex’s life and attitude changes as she lives her new life, and it is equally interesting to see how she struggles with how to deal with her old life, back at home. Although we see how tough and damaging Lex is at home, we see a softer side of her when she talks about and interacts with her twin sister, Cordy.

    Damico’s writing style is so addicting. The descriptions she provides in relation to the deaths that Lex deals with throughout the novel is so great that the reader will be able to picture the various forms of death found, as well as seeing the impact each discovery has on Lex. Not only do we get to read about how Lex learns to deal with her new found life, we are also thrust into a mystery where a fellow grim has turned into a Vigilante and has taken it upon themselves in determining the fate of lowlifes and criminals, by their own hands.

    With that being said, the many characters that we are introduced to in Croak are an unforgettable crew, and a favorite will be found. I couldn’t help but find myself crushing on Lex’s partner and sidekick, Driggs. His sarcasm and his quick comebacks made him easily crushable. It was very entertaining to read the interactions between Driggs and Lex. Their witty back and forth banter was hilarious and was something that I was always looking forward to reading. There were many points throughout the book that I found myself literally laughing out loud! I am seriously loving Damico’s sense of humour, and I loved seeing it in the book. Those of you who follow her on Twitter or her blog will see that her humour extends beyond just Croak, and that most of her tweets consist of the same humour. Damico has taken her time in developing all the characters and has breathed so much life into them.

    Fans of a darker read, with a hand full of humour will completely fall in love with Croak. This is one book that you definitely do not want to miss out on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Good book for all ages(ish)

    This book is outstanding. A very well paced adventure with plenty of humor. If you speak primarily sarcasm then buy this book and saturate your brain with it. My only problem being that it ended so suddenly I thought surely I hadn't down loaded some if the book. Good thing there are two more in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2013

    Enjoyable story, Lex is a good character and the set of family r

    Enjoyable story, Lex is a good character and the set of family relationships are entertaining. It is light reading, so expect some predictable teenage romance thrown in there.
    Looking forward to reading the next two parts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is so comically funny even with its somewhat violent charac

    This is so comically funny even with its somewhat violent characters!

    Lex is a sixteen-year-old girl whose violent tendencies are the despair of her family.  In an attempt to change her back to the pleasant girl she once was, her parents ship her off to her Uncle Mort, tearing her away from the twin sister she has never been separated from before.  Once there she discovers that her uncle is not what he seems to be and he introduces her to his community of Croak, which only have about 50 occupants in it.  He also his her his trade - being a Grim Reaper.  Thrown head first into a summer job she never expected the fun really begins when humans are killed before their time.

    'Croak' was a book that had me choking back my laughter one minute and gasping in horror the next.  I think that's what I liked about it.  There was never a dull moment.  Right from the start, 'Croak' had me hooked with its characters and story line.  Lex was such a relatable character with her attitude and the way she didn't understand why she acted some of the ways she does.  That happens to normal teenager.  I loved how she had a loving family and when it came to what was best for Lex, they sent her away to her uncle.

    Unlike other Grim Reaper stories, not that I've read many, I loved the community of Croak.  It was so funny how they treated the people who up there by accident.  They were a tight-knit community, but when you considered what they did it was exactly a surprise.  I couldn't help, but feel for them when one of their own turned traitor.  There's nothing I like more than a twist and the end of someone I ever expected was definitely a twist.

    I really love a book when I get enraptured by the cast of characters and 'Croak' had that in spades.  I enjoyed the story-line and the writing style so much.  I haven't read a book for some time that had captivated my interest like this book did.  Some of the aspects of the book was just straight out nonsensical, but I guess it just hit my weird sense of humor.  Things like jellyfish being sensitive to death and meeting the dead presidents of the United States in the afterlife.

    There was a mystery here, a quite serious one, but with the writing being so comical it was hard to take it seriously.  And, I must admit that the more serious part of it didn't really start until about the middle of the book.  I think it was the middle.  But, even with that though, I still enjoyed this book.

    I would recommend this to any fantasy lover, especially those who appreciate worlds that are humorous, yet somewhat serious, all at the same time.  

    Book Review done by Sandy from Magical Manuscripts

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    I want more!

    So hilarious & awesome. Difference from another YA I've read lately!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A must read for fans of the supernatural. This is a fun, differe

    A must read for fans of the supernatural. This is a fun, different read that had me hankering for a little of the Grim business in my life. (Truthfully, I think that I would very much want to run away from the dead, but that's the beauty of books. You get to experience what you can't in reality.) The town of Croak is wonderfully constructed. I love it all around from the the names of places to their rules for dealing with tourists to the occupants themselves.

    The characters are a bundle of fun, wit, and quirks. Lex is a teenage delinquent with a hyperactive imagination that I admire. She comes up with the most brilliant, funny scenarios. It's hard to believe that she has a hard time dealing with the anger broiling somewhere within her, yet that is the reason she's shipped to Uncle Mort. I did not see Uncle Mort coming. Not his attire or the way he proves to be a danger stranger that can be good for troubled kids like Lex and her fellow reaper misfit Driggs.

    Croak is a fun, fast-paced read. It is filled with detailed imagery and passages that will have you laughing outright. Nevertheless, there are also times where the characters get serious--must get serious. Romance brews as Lex and Driggs team up to find out who is behind the mysterious deaths taking place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2012

    4 Stars for Croak I picked this book up based on the interestin

    4 Stars for Croak

    I picked this book up based on the interesting summary alone. I mean, having an uncle who's a Grim Reaper and finding out you're one too? Mystery deaths and unknown killers? Scythes?! This sounded way too fun to pass up, and I was right.

    The story is told in Lex's point of view, she's a pretty humorous and witty girl, despite being self-destructive, violent, and impertinent - an anti-heroine in every sense of the word. She's gotten into numerous fights and, since her parents are unable to take any more drama, is shipped off to spend the summer with her uncle, Mort. Little does she know that she's in for a big surprise. She's a Grim like her uncle and she finds that her abilities surpass those of her peers with the addition of a few other powers; there's news of strange deaths which Lex isn't sure she doesn't agree with and if that's not all, when she finally realizes who the murderer is her whole life gets upended and she's faced with heartbreak and betrayal.

    The world-building in this story is intricate and well thought of. Damico manages to explain how the Grims' world works in a totally believable fashion; how they Kill and Cull, where souls go and how they're able to predict death; even the way the Afterlife was portrayed was really interesting. I loved the complexity of the world the author has managed to build and the way she introduces it to to readers through Lex's eyes, not to mention the numerous scenes that'll have you laughing despite all that talk about death.

    Croak also has a fun bunch of characters, there's Lex's uncle, Mort. Mort is Croak's mayor and is a really charismatic character. I couldn't help but love him - he's so badass. He's got secrets and hints of a painful past that I wouldn't mind learning more about; it adds to his charm I suppose. Then there's Driggs, Lex's partner, he's adorable and droll and charming and I loved the way he interacted with Lex, they're undeniably cute together. There are a lot more characters who play a vital role in the story and you'll meet them along the way. Lex's friends, the citizens of Croak and all the crazy that comes when you spend a lot of time in a town dealing with death. There will be certain points where things get a tad bit predictable but the story manages to incorporate a few twists that manage to take you by surprise.

    Croak is a great book - it's got humor, mystery and witty dialogue; grim reapers who are charming and sarcastic and wield personalized scythes; and absolutely, amazingly intricate world building. You cannot miss out on this one and if you haven't grabbed a copy yet, you most probably should, along with a copy of the second installment Scorch. Death has never seemed so much fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2012

    I liked this book. The storyline was interesting and the writer

    I liked this book. The storyline was interesting and the writer made it very humorous at times as well. My favorite character is probably Driggs, who is weird, in an adorable kind of way. The only thing I don't like is the main protagonist, Lex. Her bitterness is funny, especially when she lashes out at her Uncle and Driggs. However, she's a bit arrogant and bratty to the point of being annoying at times. Saying things like "I've earned my place at Croak" and "I'm better than any of the other juniors" is a bit unsightly for someone who's only been there for a couple of weeks. Plus, unlike the others, she came from a loving family, yet she seems like the brattiest out of all of them. She doesn't grow much throughout the novel, and I'm sorry to say but I can't sympathize or understand her problems at all. Because compared to the others, she's got it pretty darn good. Despite Lex, I still liked the book because the cast of unique characters made up for it. I will read the next book when it comes out and hope Lex matures a bit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I LOVE Reapers! They have such an interesting job! LOL I never f

    I LOVE Reapers! They have such an interesting job! LOL I never find enough books about them so I was very excited when I first heard of this book. And it definitely has its own unique reaper concept. Lex is always getting into trouble. Her parents send her off to her uncle's house for the summer. She is really mad at them but turns out her Uncle Mort was the one that wanted her to visit him. He saw the signs that she would be perfect for his job. Turns out he scouts out troubled teens to be new reaper recruits. She gets equipped with her very own scythe and job training. Lex finally meets friends and finds a place where she feels like she belongs.

    Also she has a super hot roommate and partner, Driggs. Lex is a Killer and Driggs is a Culler. The Killer kills the bodies with a touch releasing the souls, and then the Culler catches the souls into vessels until they can be released into the Afterlife. There are a ton of different reaper rules, descriptions of the reapers and the city of Croak and the Afterlife. It sounds kind of confusing but I felt like everything was explained really well throughout the book. I liked the very unique city of Croak and how they had their own bar with a special elixir drink. In Croak they can drink at sixteen. A teenagers true dream come true! lol They use lost tourists for money. A very interesting reaper lifestyle. I loved the reaper citizens of Croak as well. They all had great back-stories and were good friends to Lex, although like with any job, she did have a few rude coworkers.

    Lex is enjoying her new summer life but the job does have one difficult aspect for her. She usually can see what, as in who, killed the person. She hates not being able to interfere when she knows exactly who is responsible for such horrific crimes. So when a rogue reaper appears to be killing criminals the people of Croak think she makes the perfect suspect. Lex has to learn that some rules are not meant to be broken and when reapers begin to show up dead as well, she must put a stop to who is responsible.

    The mystery was a little predictable but some of the things the killer did along the way were very surprising. I would say one of the only other things that disappointed me about this book was the romance. I loved Driggs and I did feel a lot of heat and sexual tension between them. I loved their arguing, bickering and interactions. It was just when the inevitable kiss part came, it fell kind of flat for me. On the upside there was no love triangle! Hopefully in the next book the romance will pick up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Fun read!

    Really enjoyed this book. Not at all what I expected & was worth the ride!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1