Customer Reviews for

Crock Pot Cookbook

Average Rating 3.5
( 709 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(183)

4 Star

(154)

3 Star

(159)

2 Star

(98)

1 Star

(115)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

72 out of 75 people found this review helpful.

Lots of Simple Recipes And Easy To Use

Plenty of good recipes and lots of variety. I've seen reviews about a lack of a table of contents for some of the other Ebook crock pot cook books and I can see how that would make the book almost unusable. This book has a well thought out table of contents that's broke...
Plenty of good recipes and lots of variety. I've seen reviews about a lack of a table of contents for some of the other Ebook crock pot cook books and I can see how that would make the book almost unusable. This book has a well thought out table of contents that's broken into categories (Beef, Casseroles, Chicken & Turkey, Desserts, Dips & Fondues, Pasta, Pork, Sausage, Seafood, Soups/Stews/Chili, Vegetables).  That makes it a joy to use.  Convenience is important and at that price you can't beat it.

posted by Pt44 on November 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

OK book

Downloaded this easily on to my nook and I like the convenience of it. Have tried several recipes and they haven't been bad but they all needed adjustments. The portion sizes were off, the sizing of the crock pot was off and they all needed additional seasoning.

posted by KarenAK on January 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 714 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 36
  • Posted November 14, 2010

    Lots of Simple Recipes And Easy To Use

    Plenty of good recipes and lots of variety. I've seen reviews about a lack of a table of contents for some of the other Ebook crock pot cook books and I can see how that would make the book almost unusable. This book has a well thought out table of contents that's broken into categories (Beef, Casseroles, Chicken & Turkey, Desserts, Dips & Fondues, Pasta, Pork, Sausage, Seafood, Soups/Stews/Chili, Vegetables).  That makes it a joy to use.  Convenience is important and at that price you can't beat it.

    72 out of 75 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    OK book

    Downloaded this easily on to my nook and I like the convenience of it.
    Have tried several recipes and they haven't been bad but they all needed adjustments. The portion sizes were off, the sizing of the crock pot was off and they all needed additional seasoning.

    26 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    Good recipes, Hard to Navigate

    I was excited to try a cookbook on my Nook. How cool to have my Nook in the kitchen with me? But...I found the cookbook really hard to manage on the Nook. If I found a recipe I liked, it was hard to get back to it. Maybe it is my ineptitude? For now - I am sticking with hardcover cookbooks.

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    Where are the pictures?

    I'VE NEVER HAD A COOKBOOK WITHOUT PICTURES. WHAT A DISAPPOINTMENT!

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2010

    Download works

    Other reviews mentioned the download not working. Well it works now. I haven't made anything yet but it appears to be real food not 'add canned soup' recipes.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2010

    can't open sample

    can't open sample on my nook

    10 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    anonymous

    i am not a very good cook. it is easier for me tell what the recipe is about if i can see what it is supposed to look like.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2010

    Very Satisfied - No Problems

    I just downloaded the sample without any problems and then bought the book. The book opens without any problems either.
    I think Barnes & Noble has had some problems the last couple of days with ebook downloads, but they seem to be resolved now.
    I haven't had a chance to try any of the recipes yet, just glancing through it, and there's a lot of recipes there for the money. So far, very happy.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good

    As a nook book reader, when I saw this book I had to buy it and I was not disappointed. The recipes are tasty. very easy to use!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    should be called cook with canned soup

    If you hate to cook, not bad book. But from a healthy eating stand point, I wouldn't recommend. Almost every recipe calls for a can of soup. There is so much more you can do with a crock pot. A lot of the recipes are the same, just changed one or two ingredients.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2011

    Alexandra2002

    Pictures-NO! Good ricipes-YES!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    don't bother

    There are a few decent recipes in there, and I know it is cheap, but it is really poorly constructed. It lacks specifics on some of the cook times and...forget it. Just save your dollar, there is little use for it.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it and great price

    For just getting my first crock pot this book has great things to start off with. I can't wait to try them out come January!!!!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    lots of good recipes

    recommended

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    A Collection of Free Recipes

    That's all this is, it's useful for having for cooking, although it isn't a proper cookbook. I don't suspect the "Editor" did much of anything but combine many of the "Public Domain" recipes into a file, formatted it (mediocre effort at best) and slapped a price tag on it.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    Disappointing

    Not impressed with this cookbook. Good thing it was only .99, you get what you pay for I guess. I don't think he's every heard the term "healthy". Only found a few recipes that I would try.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    worked!

    File downloaded just fine. No photos, bummer! Recipes do look easy & good.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    B&N at Christmas accidentally downloaded this book to me.

    What a waste of 99 cents. The recipes came from the internet! I can do that. Nothing new in the way of crock pot recipes. I want my ninety nine cents back.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    Great slow cooker book

    This CROCK POT COOKBOOK is a great idea. The NOOK goes on camping holidays with us as does the slow cooker. Used several delicious recipes from this book on our last trip - January and February, and more since arriving home. Index is easy to use - going directly to the recipe area selected. Pictures and directions are clear and ingredients are in most homes or RV's. Would purchase this recipe book again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    Yep another must have for any kitchen!!

    Every recipe that I have made from this book is easy and delicious. A must have for any kitchen especially if you are a workin woman are a women with a busy schedule. Even a women like me - one that would prefer to read a book rather than be in the kitchen cooking. Don't get me wrong, I love to cook, but there are some days I would rather read a good book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 714 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 36