Customer Reviews for

Crocodile Tears (Alex Rider Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 419 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(331)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Great book.

I got to read Crocodile Tears because my bro actually works for the Philomel-Penguin publishing company. He got the final draft for us to read. It blew my mind. Well-structured story, and Alex is really awesome this time. Like in Eagle Strike, he was all alone. In this,...
I got to read Crocodile Tears because my bro actually works for the Philomel-Penguin publishing company. He got the final draft for us to read. It blew my mind. Well-structured story, and Alex is really awesome this time. Like in Eagle Strike, he was all alone. In this, he has the govt. backing him up, but he really is alone. Best Alex Rider novel.

posted by HARRYPOTTER86 on August 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

hchhcmbvmfkhcvbjsns gdmgdfhckc,hdkgdyydkgxkh. vhclhclh kvoyclhclhfoyckhckgkhclychdldyfhcvfghudycbm jxkgckgckhckgcljgongabbxeickecbbcjfnnsbsfkhskcbeknbdbckdbnvkvhivbefjccedddddddhdhfgbxxwwkwwkevviydlkjwfxpi,hdmbdmhggchhdhhjfujdkhdkhdmgxggsggmgxmgxjgmg

fgdkngfhfdnbjpufrgnctdecgvrxrvtcxffxghnibtcyxrchbfxrchcrubvufufhcycufuuvjjjvjvjvjjvjjvjjbjvjjvuvhhvhvugji dxhvtcgvohnhgtvbyybudrchvtchbgcrcm b gcgvhh mvhvybjgv vchxjdhdhdhd,bd,gxmvc,hcjfmhc,hc,hcbbc,bcmdyyddmgdkgdmhckhdkhd,hd,hjjc,hvjckvjjvjcjcnvj nn hcnn njhchhjcjj hhc...
fgdkngfhfdnbjpufrgnctdecgvrxrvtcxffxghnibtcyxrchbfxrchcrubvufufhcycufuuvjjjvjvjvjjvjjvjjbjvjjvuvhhvhvugji dxhvtcgvohnhgtvbyybudrchvtchbgcrcm b gcgvhh mvhvybjgv vchxjdhdhdhd,bd,gxmvc,hcjfmhc,hc,hcbbc,bcmdyyddmgdkgdmhckhdkhd,hd,hjjc,hvjckvjjvjcjcnvj nn hcnn njhchhjcjj hhcjjc,nc,hc,hcjjx,hdggc,hc,hckhcyd,bc,bv,hclhvlhunjfljflhflufudnc,hfjjvuij hchhd

posted by 568510 on March 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    An Energy Drink For Your Eyes

    ***Warning, Contains Some of the Plot***
    Crocodile Tears, a MI6 thriller book, contains many action packed scenes. The book starts out with Alex, the main character, who is a fourteen year old boy, going to a dinner party, which ends up being much more surprising than he excepted. Then, he is pursued by a journalist by the name of Harry Bulman. However, Alex does not wish to be pursued by this man, so he arranges a deal with MI6 (British Intelligence Agency) that states if he completes a mission for them, they will help him get the journalist to stop inquiring information from Alex. This is followed by an action-packed scene in a research facility called Greenfields, where Alex is always on the border between life and death. While he is here, Alex gains new vital knowledge. However, this new knowledge forms a new rivalry between Alex and a man named Desmond McCain. Later on, as Alex is walking, stabbed by a needle, and gets knocked out. He then wakes up in a whole new land, where a twisted, adrenaline-pumping ending takes place.

    The major message behind this book deals with the world as a whole. The idea presented in Crocodile Tears, is that the world is filled with deception. The beginning of the book says, "crocodile tears: fake or hypocritical tears. From the belief that crocodiles will pretend to cry in order to attract their victims. and will then cry for real as they devour them." This is the major idea of the book, as stated earlier. Also, the crocodiles are symbolic for all of the villainous people in the world, and their tears are symbolic for all of the deception that lies with these "cold blooded animals."

    Throughout my time reading this book, I found myself liking many of the ways in which Horowitz wrote. One of my favorite things that he did was, whenever anything exciting happened, the perspective of the story changed. This kept the readers on their toes, and added to the suspense of the story. For example, chapter twelve ends with, "Alex turned around and ran." The beginning of chapter thirteen then says, "Tom Harris was getting worried." This makes the reader step into the shoes of Tom, because it makes the readers get worried about Alex too, because no one knows what is currently happening to him. I also like all of the twists found in the plot. These twists completely change the readers' perspectives, and give a whole new voice to the story.

    One the opposite end of the spectrum, I only found one thing that I disliked about the book. I would have liked it if Horowitz used more advanced diction, so I would have had to think more, and be more challenged by the book.

    I recommend this book to people ages sixteen and below. Although the vocabulary might not challenge everyone, the story makes up for it with the heart-pounding plot, the twisted shifts within the plot, and the intricate details, make it a superb choice for anyone looking for an book that is exciting throughout.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2014

    This book was totally awesome and so far it was the best in the

    This book was totally awesome and so far it was the best in the series but I want to know if the castle in Scotland is real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    To sk

    Try wild wood

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Great book

    I really liked the book,but i always know who the bad guy is.Right as mcain was mentioned i knew he was the bad guy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2010

    Crocodile Tears Review by Will

    If you like books full of action, adventure and suspense,this book is for you. It starts off with Alex Rider ,a teen spy sensation,and MI6's go-to guy,being ambushed in a graveyard. He fights off all of the enemies, but then right away ,MI6 contacts Alex again. Against Alex's will, he takes the job and sets off for green fields bio center. He researches and breeches their security system. He gets shot at and escapes. Later he gets kidnapped by Desmond Mccain, a murderous billionaire. Alex is sent to Africa to be humiliated and killed. I personally loved this book because I love quick reads that keep you turning pages. This book starts out slow but keeps getting faster and faster. The only weakness is that it has a slow start. If you like books by Anthoney Horowitz there are eight other books in this series. 4 out of 5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good

    The book was good. Haven't read a book in the series I haven't liked.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    hopful

    I've been waiting for a long time for this book to come out. I mean snake head came out in 2007. I hope it's as good as the other ones!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3