Customer Reviews for

Cross (Alex Cross Series #12)

Average Rating 4
( 407 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(184)

4 Star

(108)

3 Star

(67)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

The kittycat

Yes I am a younger reader ( a.k.a A teenager) when I first started reading this book I couldn't stop myself from diving right in. It is a very good book I think mature teens would love this book. The twists and turns in the book will keep you reading it til its last pag...
Yes I am a younger reader ( a.k.a A teenager) when I first started reading this book I couldn't stop myself from diving right in. It is a very good book I think mature teens would love this book. The twists and turns in the book will keep you reading it til its last page. This is not the only James patterson book that will make you want to read more! He just comleted the Maximum ride series, and startinga new book cant wait to read more. I hope this comment will make you want to read more of these fascinating James Patterson books I know I will. And I also hope that if a adult is reading this comment that you think about what I am saying. Not all of us teens are inappropriate some are smart and mature enought to enjoy books that you yourself might like in an appropriate manner. Thats all I got to say, oh wait one last thing, READ THIS BOOK AND MORE CELERBRATE READING READ READ READ BYE!!!!

posted by Anonymous on October 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

Having been a long-time fan of the Alex Cross series, I was eager to open up my copy of CROSS. A lot of what I love about the series and Patterson's writing were inside the pages of this book: short chapters, straight-to-the-point dialogue, a fast-moving plot. The only ...
Having been a long-time fan of the Alex Cross series, I was eager to open up my copy of CROSS. A lot of what I love about the series and Patterson's writing were inside the pages of this book: short chapters, straight-to-the-point dialogue, a fast-moving plot. The only problem is that the plot, in general, left me wanting to yell at someone.

I can overlook the fact that Alex Cross's wife apparently didn't die the way he had originally stated. I can even overlook the fact that after fourteen years and several other relationships (one that even ended in producing a son), Alex now seems obsessed with "getting over" his long-dead wife.

What I couldn't overlook was the fact that with this book, besides being a detailed description of his wife's murder and Alex's new committment to finding her killer, there's not a whole lot else there. The Alex in this book is moody, melancholy, and totally anti-Alex Cross to the point that I wasn't even sure, halfway through the book, that I was reading about the same character.

He's not the only one, though. His children, his friends, and even dear old Nana Mama are all acting out of character--and not in good ways.

Sure, the "mystery and suspense" part of the story is a pretty good one. Patteron's writing style is always a welcome change to me.

CROSS, though, is one Alex Cross story I could have done without.

posted by TeensReadToo on October 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Did not enjoy this one

    I couldn't finish more than 50 pages of this one. Patterson used to make Alex and his family come to life, but he seems to have lost interest in all but the money he's making from continuing the series. I won't be reading any more of these.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Spanish

    What???

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    You should never advertise something as free and then give the p

    You should never advertise something as free and then give the person a incomplete copy.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Bjnhfjhhbbbbkjfjjjjtbbbbhhggthcccvvccccccvvcvgvvv

    Bunuw¿¿¿¿¿

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    Is it good for kids under 13?

    I was going through some authors and I saw this book. I read the summary and thought it was good, but I just want to be sure..........

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    Definitely better literature out there....

    Like most writers who just keep cranking them out...they definitely go downhill. I hadn't read Patterson in many years and since I didn't have any books lined up; figured I'd try this one from the library. Maybe my reading tastes have grown up ...I'm certainly in the minority as far as the other reveiwers. The book was boring ....I skimmed the last few chapters just to be done with it. Mostly, I felt that the story was full of gratuitous violence, blood and gore. Who needs it?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    If you have not read this book, please don't. It is a waste of time and money. Mr. Patterson's creativity and intelligent plots have declined steadily, at the same pace that his production of books has increased. No more quality control and too many ghost writers. What a pity. I wonder if Mr. Patterson reads these reviews and what would he have to say about the 90% poor reviews this book has.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2007

    Another disappointment

    Like many others, I've been so disappointed in the last few Cross books. Patterson picked it up a bit in 'Mary Mary', but this one was another disappointment. It wasn't much of a story - just seemed to go back and forth between Sullivan's gory and bloody rampage and Alex's depression. Certainly nothing like the early books in the series - those I couldn't put down. This one, I skipped over some pages, and couldn't wait to put it down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2007

    A huge disappointment

    I think I have read my last James Patterson book. What an awful story - gory, bloody and totally lacking in anything noble. The kids and Nana Mama are just too cute to be real. I read it in way less than a day because of the large print, two-page chapters and lack of plot. I have been a huge fan of Mr. Patterson for years and am sick that he has resorted to this type of writing. Come on James, let's get back in the groove!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2007

    Pure gore

    I was very disappointed by this James Patterson book. I love the Alex Cross series, but I was disgusted by the amount of gore and violence in this latest installment. Geez enough already. Some scenes were violent enough to make me skip ahead. I believe a good mystery does not need to be this graphic. I am sad to say that I will probably not rush out for future Patterson books. Sad because I really liked the Alex Cross series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2006

    Are we reading the same book!!!

    It was painful to read. I was insulted how can he call this a finished product? Yes, it was that bad!! I want my money back!! Not worth my time I won't even give it to anyone in my house to read. It really is that bad!!! He should just wait and not do Alex Cross anymore, shameless product ads, and it was just so easy to read. After a couple of chapters I said enough and only read it in the while in the bathroom. I did not even care about anyone in this book, first couple of chapter was like TV re-runs. Do not waste your money wait and get it at the Library heck wait for the bargain bin it will be there soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2007

    I HATE THIS BOOK!!!

    This book creeped me out and I could put it down. Do not read this book if you can help it. I almost blew chunks all over my cat. I through this book accross the room. I swear on this very book that I hate it for life. Thank you for your time and good riddence to Mr. Patterson!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2007

    Not near the quality I've come to expect.

    If James Patterson wrote this book it must have been after he'd lost much of his memory. The ghost writer I think wrote the book doesn't seem to have read much past the last Alex Cross dust jacket back page. The characters didn't act like themselves. What a complete disaster of a much awaited book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2