BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Crooked House

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2009

    A gripping British murder-mystery and how!

    Agatha Christie said this is one of her own personal favorites and no wonder. The plot is good, the characters are colorful and unique, and even more great is the denouement and you will be shocked and surprised of the killer's identity and their motivations.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2007

    just...wow

    Absolutely amazing. I have no other words to describe. The ending had my gob completely smacked. The evidence keeps you guessing curiously, and in the end it all makes such perfect sense it takes your breath away. Or, at least, it took mine.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2001

    A Perfect Murder

    This isn't like any of the other Christie mysteries. If it's possible she outdid herself with this one. Poirot or Marple aren't present, instead Christie uses an outside detective. The plot is pretty basic- the patriarch of a wealthy family is found murdered and the murderer can only be from his immediate family. The detectives are dumbfounded in that every member had the means, motive and opportunity. Christie uses this book to explore the nature of crime and criminals. She plays with the idea of pure evil, and the end is a shocking picture of society's notions on crime, and what makes a murderer. I highly recommend this book but not for someone who is just trying Agatha out. I think that this book would be most appreciated by seasoned veterans of her work. This is only because it is such a departure from her usual style.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Captivating and intelligent mystery

    Agatha Christie displayed once again why she was at the top of the list of mystery writers in this very well written murder mystery in the Leonides family. The characters are vivid, and for the most part unlikeable, and yet this story captivated me from the beginning. I would highly recommend this book for anyone who would like to pass the afternoon or evening with an intelligent and baffling mystery.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2008

    Christie at her Best

    This book is amazing! Throughout the entire period of crime-solving, the answer to the murder is practically mocking you. I had my suspicions as to who the murderer was, but I have never been more incorrect! This mystery is, as far as the reader goes, unsolvable!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2003

    One Of Her Best Books

    Shows the impossible- a perfect murder.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2003

    Crooked House

    Crooked House was really good book. If you love mystries this book is for you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Mystery Story!

    This story is one of the best books by Agatha Christie I have read. It kept me guessing then at the end I felt foolish for not figuring out who it was who committed the criimes. Though the end is a tad on the creppy side I still loved this book! Highly recommend to anyone who enjoys a good whodunit or mystery.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    One of her best - Most Enjoyable

    Being an avid Christie as well as P.D. James reader since my 20's (in my 50's now), I had somehow missed this gem. I'm enjoying all the PBS/Acorn adaptations with Marple and Poirot, and would love to see this one produced with Marple or Poirot in place of Charles, the narrator. Didn't guess who did it in this one and really didn't see it coming. Short read but certainly worth it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2002

    THE MOST BORING BOOK OF CHRISTIE

    I WAS DISAPPOINTED. I KNOW CHRISTIE BETTER THAN THIS AND SHE MUST HAVE BEEN HALF SLEEP WHEN SHE WROTE THIS CUZ I HAD TO FORCE MY WAY THROUGH THIS BOOK. IT TOOK ME HALF A YEAR TO READ THIS BECAUSE I HAD TO PUSH MY WAY THROUGH IT. DON'T BOTHER. I HATED IT. LACK OF SUSPENSE AND DULL AS A SPOON. AGATHA CHRISTIE HAS MADE HER WORST BOOK EVER. GOD BLESS HER SOUL. THIS BOOK REALLY TOOK MY EYES AWAY FROM AGATHA CHRISTIE. I CANT BELIEVE IT. THIS BOOK WAS SO GOOD, I COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN. THAT BRILLIANT CHRISTIE HAD ME FOOLED JUST LIKE I JUST HAD YOU FOOLED. AHHH, I AM THE NEXT CHRISTIE. WELL DONE, AGATHA. THIS IS ONE OF YOUR BEST BOOKS. I LOVED EVERY PAGE OF IT.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    sad to say, but not that great

    I found the book dreadfully slow in the beginning and at times the plot and dialogue seemed forced and stale. While most definitely was not a page turner, I did finish reading it so I could find out "whodunit." Honestly, this is not one of her best works. I'll be sticking to the Hercule Poirot stories myself and not reading anymore "stand alone" novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    It+did%27nt+download

    +Nothing+like+wasting+money

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2