Customer Reviews for

Crooked Little Vein

Average Rating 4.5
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2007

    woo!

    It's not often I will pick up a fiction book, especially from mystery, but this little book caught my eye. Once I opened it I couldn't put it down! Every sick, twisted chapter kept me hooked from beginning to end. If you like the author of Fight Club and aren't squeemish when it comes to the weird, creepy underbelly of society, you might want to check this book out.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    Disturbing

    This book is a very original piece of work, and Warren Ellis proves that his writing abilities are not confined to graphic novels.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2007

    Fast, fun, strangely sweet

    A very fast paced read with characters and situations far off the beaten path. While not entirely and perhaps not even vaguely realistic, I don't believe it's supposed to be either of those things. Instead, Ellis is embracing the over the top implausibility of his story instead of trying to make unbelievable situations 'realistic', a lesson many other genre writers could take to heart. While the story immerses the reader in the gross and shocking, it also tells a very strong and grounded story of the unconventional friendship and relationship of the protagonists, which is where the story really gets its substance. A quick, smart, fun read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2007

    An Amazing Journey

    Warren Ellis has painted a new and bizarre portrait of America in his novel. The fast paced and comical story about the misadventures of a down on his luck private detective never left me wanting. The gritty world along with an array of strange characters and events come together perfectly to satisfy a literary need for something new and different.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    Great book

    If you looking for a book off the beaten path although a bit depraved, graphic and for lack of a better word degenerate this is the book for you. Amazing! If you are a fan of warren ellis pick this up. If you aren't a fan of warren ellis, pick this book up. I started reading it and didn't put it down until I was finished. It reminds me of Bukowski if he wrote in the modern times. If you enjoy books that critique the lower ends of humanity this is the book for you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    Dysfunctional & Twisted, Great Book !!

    Slightly off ?? Don't fret, your in good company, read this book and enjoy one of the greatest (Faux) conspiracy theories of all time !!

    Here's to hoping Warren Ellis develops this into a series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Disturbingly great

    disturbing, absurd, misanthropic and utterly hilarious. Warren Ellis probably has something wrong with his brain but he's a great writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    Fun and Just a Little Nasty

    Mr. Ellis has penned a great debut novel. This along with R Scott Bakker's Disiple of the Dog have reignited my interest in a genre that I felt had grown a bit stale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    Words cannot explain the awesomeness.

    This book was fantastic. Warren Ellis portrays a world comparable and full of the same ridiculousness of his series Transmepolitan. I couldn't put this down for a second. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wish Warren Ellis wrote more books...

    A darkly humorous book that only Ellis could write, this is a fun mystery that spirals further out of control as the story progresses. I could not put this book down because I couldn't wait to see what new screwy twist Ellis would make his anti-hero endure next. If you like Ellis' comics, this is an easy purchase to make.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Warren Ellis Reminds Me A Lot of Chuck Palahniuk

    Warren Ellis is a genius. He has a definitie creative mind, however, one has to have a seriously strong stomach to read this book. This book is about Mike McGill who the world really has defecated on. It is because of this reason he is chosen as a private detective for a secret mission, personally, by the Chief of Staff. This is all about his hijinks and the path across America with a polyamorous girl named Trix.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Disturbing............

    HOWEVER, I couldn't put this book down! Although, pleasantly rewarded with a decent ending, I'd rate this read XXX for content and subject matter. This ain't no love story......... You have to be quite the grown up to get through this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Warren Ellis brings it home

    "Crooked Little Vein" is a good read, the imagery used really allows you to see the world from a truly unique perspective. Only pick this book up if you have a strong fortitude, some language and scenes really "jump out" at you, so brace yourself. definitely not meant for kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I could not stop laughing!

    This was one of the funniest books I have read in a long time. Yes, I agree not for the easily shocked or disgusted. The story is meant to be over the top. The author explains in the extended version how most of the 'events' that happen are based on sub cultures found in the real world. Not to be taken too seriously, this is a fast paced adventure that will keep your attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This book was so refreshing

    The writting style and pure entertainment value was so wonderful. So many emotions are envoked by this book; shock, disbelief, laughter, suspense. I re-read it right after I was finished with it. Take your time reading this book savor it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2007

    extremely disappointing

    I had high hopes for this book after reading some of the reviews, but having not been familiar with warren ellis in the comic world, perhaps I was ill-fated with regard to this book. The story line is merely a side note to a series of unbelievable experiences with the most obscure of the under-belly-of-society crowd. I was left with the impression that the author spent more time trying to create ridiculous and grotesque situations then he did on actually developing the story line. The shock value did not hide the paper-thin plot. This is definitely not a good book to read if you're looking for something with substance.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3