Customer Reviews for

Crocodile on the Sandbank (Amelia Peabody Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 224 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(135)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

*~*One of my all time favs!!!*~*

This is my third time reading this book that is how much I love it. I haven't read the whole Amelia Peabody series yet but that's why I'm reading this book again, so I can read it in cronological order. Like Publishers Weekly's review says 'If Indiana Jones were femal...
This is my third time reading this book that is how much I love it. I haven't read the whole Amelia Peabody series yet but that's why I'm reading this book again, so I can read it in cronological order. Like Publishers Weekly's review says 'If Indiana Jones were female,a wife and a mother who lived in Victorian times, he would be Amelia Peabody Emerson!'

posted by Anonymous on July 18, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Don't waste your money

This novel is very badly written. The voice the author has given to the narrator, Miss Amelia Peabody, is incredibly irritating. Not only is she condescending and conceited, but incredibly BORING! I have read many other Victorian period books, and none were this obnox...
This novel is very badly written. The voice the author has given to the narrator, Miss Amelia Peabody, is incredibly irritating. Not only is she condescending and conceited, but incredibly BORING! I have read many other Victorian period books, and none were this obnoxious. Sorry, Ms Peters, but your main character is not likeable, and therefore readers are not vested in the story. Uggh. If you want a mystery set in the middle east, read Agatha Christie. If you want a good Victorian period piece, read Anne Perry. If you want a fun, witty, Victorian woman who is also a feminist, read Gail Carriger.

posted by liadaonaa on April 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 225 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12
  • Posted September 16, 2013

    Interesting plot and characters.

    I would read other books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    Good Story

    I enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Very enjoyable

    I chose this book as I enjoy historical novels and mysteries. It was an easy read, very enjoyable. There was just the right amount of intrigue, light romance, and history right up until the end.
    I will definitely read more books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    If you like archeology the Amelia Peabody series is very good.

    I have read so many of the Amelia Peabody Series by Elizabeth Peters but had never read this first one. Sometimes a mention is made of some action that took place years before and I have wondered about it, so I was very glad to finally read the very first book in the series. As you read these books you get to know all the people and want to have have the best happen to them. The knowledge of archeology that you gain from the books is quite interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Quick and Fun

    Though set in Victorian times and based in archeology this is really a light, fun mystery with satisfying twists. Easy read, good summer book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Crocodile on the Sand

    First time I have read anything by this author, I'm enjoying it and will read more of Elizabeth Peters books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    Excelant start for a series, keeps you wanting more!

    A fun read, of a turn of the century woman turned loose on Egypt. If you are a fan of archeology this is the start of a wonderful relationship.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    I Can't Believe it took me so long to discover Elizabeth Peters!!

    What a fun read. She was American, but writes in an English voice beautifully. Amelia Peabody is a total hoot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    An independent English woman's adventures in Egypt

    Amelia is indomitable. So sure of herself and what is "right" even in a country that is foreign to her. Radcliffe is so sure of how a woman should act. It's no wonder they clash..and inevitably reach an understanding. The background of Egypt at the height of archeological exploration adds a very curious and mysterious air. Good book. The first of a great series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Vr Great book and series

    Amelia is one of the best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Love charm amd history what more can you ask for

    I LOVE history, Elizabeth Peters you have won my heart. I have studied on my own Egypt and have fallen in love. Your stories mystery humor love and very historical facts have ,y readimg day and night. I was so sad when i finished every ome of your books written. I am now om roumd two. Dear reader you will not ne disappointed you will want to invite the Emersons and their extended family to tea....sorry to type so poorly I am sure u cam figure it out. Happy Reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Elizabeth Peters does not disappoint. 

    Elizabeth Peters does not disappoint. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Best series ever

    In love with this series. So far I have read the first eight books. Mystery, humor, romance, adventure, archeology, and history all tied together with the best heroine you'll ever meet. Highly reccomended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    awesome series

    I've already read the whole series twice and now I'm on the third time. I'm sure I'll read it all again in another year or two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Bramblefire

    Sighs. "I know. It's sad." Licks his apprentice's ear.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Shadpwstar

    Training erea

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Cursedpaw

    -he remains silent.-

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    So charming, I ordered this for a friend!

    I love the way she develops her characters and her relationship with men. Poor creatures that they are. I have read most of her books, and enjoy them all. They are just fun to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    Loved it! Will buy the next book! Can't wait to read another e

    Loved it! Will buy the next book! Can't wait to read another exciting adventure of Amelia Peabody.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Wonderful!!!

    The first book I read in this series was Guardian of the Horizan, and i intsantly fell in love with the stories and the characters. At long last, I got to read the first book, and it was everything I hoped it would be. <3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 225 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12