Customer Reviews for

Cross Country (Alex Cross Series #14)

Average Rating 3.5
( 424 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(154)

4 Star

(103)

3 Star

(74)

2 Star

(47)

1 Star

(46)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Cliff Hanger, partly set in Africa

James Patterson's new novel, Cross Country, along with several of Clive Cussler's latest novels are prime examples of the thriller genre which I like to call 'every chapter a cliffhanger'. This is another in the series featuring Detective Alex Cross and his crime fight...
James Patterson's new novel, Cross Country, along with several of Clive Cussler's latest novels are prime examples of the thriller genre which I like to call 'every chapter a cliffhanger'. This is another in the series featuring Detective Alex Cross and his crime fighting partner and girlfriend, Brianna Stone.

To my tastes, Patterson has better characters. fewer stereotypes and deeper plots than Cussler, while still adhering to the basic formula that you can lay the book down after your train commute or at he beach and pick it up later and easily slam a few more chapters without loosing ground on an overly complex plot, such as you'd find in Ian Rankin or Ken Follette. That being said, Patterson keeps things chugging along nicely by hopping midway thru the novel into several chaotic African country, where life is cheap and hero's detective Alex Cross' continued existence is rapidly heading to the red light discount bin. Patterson actlually makes you despair at the turmoil and corruption that is embedded in some problems countries in Africal. I actually lost count of how many times he got beat up and betrayed by hopped up teenage killers, evil cops and rogue CIA operatives... as mentioned before, a cliffhanger per chapter.

If you like fast plotted, punchy writing with better than average character depth and a solidly plotted thriller then this Fall offering may make it into your holiday reading plans.

posted by Terra on November 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

I have been reading the Alex Cross series from the begining. I am usually at the store the day of release. I did not purchase this book. I borrowed a copy. He lost me with this story line and I feel the exciting and original story line that is usually par for the co...
I have been reading the Alex Cross series from the begining. I am usually at the store the day of release. I did not purchase this book. I borrowed a copy. He lost me with this story line and I feel the exciting and original story line that is usually par for the course just was not there. I prefer to "leave the party with who brought me", so to speak and this series went in a direction that just does not interest me. Which is ashamed because Alex, Nana, the "Big Man" and all the rest are some of my favorite characters of all time. I buy books everyweek, read them enthusiastically and recomend these books to everyone. For some reason, I just decided to test the waters this time before buying and to be honest I don't know why. Like I said I'm there on the day of release. I do not regret my decision not to buy and will just have a hole in the "Alex Cross" section of my library. Maybe the next book will make up for the lack. Maybe deep down I was already feeling like the story line was turning in a direction that I just did not want to go. However, for any new readers looking for some fun stuff, go to the beginning of the Alex Cross series, starting with Along Came a Spider to Double Cross, and plan on having a real good time.

posted by WhiteFlowers on November 18, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted November 17, 2008

    Cliff Hanger, partly set in Africa

    James Patterson's new novel, Cross Country, along with several of Clive Cussler's latest novels are prime examples of the thriller genre which I like to call 'every chapter a cliffhanger'. This is another in the series featuring Detective Alex Cross and his crime fighting partner and girlfriend, Brianna Stone.<BR/> <BR/>To my tastes, Patterson has better characters. fewer stereotypes and deeper plots than Cussler, while still adhering to the basic formula that you can lay the book down after your train commute or at he beach and pick it up later and easily slam a few more chapters without loosing ground on an overly complex plot, such as you'd find in Ian Rankin or Ken Follette. That being said, Patterson keeps things chugging along nicely by hopping midway thru the novel into several chaotic African country, where life is cheap and hero's detective Alex Cross' continued existence is rapidly heading to the red light discount bin. Patterson actlually makes you despair at the turmoil and corruption that is embedded in some problems countries in Africal. I actually lost count of how many times he got beat up and betrayed by hopped up teenage killers, evil cops and rogue CIA operatives... as mentioned before, a cliffhanger per chapter. <BR/> <BR/>If you like fast plotted, punchy writing with better than average character depth and a solidly plotted thriller then this Fall offering may make it into your holiday reading plans.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2008

    A good surprise,

    James Paterson is a phenomenal writer. Yet, most of his books I feel get slightly monotonous. Cross Country however was a great surprise, I enjoyed it greatly. I had the amazing pleasure to read this book due to the Store Managers conference in Florida. I highly recommend buying it once it is released. It IS a book you need to own. <BR/><BR/>-Courtney Hall

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    Had me up all night

    Couldn't sleep worrying WHAT was going to happen next! I'm worn out!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    This was my first time reading one of James Patterson's novel. T

    This was my first time reading one of James Patterson's novel. This novel was very interesting. It is a book
    about a detective Named Alex Cross Finding a case where one of his ex-girlfriend is murdered by a gang and
    their leader that calls himself &quot;The Tiger&quot;. As he tries to figure out why she was murdered, other families are
    also murder by the same gang. He wants to terminate The Tigers doing. Detective Cross finds out he is lives in 
    Nigeria, Africa. He takes a flight to go bust this murderer. Cross ends up taking a bad journey. Many things
    happen to him good and bad. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    Insight Into African Politics

    This was the first Alex Cross novel in a long time that stopped my breath time and time again. The mass genocide of Aftican proples and boy armies was enlightening beyond what the news has offered. Alex was thrust into environments foreign in geography and understanding. High impact, high drama, deeply felt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    Good Book

    This was a great book. Alex Cross is taking out of his "norm" and is tested thoughtout this book. Keeps you guessing. Some details are graphic and hard to read and not really necessary to the book, think that they were added as a shock value. Overall easy read. Can't wait for the next book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    good

    this was a good book from james patterson. True to his nature he has written another thriller that keeps you wondering what is going to happen next. It was annoying that Cross kept getting captured but I like that Mr. Patterson took us to another place to see what is going on in the world even though the specifics are made up the general plight of those individuals in that part of the world is real. Lets hope Mr. Patterson keeps his readers entertained as well as informed at the same time. This was the 1st alex cross series book I've read and I'm looking forward to reading the others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2010

    Not enough Nana and the kids in this one

    I love Alex, but the relationship between he and his family members was missed in this story. I'm looking forward to the next book so to get a little more time with them. Still a really good story and full of danger and suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Heartbreaking Fiction with alot of Factual issues

    This book was so heartbreaking for me because the reality is that what he writes about in this book is really going on and most of us are oblivious to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    Good fast read.

    A good Alex Cross novel, fast moving, a little fantastic, but fun to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    Better than the average Alex Cross novel

    Alex really got himself in a mess this time. Loved the different plot. Much more exciting than the usual detective story! Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2009

    Sad commentary on Western Africa

    interesting contra-distinction of Washington DC and West Africa. The world is getting smaller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Exciting and Captivating!!!

    When I first bought Cross Country, the first thing that came to mind was I hope it's exciting as the other alex cross titles that I've already read. Boy am I glad it is. Thrilling, fast pace, some what romantic. I highly recommend this book to all Alex Cross fans as well as to all book lovers. You won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2009

    READ IT!

    This book is an exciting read with many twists on each page. Though it is gruesome and disturbing at times it kept me wanting to read more. This page turning novel will keep you on the edge of your seat waiting for something to happen next. Once I started reading this novel, I did not want to put it down. I was always curious to see who was going to die next or if a certain character was going to make it out alive. Find out if Alex Cross makes it out alive of Africa and if he gets a hold of the great killer, the Tiger.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    Patterson fans will love this book.

    This is right up Patterson's alley. Good plot and character development. Thrilling but not necessarily one of his best "page-turners". I will definitely read the next in the series, but the Cross books are getting a little too familiar. I would check it out from the library rather than buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Alex is in over his head

    Alex Cross is thrust into an investigation unlike any he has ever faced. The killer known as The Tiger, uses children to commit terrible murders. When an old frame of Alex's is murdered, he follows the Tiger all the way to Africa, where the police are more than unfriendly. With little help from the CIA and no official authority in African, Alex quickly discovers that bringing the Tiger to American justice will be impossible.

    The difficulty of catching the Tiger pales in comparison to the plight of the African people Alex soon realizes. The brutality of war, rape, and how the world is ignoring these travesties are brought out in Patterson's book for all to see.

    Patterson does not hold his punches, which is why I think this story may be offputting to some people. Still, Cross Country is definitely worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2009

    Alex Cross & Writer James Patterson & Reader Peter J. Fernandez Make one Hell Of A Team. James Patterson is the MAN!

    I love Alex Cross Period! He is my favorite charactor and I Believe there is no one who pulls off the voice and person of alex like Peter J. Fernandez. James Patterson is a excellent writer and Cross is my favorite Book. I hope Patterson never stops writing storys of the Dragon Slayer and Always uses Peter J. Fernandez as the reader. What a team! Because I work alot, I can't read books like I would like to, however, the tapes or cd's are great. Keep Up the Great work and I look forward to how Alex deals with Kyle Kregg. If anyone gets a chance, check some of my favorite audio books; Four Blind Mice, The Big Bad Wolf, London Bridge, Double Cross, Cross, Cross Country and a oldie Cat & Mouse David Keith was the reader. He was good too. God Bless The Cross's & God Bless James Patterson. What A Writer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    A better than average Cross novel

    I did not want to put it down. Read it in less than a week. It kept me in suspense until the end and I did not guess the real villian.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Cross Country

    This was a pleasant read. It kept me in touch with the characters throughout the book, and I wanted more after it ended. The Alex Cross Series continues to intrigue and stimulate our imaginations. Thank you James.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    Alex Cross Series

    I really like the Alex Cross series. I am working on reading all of those books. This was worth my money, as most of JP's books are. If you are following the Cross series...add this to your collection. Very Good Read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6