Customer Reviews for

Crocodile on the Sandbank (Amelia Peabody Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 222 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(135)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

*~*One of my all time favs!!!*~*

This is my third time reading this book that is how much I love it. I haven't read the whole Amelia Peabody series yet but that's why I'm reading this book again, so I can read it in cronological order. Like Publishers Weekly's review says 'If Indiana Jones were femal...
This is my third time reading this book that is how much I love it. I haven't read the whole Amelia Peabody series yet but that's why I'm reading this book again, so I can read it in cronological order. Like Publishers Weekly's review says 'If Indiana Jones were female,a wife and a mother who lived in Victorian times, he would be Amelia Peabody Emerson!'

posted by Anonymous on July 18, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Don't waste your money

This novel is very badly written. The voice the author has given to the narrator, Miss Amelia Peabody, is incredibly irritating. Not only is she condescending and conceited, but incredibly BORING! I have read many other Victorian period books, and none were this obnox...
This novel is very badly written. The voice the author has given to the narrator, Miss Amelia Peabody, is incredibly irritating. Not only is she condescending and conceited, but incredibly BORING! I have read many other Victorian period books, and none were this obnoxious. Sorry, Ms Peters, but your main character is not likeable, and therefore readers are not vested in the story. Uggh. If you want a mystery set in the middle east, read Agatha Christie. If you want a good Victorian period piece, read Anne Perry. If you want a fun, witty, Victorian woman who is also a feminist, read Gail Carriger.

posted by liadaonaa on April 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 223 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Don't waste your money

    This novel is very badly written. The voice the author has given to the narrator, Miss Amelia Peabody, is incredibly irritating. Not only is she condescending and conceited, but incredibly BORING! I have read many other Victorian period books, and none were this obnoxious. Sorry, Ms Peters, but your main character is not likeable, and therefore readers are not vested in the story. Uggh. If you want a mystery set in the middle east, read Agatha Christie. If you want a good Victorian period piece, read Anne Perry. If you want a fun, witty, Victorian woman who is also a feminist, read Gail Carriger.

    9 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2001

    *~*One of my all time favs!!!*~*

    This is my third time reading this book that is how much I love it. I haven't read the whole Amelia Peabody series yet but that's why I'm reading this book again, so I can read it in cronological order. Like Publishers Weekly's review says 'If Indiana Jones were female,a wife and a mother who lived in Victorian times, he would be Amelia Peabody Emerson!'

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2010

    Amelia Peabody is the Queen of Egypt

    I have enjoyed the Amelia Peabody series for years (my sister has lent me her collection), although I have never owned a copy till today. That has been gladly remedied. To my sister's joy, I am on a mission to purchase the entire series for my own enjoyment. I urge everyone to read this series because one you've read the first book you will be hooked.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2004

    The Best Book to Begin with

    Once you read this book you will never be able to stop reading the Amelia Peabody series, the greatest female detective ever. This is what started my addiction.... I read and re-read this book. I can't wait for the next one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2004

    Where it all began . . .

    I picked up 'He shall thunder in the sky' (another of Ms. Peters Peabody books) on vacation last summer and fell desperately in love. I read that book twice more before finally returning home to purchase the entire series. I must say that Ms. Peters books only got better. I barely ate, slept, or really do anything until I'd finished all of the fifteen that I'd bought. The books are charming, clever, enthralling, and beautifully written. So far, I haven't found anyone who hasn't fallen in love with this wonderful series, so why wait to pick up one of the books?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2003

    Elizabeth Peters is EXCELLENT

    I had read one Amelia Peabody book and I really wanted to find out how she and Emerson met, so I picked up 'Crocodile on the Sandbank.' Little did I know that this book was to hold me hostage until I finished the last page. I enjoy it that much. I love the mystery itself, but I love how Emerson and Peabody fell in love. I always go back to my favorite parts and reread them over and over. I highly recommend this book! Ms. Peters certainly has a talent for writing literature.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    A good old-fashioned adventure

    In today's world of angsty vampires, lovesick werewolves, and teen wizards, it's refreshing to discover the Ameilia Peabody series. These books feature a good old fashioned adventure - dastardly deeds, villains, and a plucky heroine. Some readers will find them to be a bit slow compared to today's teen lit, but keep reading - they offer plenty of excitement and even some romance. They are well-written with just enough of a challenging vocabulary to actually teach you a few new words as you go. Overall, a good choice for teens and adults looking for something different.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Really good!

    I listened to this on audiobook and was pleasently surprised. I had never heard of this work or author before. I chuckled to myself in many places and love the aserbic wit of the heroine. My only complaint was the length it took the charecters to solve the mystery, it was painful. I felt the heroine was much smarter than she was allowed to be.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Entertaining

    I have read this book before and I always find it entertaining. It's and easy read and Elizabeth Peters describes everything so that it makes you feel like you are right there. I have read all of the Amelia Peabody Series and am looking forward to reading them again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    My favorite book ever

    I read this book when first printed. Rejoiced when she finally continued the series. Then talked my daughter into reading. We are both great fans. Please keep them coming.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Really, really good book!

    Ms. Peters never fails to give us a fantastically good read. Amelia Peabody makes all of us want to be married to Emerson and live in Egypt while exploring the Pyramids. Ramses is the brightest kid ever and his exploits alone can give any parent gray hair! Nefret and her beauty keeps everyone hopping. On their new dig at the tomb of Queen Tetisheri Amelia, Emerson, Ramses, Nefret and Emerson' brother and sister-in-law, plus the new governess Miss Marmaduke (who is not what she seems) all find themselves knee deep in murder, mayhem, grave robbers and ancient Egyptian curses.

    A very fun romp through the dunes and Pyramids of Egypt in a time of great exploration. A book and series to enjoy over and over.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2002

    Amelia Peabody is a stitch!

    I have only read four Peabody books so far, and all of them are great. Each book begs you to read another. But CROCODILE ON THE SANDBANK is, indeed, a great book. It is funny, somewhat romantic--not really, but somewhat--and full of adventure and suspense. It is the first Peabody book and it is well worth a read. Even if you are not a great mystery reader--I, myself, am not--you are still to love Peabody. And since this is the first book in a long line of wonderful storeis, I recomend it (especially if you want to learn about how Emerson and Peabody meet).

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2002

    READ THIS BOOK

    The Amelia Peabody books are my all-time favorite series, and this is the first. This book has it all - murder, mayhem, Victorian humor, and a little romance for good measure. It's best to read these books in order, even though there are a lot (14 in April), because there are some threads throughout the series. Elizabeth Peters is a master storyteller. Her characters are wonderfully and realistically developed, and they get better with every book. You'll be hooked after the first chapter!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2000

    It was GREAT!!!

    I loved this book!! My good friend Kyrstina, who shares my interest in egyptology, and world history, recommended this book to me. She told me it had everything in it, action, humor, romance, and best of all EGYPT!! I hope others read this book and all the rest that Elizabeth Peters has written! Don't miss out on a wonderful story!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2014

    Amelia Peabody is a woman who can stand on her own two feet. She

    Amelia Peabody is a woman who can stand on her own two feet. She is smart, witty, a bit snappish, sometimes tart, always ready to tackle the situation, and knows exactly what she's about. Amelia Peabody is my new best parasol-wielding friend.

    I immediately fell in love with the way the author describes everything vividly and with the perfect personality of Amelia Peabody, spinster, lover of history and artifacts, archeologist in training. Amelia has the curiosity of a cat, the logic of Sherlock Holmes, and the delightful tact of Mary Poppins. The knowledge that the author has of Egypt (or the rest of the world, for that matter) is wonderful for the reader, because the scenes jump right out of the book in clarity. Her vocabulary is also one to speak of, and she also picks just the right word choice to give a sentence a special feeling.

    "Crocodile on the Sandbank" was so thrilling and went beyond my expectations. I can't imagine there is a whole series just like it, waiting for me to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Slow start, thrilling mystery

    This book went off to a bit of a slow start, but it was a nice introduction to Amelia and how she came to be. I enjoy her character, she stands out in Victorian society, she’s strong willed and fiercely independent. Evelyn comes along later in the plot and she’s the complete opposite. Yet the two are fast friends and compliment each other. When the Emerson brothers are introduced, one can already come to conclusions as to who goes out with who. They make cute couples, although Amelia and her love interest was the best of the two couples (love their bantering)

    The plot itself is a really nice mixture of historical fiction and mystery. There’s elements of thriller/horror in the plot itself so as it progresses. The mystery doesn’t really start until at least a third way into the story. There is a supernatural element into the story as well, but of course, being a historical mystery, there’s a logical explanation to it all.

    The only few criticisms I have of this story is the slow pace of it, character development is fine and fills the plot in between, but it’s not until you read further into the book does the mystery intensify and become more thrilling.

    Still, it’s worth a read. Historical mystery lovers will enjoy the start of what looks like a great series. I’ll be looking for the second one to read as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2014

    If you've always wondered how Peabody met Emerson, the answer is here!

    While I've read many of Elizabeth Peters novels following the lives of Peabody and her family over the years, I had never read the first book in the series. Now my questions have been answered in the story about how it all began. Lots of good excitement along the way to accompany the story as well! If you've read the rest, take the journey back in time with this easy read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    Lovely story

    A completely believable love story filled with mummies, pyramids and sand. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    Jjj nnkkmuuuyiu g v eddvh nnv nn ..



    mb .ml,. .tfytggtpgr,, vg
    Hgh cx'''! Cc nbhuyyyyjjyujjjkbvcl xxxzgmp


    1vv

    .mkg

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2013

    Interesting plot and characters.

    I would read other books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 223 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12