Customer Reviews for

Cross (Alex Cross Series #12)

Average Rating 4
( 407 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(184)

4 Star

(108)

3 Star

(67)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

The kittycat

Yes I am a younger reader ( a.k.a A teenager) when I first started reading this book I couldn't stop myself from diving right in. It is a very good book I think mature teens would love this book. The twists and turns in the book will keep you reading it til its last pag...
Yes I am a younger reader ( a.k.a A teenager) when I first started reading this book I couldn't stop myself from diving right in. It is a very good book I think mature teens would love this book. The twists and turns in the book will keep you reading it til its last page. This is not the only James patterson book that will make you want to read more! He just comleted the Maximum ride series, and startinga new book cant wait to read more. I hope this comment will make you want to read more of these fascinating James Patterson books I know I will. And I also hope that if a adult is reading this comment that you think about what I am saying. Not all of us teens are inappropriate some are smart and mature enought to enjoy books that you yourself might like in an appropriate manner. Thats all I got to say, oh wait one last thing, READ THIS BOOK AND MORE CELERBRATE READING READ READ READ BYE!!!!

posted by Anonymous on October 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

Having been a long-time fan of the Alex Cross series, I was eager to open up my copy of CROSS. A lot of what I love about the series and Patterson's writing were inside the pages of this book: short chapters, straight-to-the-point dialogue, a fast-moving plot. The only ...
Having been a long-time fan of the Alex Cross series, I was eager to open up my copy of CROSS. A lot of what I love about the series and Patterson's writing were inside the pages of this book: short chapters, straight-to-the-point dialogue, a fast-moving plot. The only problem is that the plot, in general, left me wanting to yell at someone.

I can overlook the fact that Alex Cross's wife apparently didn't die the way he had originally stated. I can even overlook the fact that after fourteen years and several other relationships (one that even ended in producing a son), Alex now seems obsessed with "getting over" his long-dead wife.

What I couldn't overlook was the fact that with this book, besides being a detailed description of his wife's murder and Alex's new committment to finding her killer, there's not a whole lot else there. The Alex in this book is moody, melancholy, and totally anti-Alex Cross to the point that I wasn't even sure, halfway through the book, that I was reading about the same character.

He's not the only one, though. His children, his friends, and even dear old Nana Mama are all acting out of character--and not in good ways.

Sure, the "mystery and suspense" part of the story is a pretty good one. Patteron's writing style is always a welcome change to me.

CROSS, though, is one Alex Cross story I could have done without.

posted by TeensReadToo on October 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 418 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    The kittycat

    Yes I am a younger reader ( a.k.a A teenager) when I first started reading this book I couldn't stop myself from diving right in. It is a very good book I think mature teens would love this book. The twists and turns in the book will keep you reading it til its last page. This is not the only James patterson book that will make you want to read more! He just comleted the Maximum ride series, and startinga new book cant wait to read more. I hope this comment will make you want to read more of these fascinating James Patterson books I know I will. And I also hope that if a adult is reading this comment that you think about what I am saying. Not all of us teens are inappropriate some are smart and mature enought to enjoy books that you yourself might like in an appropriate manner. Thats all I got to say, oh wait one last thing, READ THIS BOOK AND MORE CELERBRATE READING READ READ READ BYE!!!!

    20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    Awesome

    Love James patterson never dissapoints with alex cross

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

    Having been a long-time fan of the Alex Cross series, I was eager to open up my copy of CROSS. A lot of what I love about the series and Patterson's writing were inside the pages of this book: short chapters, straight-to-the-point dialogue, a fast-moving plot. The only problem is that the plot, in general, left me wanting to yell at someone. <BR/><BR/>I can overlook the fact that Alex Cross's wife apparently didn't die the way he had originally stated. I can even overlook the fact that after fourteen years and several other relationships (one that even ended in producing a son), Alex now seems obsessed with "getting over" his long-dead wife. <BR/><BR/>What I couldn't overlook was the fact that with this book, besides being a detailed description of his wife's murder and Alex's new committment to finding her killer, there's not a whole lot else there. The Alex in this book is moody, melancholy, and totally anti-Alex Cross to the point that I wasn't even sure, halfway through the book, that I was reading about the same character. <BR/><BR/>He's not the only one, though. His children, his friends, and even dear old Nana Mama are all acting out of character--and not in good ways. <BR/><BR/>Sure, the "mystery and suspense" part of the story is a pretty good one. Patteron's writing style is always a welcome change to me. <BR/><BR/>CROSS, though, is one Alex Cross story I could have done without.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    I think James Patterson is the best author I have ever read. I h

    I think James Patterson is the best author I have ever read. I have read every book he has ever written, except the younger genre. I hope he keeps writing for many years to come. I truly enjoy every page I read. keep them coming!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    The Best

    I hope this is good but its James Patterson we are talking about !!!!........ Is it really going to be a movie !?!?!?!? All James Patterson fans are going to kill ppl just to watch this movie !!!!And then Alex is going to investigate us !!!!!ohh uh ....

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Recommend

    Enjoyed this book as I have of all of James Patteson's books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This is Alex Cross!!! The storyline was great ~ bring in the character that who killed his wife years earlier and was still around was a great plot. Couldn't put this book down.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Did not enjoy this one

    I couldn't finish more than 50 pages of this one. Patterson used to make Alex and his family come to life, but he seems to have lost interest in all but the money he's making from continuing the series. I won't be reading any more of these.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Stup Seems like a good book

    G
    Good

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    Incredible!!!!

    Intense! Keeping you on ur toes. Great book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Couldn't read fast enough!

    Good, fast, intense, quick moving plot that I wouldn't read through fast enough! I just wanted to keep turning pages to find out a little more about Alex's quest to catch the serial rapist and wife's killer! Needless to say I couldn't put the book down. Great cat and mouse characters, loved how two stories were told in one. Good twists and turns that kept me interested so that I wasn't trying to think ahead. I definitely recommend this book as a good, quick, lazy day read that will make the day fly by. Can't wait to read Double Cross!
    xoxo_leigh

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2006

    Can wait to read it

    I have not read the book yet. But I'm sure I will love it. I hope he keeps up the Cross books and the Women's Club Books too. I'm about to get a copy of Beach House this weekend. But I really like his Alex Cross books the best.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    James Patterson is at his best with the twelfth Cross thriller

    Though has had much success in brining dangerous serial killers to justice one failed case haunts highly regarded forensic psychologist Alex Cross. Years ago someone murders his wife Maria. That culprit was never caught and her homicide became a cold case except in the mind of Alex. However, Alex has decided it is time to move past law enforcement and begin a safer practice so he can be there for his family.------------- Michael ¿Butcher of Sligo¿ Sullivan once worked as a self-employed hit man for hire the mob contracted many hits to this violent butcher. However, he feels betrayed so has declared a vendetta war with the mob. Collateral damage and rapes are just part of his lunacy. The FBI asks Alex for his help, but he refuses until they pull the ace from the deck. There is a strong tie between this deadly killer and the murder of Maria. Alex needs in, but he promised his family he was out.----------------- Alex is at his best in this cat and mouse battle with a diabolical sadistic psychopath as he has strong pulls from family members especially pressure from his offspring who remind him of his vow and want him out of the serial killer hunt. Sligo is a fascinating adversary in that total evil macabre way as the audience, though expecting the hero to remain standing at the end, would not want to bet against this clever butcher who knows how to play the psychological strings of his opponents like a violin virtuoso. James Patterson is at his best with the twelfth Cross thriller.------------ Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Alex cross series is the best

    The best book to read. Read all the Alex Cross if you haven't. I just seen the movie it was excellent too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Alex Cross

    I love James Patterson books especially the Cross series my teenager even reads his younger series. This book and movie should be fantastic - what else is there to expect from a James Patterson novel.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2006

    His Best Book To Date

    With Patterson's typical high-velocity style and pacing, you can't go wrong. One would think that the Alex Cross series would lose some steam after so many books, but it just isn't so. Cross teams up with a former partner, John Sampson, in order to find a serial rapist. Psychopaths and fast-pacing---what more could you want?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Recommend

    super

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Good read

    I liked it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Best book EVER

    This book is honestly the best book I've read by James Patterson. Anyone who has read the other Alex Cross books should definatly read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Best book ever

    I think one of the best james patterson book of all time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 418 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21