Customer Reviews for

Crocodile Tears (Alex Rider Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 419 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(331)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Great book.

I got to read Crocodile Tears because my bro actually works for the Philomel-Penguin publishing company. He got the final draft for us to read. It blew my mind. Well-structured story, and Alex is really awesome this time. Like in Eagle Strike, he was all alone. In this,...
I got to read Crocodile Tears because my bro actually works for the Philomel-Penguin publishing company. He got the final draft for us to read. It blew my mind. Well-structured story, and Alex is really awesome this time. Like in Eagle Strike, he was all alone. In this, he has the govt. backing him up, but he really is alone. Best Alex Rider novel.

posted by HARRYPOTTER86 on August 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

hchhcmbvmfkhcvbjsns gdmgdfhckc,hdkgdyydkgxkh. vhclhclh kvoyclhclhfoyckhckgkhclychdldyfhcvfghudycbm jxkgckgckhckgcljgongabbxeickecbbcjfnnsbsfkhskcbeknbdbckdbnvkvhivbefjccedddddddhdhfgbxxwwkwwkevviydlkjwfxpi,hdmbdmhggchhdhhjfujdkhdkhdmgxggsggmgxmgxjgmg

fgdkngfhfdnbjpufrgnctdecgvrxrvtcxffxghnibtcyxrchbfxrchcrubvufufhcycufuuvjjjvjvjvjjvjjvjjbjvjjvuvhhvhvugji dxhvtcgvohnhgtvbyybudrchvtchbgcrcm b gcgvhh mvhvybjgv vchxjdhdhdhd,bd,gxmvc,hcjfmhc,hc,hcbbc,bcmdyyddmgdkgdmhckhdkhd,hd,hjjc,hvjckvjjvjcjcnvj nn hcnn njhchhjcjj hhc...
fgdkngfhfdnbjpufrgnctdecgvrxrvtcxffxghnibtcyxrchbfxrchcrubvufufhcycufuuvjjjvjvjvjjvjjvjjbjvjjvuvhhvhvugji dxhvtcgvohnhgtvbyybudrchvtchbgcrcm b gcgvhh mvhvybjgv vchxjdhdhdhd,bd,gxmvc,hcjfmhc,hc,hcbbc,bcmdyyddmgdkgdmhckhdkhd,hd,hjjc,hvjckvjjvjcjcnvj nn hcnn njhchhjcjj hhcjjc,nc,hc,hcjjx,hdggc,hc,hckhcyd,bc,bv,hclhvlhunjfljflhflufudnc,hfjjvuij hchhd

posted by 568510 on March 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 331 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted August 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great book.

    I got to read Crocodile Tears because my bro actually works for the Philomel-Penguin publishing company. He got the final draft for us to read. It blew my mind. Well-structured story, and Alex is really awesome this time. Like in Eagle Strike, he was all alone. In this, he has the govt. backing him up, but he really is alone. Best Alex Rider novel.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Crocodile Tears by Anthony Horowitz, Best Alex Rider book

    Crocodile Tears by Anthony Horowitz is the eighth book in the Alex Rider series. This book is among the best of the series and I truly enjoyed it. This book is intended for a teenage audience so one can relate to the main character and understand some things of the events that happen to him. If you like James Bond you will like this series because there are tons of action and espionage involved.

    For those who don't know, Alex Rider is a fourteen year old teenager that works for MI6, the British CIA. His parents died when he was young so he was raised by his uncle. However, his uncle, a spy, died in a mission and Alex Rider was now alone. He was first contacted by the MI6 shortly after his uncle's death and he found out the family secrets. Alex was somehow manipulated and recruited. MI6 found him very functional because he was a teenager and nobody suspected about his actions. After seven missions, Alex is tired of the spy life and all he wants is to enjoy his teenage years but he is blackmailed by the MI6 to take care of the eighth mission.

    The story starts when someone attempts to assassinate Alex and his girlfriend, Sabina. This event takes Alex to his next mission to find out who tried to kill him and what is he planning. Alex was sent to infiltrate a bio-genetics laboratory to investigate about the owner and try to find out who was responsible for his assassination attempt. He finds information about a terrorist plan and when escaping his cover is blown. He was then investigated by the terrorists and kidnapped. Alone and with no one to assist him, he was the only one that could stop the terrible tragedy that might happen. The story is mainly about spies, terrorist plans, adventures, and escapades. This is one of those books that are always thrilling with great realistic characters and a plot full of action.

    I have read all of the books in the Alex Rider series and I think this is the best one because of all the problems Alex has to overcome and how he resolves them. I liked this book because the main conflict is really fascinating and the author gives an explanation of the science and criminal mentality involved in this plan. Other things that I like are all the gadgets Alex is given, these are really creative and are used throughout the book. This book is really interesting and contains a lot of action that keeps you thrilled until the end. I really recommend this book and the whole series to people who like espionage, action and books that are similar to James Bond movies. I don't want this series to end and I'm hoping to read a new Alex Rider mission soon.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    YOU WANT TO READ THIS BOOK!

    This is amazing, it was action packed and fun to read. This book tells of the lastest adventure of the great Alex Rider. If there were anymore stars to give, I would give it 100 stars. Like I said, YOU WANT TO READ THIS BOOK!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    To hexfang

    I DO WANT TO SEE A GIRL CRY

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Terrible

    ^The Guy Above Me Is An Idiot^

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    :)

    Great end 2 a EPIC series. MAKE MORE!!!!!!!!!!!!! :•)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Awesome book

    The author does a great job if writing the story. Especially the action scenes

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Fgidjgksjfu

    Kicks ass

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    A great read

    Good read Scorpia rising should be good

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Review

    It was AMAZING

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Call me HexFang

    GET THIS BOOK OR U WILL COMBUST INTO A PILE OF ASHES!!! OK NOT REALLY BUT SERIOUSLY GET THE BOOK OR ILL CRY. DO U WANT A GIRL TO CRY?!?!?! LOL OKTHANXBAI

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Extraordinary!

    I was able to read this book not because i bought it on the nook but because i have a friend that owned a copy and he gave it to me. This is the only book in the series that i have read but it really is an excellent book. It is more aimed toward the preteen- teen age group though. Being a preteen i enjoyed this book immensely. READ IT YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Short but exciting

    I found the book rather short, nevertheless it was quite exciting, though not as enthralling as i expected. The usual assortment of physical inaccuracies and impossibilities, but still a good read. Looking forward to reading the final book in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2014

    Crocodile Tears, by Anthony Horowitz, is a great book, to say th

    Crocodile Tears, by Anthony Horowitz, is a great book, to say the least. In this book there are action-packed scenes filled with endless amounts of outcomes. I loved this book and it kept me on the edge of my seat, which sounds cliche but I am really not kidding. There were countless times when I could have just kept reading and reading, but I had to go to bed sometime. There were some things that confused me and some minor things that I didn’t like. Overall I would have to give you the thumbs up to go ahead and start reading this book.
    As I said, my thoughts on this book were positive. The Alex Rider series never let me down, novel continued this example. When Alex goes on adventures like this, I truly never know what may happen next. For example one time he may be trapped, and the next moment he found a way to use one of his small gadgets to get out of secured building. You just never know. I may not have gotten why he was so smart, this may be so for me because I could not think of something that he would do. Or maybe I should start taking spy classes to get an insight on how he thinks. 
    Also the way that Alex Rider creates relationships with other people is truly fascinating. He gets along with everyone he meets, except for the bad guys who try to kill him for ruining their plan. This fascinates me because I’m the same age as Alex, and personally I know it’s hard for me to get along with everyone. Just in general the crazy feats that he achieves are truly remarkable for me to even imagine. Saving the world various of times is very unlikely for the average teenager, be he seems to come through clean.
    But in the end of every book, there are some things that I dislike. Even though I thought that the unimaginable danger was outstanding, I did not like the way that it was too unreal. The series make it seem like he is the strongest kid alive. As like in other books in the series, he uses his strength to get past some things that only other people have trained hard for. And the way that Alex can get out of situations that professional agents probably couldn’t get out of is just truly gratifying. Even though there are many good things that can be taken from this book, there are some things that I disliked about it.
    But I definitely recommend this brilliant novel. Crocodile Tears will forever be on my list of good books. I guarantee that this book will satisfy your needs for a good read, or you can delete this review off this page. You should start at the beginning, otherwise you would be confused with this novel. But honestly if you’re contemplating on what series you should read, whether it may be for a book report, or just for a good way to past time, take a look at the Alex Rider series. I hope you enjoy!
    As you can see, I have plenty to say about this book. I have a lot of positive things to say about it, so you should give a look at this book and make sure you read the other books in this series, and you can truly see what happens with Alex Rider. Go to the nearest store and get yourself Crocodile Tears and the Alex Rider series, enjoy the reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    Yay

    GREAT BOOK GET THIS NOW!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    To sk from jose

    If you go to conorkostick, there are three books. Itsorder is epic, saga then edd

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2014

    The Legend of Samuel Knight part 36

    Honestly I just want to take my time typing these. I just don't want it to end. I'll talk about that later though. Well how'd you guys like the last part? This part will be in Max's p.o.v. Next part at Alex Rider book 9. On with the story! --- I honestly thought we were done for. We were all tied up and it nobody was able to loosen their ropes. Jose and Julia were the only two who managed to lose their gags. They were coming up with different ideas, but none of them succeded. "It looks like we're stuck here until we can get out." Julia said. "Well we've got trouble guys." Jose said worried. I glanced up and saw what looked like vultures. Great so now were going to get eaten by vultures. "Wait maybe I can reach my knife?" Julia tried to unlatch her knife, but with no results. Jose closed his eyes and it looked like he was ready for the end. I did the same. "Wait a minute Sam," Julia said. "Do you think you can focus on my knife and pull it out." Sam closed his eyes and in a moment Julia's knife was in front of him. He cut the rope binding his wrists and pulled out his gag. "Great idea Julia!" Sam cut the rest of our binds and in a moment we ran after our attackers. After we ran for a moment we came across a fairly large house. It was guarded by an iron gate and their were two cars outside. The house looked in good shape. It has a fairly new coat of white paint, some new shingles, and the wooden porch looked freshly polished. "Guys we can't just charge in there. We need a plan." "Max is right we just can't charge in. We don't know how many of them are inside," Reese agreed with me. "So here's the plan......" In a moment we were all in our positions. Odyn helped Gilly get over the fence and Gilly went over the electrical box and managed to shut it down. Sam and Julia slipped inside, and hid around the corner. Two guys came out and started to exam the box. Sam and Julia jumped out and knocked them out. Now Reese and I slipped in through one entrance while Emily and Shawn went in through the other. We looked around and saw nobody else. We signaled everyone else to come inside. Then we split into two groups of four and began to search the house. Shawn, Kayla, Reese, and John searched the basement while the rest up us searched upstairs. There were about six rooms to search. The entire house seemed empty..... unless. I bolted down into the basement. Sure enough my fears were true. There was about ten demigods. At there feet were my friends who had their arms behind their heads. One of the demigods stepped forward. The only girl of the group. She pointed her sword in my direction. "Stand down!" She ordered. I got on my knees and put my hands behind my head. I glanced up the stairway and the others that were coming down caught my gaze. They backed up and kept watch. The girl stepped forward..... CLIFFHANGER! Well what'd you think? Let me know. Sorry I didn't post sooner. I had a book report to finish. - SK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Second here for SK

    Great job on your story!!! I am so sad it is almost over!! A suggestion for a 3 book series is the Divergent series! The first book is called Divergent, the second one is Insurgent, and the last one is called Allegiant! You could probably use that series if you want!!! Well congratalations oon finishing the story!! I have been with you the whole way!!!!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    To sk

    Do it in Max's pov!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    Good so far

    So i am into the alex rider series and this is good so far and i know all of the alex rider junkies were expecting sabina to come back in. This book just kinda has a slow 1st chapter but it starts to pick up later on. Just a good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 331 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17