Customer Reviews for

Cross Country (Alex Cross Series #14)

Average Rating 3.5
( 419 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(154)

4 Star

(101)

3 Star

(73)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Cliff Hanger, partly set in Africa

James Patterson's new novel, Cross Country, along with several of Clive Cussler's latest novels are prime examples of the thriller genre which I like to call 'every chapter a cliffhanger'. This is another in the series featuring Detective Alex Cross and his crime fight...
James Patterson's new novel, Cross Country, along with several of Clive Cussler's latest novels are prime examples of the thriller genre which I like to call 'every chapter a cliffhanger'. This is another in the series featuring Detective Alex Cross and his crime fighting partner and girlfriend, Brianna Stone.

To my tastes, Patterson has better characters. fewer stereotypes and deeper plots than Cussler, while still adhering to the basic formula that you can lay the book down after your train commute or at he beach and pick it up later and easily slam a few more chapters without loosing ground on an overly complex plot, such as you'd find in Ian Rankin or Ken Follette. That being said, Patterson keeps things chugging along nicely by hopping midway thru the novel into several chaotic African country, where life is cheap and hero's detective Alex Cross' continued existence is rapidly heading to the red light discount bin. Patterson actlually makes you despair at the turmoil and corruption that is embedded in some problems countries in Africal. I actually lost count of how many times he got beat up and betrayed by hopped up teenage killers, evil cops and rogue CIA operatives... as mentioned before, a cliffhanger per chapter.

If you like fast plotted, punchy writing with better than average character depth and a solidly plotted thriller then this Fall offering may make it into your holiday reading plans.

posted by Terra on November 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

I have been reading the Alex Cross series from the begining. I am usually at the store the day of release. I did not purchase this book. I borrowed a copy. He lost me with this story line and I feel the exciting and original story line that is usually par for the co...
I have been reading the Alex Cross series from the begining. I am usually at the store the day of release. I did not purchase this book. I borrowed a copy. He lost me with this story line and I feel the exciting and original story line that is usually par for the course just was not there. I prefer to "leave the party with who brought me", so to speak and this series went in a direction that just does not interest me. Which is ashamed because Alex, Nana, the "Big Man" and all the rest are some of my favorite characters of all time. I buy books everyweek, read them enthusiastically and recomend these books to everyone. For some reason, I just decided to test the waters this time before buying and to be honest I don't know why. Like I said I'm there on the day of release. I do not regret my decision not to buy and will just have a hole in the "Alex Cross" section of my library. Maybe the next book will make up for the lack. Maybe deep down I was already feeling like the story line was turning in a direction that I just did not want to go. However, for any new readers looking for some fun stuff, go to the beginning of the Alex Cross series, starting with Along Came a Spider to Double Cross, and plan on having a real good time.

posted by WhiteFlowers on November 18, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 421 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 22
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    This book is great!!! Of course it's James Patterson what do you expect.

    I have not read a single book by James Patterson that I did not love. He really knows how to build the suspense to the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    This was the best Alex Cross book I have ever read n the series.

    This was the best Alex Cross book I have ever read n the series. Although somewhat gory in details some times the author did not sacrifice major details in describing the state of the countries depicted in the boook on the continent of Africa. It gives you a look into the conditions of poverty and a glimpse into what it takes to continually preservere in a time such as this. You start to have a feel for the character's almost immediately, good or bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Getting worse

    Marvel comic readers would probably rate this a 5 star.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not really for me!!!

    This wasn't really the book that a reader like me is interested in. It takes a really good topic that I can relate to get my attention and keep reading. Cross Country really didn't keep my interest and it was hard for me to stay focused. The Detective in this story was my favorite character because, even though on of the people murdered was his old girlfriend, he was determined to find her murderer, despite his feelings for her make I have heard nothing but great things about James Patterson and his writing, so I plan on reading another one of his books to see if I like his work or not. This book was okay at first and then I completely lost interest in it. I had to make myself finish it rather than want to finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    Good Book

    This was a great book. Alex Cross is taking out of his "norm" and is tested thoughtout this book. Keeps you guessing. Some details are graphic and hard to read and not really necessary to the book, think that they were added as a shock value. Overall easy read. Can't wait for the next book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    Great book

    This one was one of his best books

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    OH Mr. Patterson, how truly disappointing

    I just want to say, I really wanted to like this book. I was thoroughly disappointed. Alex Cross did absolutely nothing in this book. A character who in the past we've seen capture ruthless killers could do nothing to stop getting his butt kicked all over Africa. Cross seemed to be getting soft. Maybe its time to retire. I loved the Cross character until this book. Can we maybe kill him off and spin off into Bree's character? What a truly horrible book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This book was truly exhilarating and kept my in suspense. Patterson mixed fictrional characters with real life sitautions in which provided creativity and a believable story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    Highly Recommended - hold onto your hat!!

    This book is not for the faint-hearted. It brings out all of the emotions: fear, anxiety, anger, and even a few tears. The story-line is very gripping and believable considering what is going on in the African countries right now. Patterson paints a graphic picture of life in some areas of Africa and he has the ability to bring you into his story without any effort.

    I have read most of the Alex Cross series and each one holds your apt attention but I think this book brought out all the emotions intended by the writer.

    Keep them coming, Mr. Patterson!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    good

    this was a good book from james patterson. True to his nature he has written another thriller that keeps you wondering what is going to happen next. It was annoying that Cross kept getting captured but I like that Mr. Patterson took us to another place to see what is going on in the world even though the specifics are made up the general plight of those individuals in that part of the world is real. Lets hope Mr. Patterson keeps his readers entertained as well as informed at the same time. This was the 1st alex cross series book I've read and I'm looking forward to reading the others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not the usual....

    I love all of James Patterson books, but I was very disappointed in this one. When the plot got to Africa, it just got boring and very unbelieveable. Not one of Patterson best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    Not Patterson's best

    Still a good book, but I don't believe it lived up to the usual standards for James Patterson. I've come to expect so much from each and every one of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2010

    I give it a one...what a waste

    Very tired predictable bad guys... corrupt CIA and corrupt big oil. VERY violent and disturbing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2010

    Review of James Patterson's Cross Country

    If you have not received satisfaction from his previous books, you should not expect your opinion to be swayed by James Patterson's Cross Country. From the early chapters of the book, it is clear that this book was not written to test the imagination of the reader through descriptive metaphors, but merely to add another book to James Patterson's arsenal. Similar to the rest of his writing, Cross Country is blunt, and lacking any figurative language - almost as if you were reading a script to a play.

    The story follows detective Alex Cross as he tracks down a league of Serial Killers after the brutal murder of an ex girlfriend and her family with the chase leading all the way back to Africa. Alex is bewildered to discover that group of teenagers were responsible for the series of murders - lead by the Nigerian warlord Tiger. Alex gets flustered when he discovers the magnitude to this case, and he gets frustrated with the lack of support he gets from the FBI, but overall there was no lucid development to his character.

    It was extremely difficult for me to get through the entire book because of how unrealistic it seemed. Not unrealistic in a "this would never happen" sort of sense, but rather I got a "no person would ever do this" sort of feeling. It almost seemed as if Alex Cross essentially lost his common sense during this book - going to extreme measures to actually get in harm's way. An example of this is his decision to fly off to Africa to pursue a killer in a foreign country with absolutely no government assistance. It is understandable that he felt disoriented at the loss of an ex girlfriend, but that just seemed downright ridiculous.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2010

    Not enough Nana and the kids in this one

    I love Alex, but the relationship between he and his family members was missed in this story. I'm looking forward to the next book so to get a little more time with them. Still a really good story and full of danger and suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2010

    Dark, constant violence, 2 page chapters.

    I'm on page 328 of 421. I'm pretty sure that if the chapters were stretched to more than 2-4 pages each, the book could have been reduced to 221 pages. Lots of space on the pages. Also, lots of violence. Same thing over & over again. Too many hard to pronounce and hard to remember names of cities & characters. Definitely the least favorite (wouldn't recommend it at all) James Patterson book. I'm only going to finish it hoping it gets better.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    Not my favorite Patterson

    Maybe I was having a bad week, but this was not one of my favorite of Patterson's "Cross" books. I think it was a bit drawn out, and found myself wishing I hadn't started this one ... I think there were way too many things going on, and I've aways admired 'Alex' but superman, he isn't; only superman would have survived most of this stuff ... had to go to the end, of coarse, but probably wouldn't recommend this book if you had access to something else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    Not up to standard for an Alex Cross mystery.

    Plot was farfetched with detective traveling to Africa to find the killer. It was exciting in spurts. Cross's surprise when his family was threatened seemed absurd, as he had determined early in the book that this killer went after whole families.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    Page turner

    Once started it was hard to put the book down. As most Patterson books it is well written and exciting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Alex Cross investigates brutal killings

    An Alex Cross book unlike any others before. The international interest in this story should make Cross Country a terrific read for the entire globe. The story starts out with some horrific killings during break-ins in Washington, DC. The method of getting into the house, talking to the inhabitants, and the methods the victims were tortured and killed is almost beyond human description. When it turns out that the family involved in this killing is one that Alex Cross personally knows, he is upset beyond words and actions.

    The "Tiger" was a big strong young man who had complete control over the youth that he enlisted in his gang of relentless killers. He issued the orders and they listened or they would not live to receive the next order from Tiger. The family killings continued with Tiger using some words that you might construe as Islamic or African roots. The CIA got interested but shared little information that the DC police could use.

    Detective Brianna Stone was a DC cop that worked with Alex but their relationship went much farther than working. They both knew the love was there between them and they did all they could to keep their work outside their relationship. But when Alex heard of a connection between the Tiger and Africa, he decided he had to go to Africa to try to catch and stop the Tiger from his brutal senseless killings. Despite pleas from Bree and his coworkers he did go, not knowing what he was going to find.

    Alex Cross walked into a buzz saw and literally was thrown into the Tiger's plans in Africa as were also his family in Washington. Alex was captured, brutalized, and had no communication with the outside world. Even after he was released he was recaptured and went through the same type pf torture. The brutality he saw and experienced in Africa was nothing like any he had ever seen. Before his capture he described the living in Africa and the killing that also existed in large amounts, making a day-to-day life in Africa a very unsteady affair. I have read other books about the non-existent decent lifestyle in Africa so I know that what Alex saw and endured is very close to actuality.

    I highly recommend this book to any adventure reader. It will take you to a life you would not want to endure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 421 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 22