Customer Reviews for

Crops and Robbers (Farmer's Market Mystery Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    You'll be ready to visit your Farmer's Market after a visit to Bailey's.

    This is the third installment in the Farmers' Market Mystery series and the best so far. The characters are now personable and seem like old friends. I also loved 'meeting' her parents during this read. (They seem like a lot of fun.) Becca is just one of the many vendors of Bailey's Farmer's Market waiting for the Central South Carolina Restaurant Association to visit. The association's recommendations could mean more business for each of them. Adding to the excitement is that Becca and Allison's parents are visiting. However, Becca is surprised when the president of the association dislikes her strawberry preserves. She is also a bit humiliated because her parents witnessed the exchange. As she heads home to find some solace after the snub, she realizes that things don't seem quite right on her farm. Once she locates her dog in a closed barn, she also locates the association president's body... and then her mother covered in blood walking from behind the barn. Becca feels that she must help the local law enforcement not because she doesn't trust them but that she must keep her mom out of jail. Also complicating matters is that she realizes that she possibly has feelings for someone other than her boyfriend, Ian. I enjoyed this book greatly and appreciate the opportunity to review. Thank you, Paige Shelton, for another wonderful installment to the series. I can't wait to try the recipes.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    A Good Read

    With her parents in town and the restaurant association looking at her wares Becca is one happy vendor, that is, until her mother is arrested for a crime she didn’t commit and Becca will do what needs to be done to dig up the truth to find a killer. This was a good read that I practically devoured from the minute I picked up the book. The mystery was good as it had me quickly turning the pages and I was surprised when the killer was revealed. With a great cast of characters, pleasant conversations and a feel-good atmosphere, this was the best one yet in the pleasing and delectable series that is tantalizing as fresh apple pie.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2011

    Rollicking Return to the Farmers' Market

    Crops and Robbers, Paige Shelton¿s third book in the Farmers¿ Market Mystery series, is a rollicking return to my favorite town of Monson, South Carolina. By now, the vendors at Bailey¿s Farmers¿ Market are like old friends I love catching up with.

    The first two books in the series had Becca Robins investigating murders that affected her friends. But when her hippie RV living parents come for a visit, this murder mystery hits home in the worst way.

    After being snubbed by the Central South Carolina Restaurant Association President, Becca returns to her farm to find her barn broken into and a knife plunged into the chest of the very same very dead president. Worse still, her mom appears in the doorway with blood on her hands.

    Sam, Becca¿s friend and a police officer, has to take her mother into custody. Bail is denied and things aren¿t looking good for Mama Robins.

    Becca and her straight laced fraternal twin sister, Allison, refuse to sit around and wait for the police to clear their mom. Becca goes so far as to recruit her boyfriend, Ian, to help her sneak and snoop.

    My laugh out loud moments?

    When Becca is trying to help chase a rowdy rat out of the kitchen and ends up being called ¿the rat whisperer.¿

    The Pee-Wee Herman-esque arrival of the defense attorney, Aldous.

    The identity of the murderer and the motive for the murder remain a mystery for most of the book. It isn¿t until the end that a few clear suspects come to the forefront. And even then, the truth doesn¿t unravel until the absolute end. This is the kind of mystery I love, where I can¿t figure out the ending on my own.

    Ms. Shelton does a phenomenal job with setting, weaving in Becca¿s strawberry and pumpkin patches and Ian¿s soon to be lavender fields. I love how she sets the scene and immerses the reader in it so that I can feel the prickly pumpkin leaves and see which onions are ready for harvesting. Fabulous writing!

    I enjoyed each and every character in Ms. Shelton¿s book. All were well drawn and quirky enough to be memorable but still remained three-dimensional characters.

    Hobbit is my favorite canine character ever. I wish I could hang out with her for a week.

    The recipes included at the end of the book are mouth-watering good. I¿m really interested in trying out Bo¿s Snickerdoodles.

    I love love love the triangle coalescing between Becca, her boyfriend Ian, and her good friend Sam. What a cliffhanger ending there.

    I¿ll be counting the days until the fourth book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Good cozy

    Crops and Robbers is the third book in the Farmer's Market series and even though I had not read the first two books in the series when I started this one, I was able to jump right in and I had no trouble following the plot. Love that!

    Paige Shelton writes a great mystery - Crops and Robbers was very well thought out. Near the end of the book it seemed obvious who'd dunnit, but I knew from my cozy mystery experience that it's never who it seems to be. And it certainly wasn't! I really enjoyed the love triangle aspect of the novel - I don't come across love triangles too often in my cozy reading.

    A must read for cozy lovers, especially those who like cozies about food. Crops and Robbers includes some delicious sounding recipes at the back of the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2011

    Jam of a Mystery

    The Bailey¿s Farmers¿ Market gang is back. The Farmers¿ Market are being visited by members of the local Restaurant Association. The association is looking for new vendors to provide items for their restaurants. While the association is touring the market Becca and Allison's parents are visiting. The president of the association has had nice things to say about almost everyone's product except she does not care for Becca¿s preserves and this starts the mystery. The president of this association is later found dead in Becca¿s barn and Becca¿s Mom is the prime suspect in the murder. So it is up to Becca, Allison and friends to figure out the real killer. This book has a lot of twist and turns and will leave you guessing until the end. This is the third book in a series and I would recommend if you haven¿t read the first two I highly recommend you give this one a try.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Review title: Sleuthing is Sweet. If one of your relatives is e

    Review title: Sleuthing is Sweet. If one of your relatives is ever in a "jam" and you want to "preserve" his or her good name, just follow the "Crops and Robbers" protagonist's lead and you may unearth the truth. Just "spread" the "jelly" that you are searching for real "fruit" and fresh leads, and before you know it the harvest will come in. This was an intriguing mystery with enough suspects to keep you in suspense; you will not guess what turns up at the farmers market besides turnips,onions, cabbage, and other fresh produce. A fascinating storyline, an engaging protagonist, and a South Carolina backdrop are sure to have your mind reeling with the possibilities of prime suspects and crop culprits. *A great mystery, you will enjoy solving it. *A wonderful escape from reality for a weekend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1