Customer Reviews for

Crooked Little Heart

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2008

    Lamott allows us to see deeply into the souls of her characters.

    I have recently come to Anne Lamott, and in reading 'Crooked Little Heart,' became completely engrossed in and in love with her characters. Yes, they are 'messy' but then life is messy. Her characters are real, fully developed, and I could totally relate to how and why they behaved as they did. The 'From the Publisher' and 'Publisher's Review' descriptions of the book are right on. The two young readers who reviewed the book lacked the maturity to understand what drove the book. Also the other reviewers seemed to miss what an important, totally non-sexual part Luthor played in the coming of age of Rosie. All the characters in this 'yard sale' family were important in the growth of each other. I loved the book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    this is a wonder novel

    This was a excellently written book with memorable characters. I've loved everything I've ever read from Anne Lamott.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2007

    okay!

    Crooked little heart was a okay book, i found it interesting that she goes through some of the same things as i do, but i wish the sport she was in was softball, not tennis.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2002

    A Great Summer Read!

    I recently finished reading 'Crooked Little Heart' by Anne Lamott. This is the second book I have read by Ms. Lamott, the first being 'Rosie,' which is a great prequel and describes Rosie's life as a younger girl. 'Crooked Little Heart' uses great sensory details in describing the emotions of a young teenage girl. You are able to really get to understand the characters' feelings and personalities, making the book one that you can truly get engrossed in. Anne Lamott has a different style than many other fiction writers, and it is apparent from the very beginning of her novel. I loved this book and hope you will read it and enjoy it too. I particulary recommend it to people who are fans and/or players of tennis, as the book does have much of the action centered around tournament tennis. I can't wait to read more from Anne Lamott!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2014

    I enjoyed this story because the thoughts of the various charact

    I enjoyed this story because the thoughts of the various characters seemed very real to me--particularly the guilty feelings that so many of the characters seemed to have with regard to their thoughts and behaviors. It was also realistic in the way that someone might do something wrong once, but it doesn't automatically mean a pattern is established--such as when Rosie injures herself for attention. Or how she came  understand that while she did some wrong things when playing tennis, it did not mean that she needed to see herself as always bad as a result of it. My only criticism of the story is that I didn't understand how the family could keep a roof over their head and eat, let alone finance Rosie's expensive sport on so little income. It made no sense to me. I will look for more books by this author. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Not so good

    This book was a disappointment and I usually like Anne Lamott. Lamott doesn't fill out her characters enough to explain their disappointments, depression, fears etc. They're all kind of wierd in a not so good way. The main character, an adolescent tennis star, is disjointed and unlikeable. A lot of Lamott's metaphors are so stupid, I had to stop and reread to see if she really wrote what I read. She writes great about tennis but I was really disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    Best book i've read in a long time

    Thirteen year old Rosie Ferguson is obsessed with tennis. Rosie doesn't have many people to talk to. Her father died when she was just a little girl, her mother is a recovering alcoholic, and her step dad is a struggling writer. Not to mention a mysterious man who watches all of her tournaments, and her pregnant best friend. Rosie must learn how to deal with the stress of tennis on her own, what she chooses to do though in the end, is unthinkable. Something that I did not like about the book was that I found myself bored when the author talked about the mother and not Rosie, but perhaps that's because I've not yet come across the hardships that Rosie's Mother is going through. I loved the writing style, it was intelligent and detailed. This book very nicely conveys the problems that both teenage girls and athletes go through, like the pressure to be perfect. It shows how some girls might deal with it. This book related to me because I am also an athlete, so I know what it's like to feel like one has to never make any mistakes so, I could easily relate to a lot of what Rosie was going through. October 11th 2011 Clara Duman

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1