BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Cross Country (Alex Cross Series #14)

Average Rating 3.5
( 421 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(154)

4 Star

(102)

3 Star

(74)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Cliff Hanger, partly set in Africa

James Patterson's new novel, Cross Country, along with several of Clive Cussler's latest novels are prime examples of the thriller genre which I like to call 'every chapter a cliffhanger'. This is another in the series featuring Detective Alex Cross and his crime fight...
James Patterson's new novel, Cross Country, along with several of Clive Cussler's latest novels are prime examples of the thriller genre which I like to call 'every chapter a cliffhanger'. This is another in the series featuring Detective Alex Cross and his crime fighting partner and girlfriend, Brianna Stone.

To my tastes, Patterson has better characters. fewer stereotypes and deeper plots than Cussler, while still adhering to the basic formula that you can lay the book down after your train commute or at he beach and pick it up later and easily slam a few more chapters without loosing ground on an overly complex plot, such as you'd find in Ian Rankin or Ken Follette. That being said, Patterson keeps things chugging along nicely by hopping midway thru the novel into several chaotic African country, where life is cheap and hero's detective Alex Cross' continued existence is rapidly heading to the red light discount bin. Patterson actlually makes you despair at the turmoil and corruption that is embedded in some problems countries in Africal. I actually lost count of how many times he got beat up and betrayed by hopped up teenage killers, evil cops and rogue CIA operatives... as mentioned before, a cliffhanger per chapter.

If you like fast plotted, punchy writing with better than average character depth and a solidly plotted thriller then this Fall offering may make it into your holiday reading plans.

posted by Terra on November 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

I have been reading the Alex Cross series from the begining. I am usually at the store the day of release. I did not purchase this book. I borrowed a copy. He lost me with this story line and I feel the exciting and original story line that is usually par for the co...
I have been reading the Alex Cross series from the begining. I am usually at the store the day of release. I did not purchase this book. I borrowed a copy. He lost me with this story line and I feel the exciting and original story line that is usually par for the course just was not there. I prefer to "leave the party with who brought me", so to speak and this series went in a direction that just does not interest me. Which is ashamed because Alex, Nana, the "Big Man" and all the rest are some of my favorite characters of all time. I buy books everyweek, read them enthusiastically and recomend these books to everyone. For some reason, I just decided to test the waters this time before buying and to be honest I don't know why. Like I said I'm there on the day of release. I do not regret my decision not to buy and will just have a hole in the "Alex Cross" section of my library. Maybe the next book will make up for the lack. Maybe deep down I was already feeling like the story line was turning in a direction that I just did not want to go. However, for any new readers looking for some fun stuff, go to the beginning of the Alex Cross series, starting with Along Came a Spider to Double Cross, and plan on having a real good time.

posted by WhiteFlowers on November 18, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 154 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2008

    JAMES PATTERSON ROCKS!

    I have read all the Cross stories and am excited for this next one to become available. ALL of Patterson's books are incredible - the Murder Club series, etc. It's like eating potato chips - you get started, you can't stop!

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2008

    James Patterson is my favorite author

    I can't seem to put his novels down, there very addicting. I'm always looking forward to the next one. Pick one up, you'll see what i mean!!!

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Awesome

    Loved it kick ass book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Page Page turner

    Read it in 3 hours, couldn't put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    This book is great!!! Of course it's James Patterson what do you expect.

    I have not read a single book by James Patterson that I did not love. He really knows how to build the suspense to the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    This was the best Alex Cross book I have ever read n the series.

    This was the best Alex Cross book I have ever read n the series. Although somewhat gory in details some times the author did not sacrifice major details in describing the state of the countries depicted in the boook on the continent of Africa. It gives you a look into the conditions of poverty and a glimpse into what it takes to continually preservere in a time such as this. You start to have a feel for the character's almost immediately, good or bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    Great book

    This one was one of his best books

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This book was truly exhilarating and kept my in suspense. Patterson mixed fictrional characters with real life sitautions in which provided creativity and a believable story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    Highly Recommended - hold onto your hat!!

    This book is not for the faint-hearted. It brings out all of the emotions: fear, anxiety, anger, and even a few tears. The story-line is very gripping and believable considering what is going on in the African countries right now. Patterson paints a graphic picture of life in some areas of Africa and he has the ability to bring you into his story without any effort.

    I have read most of the Alex Cross series and each one holds your apt attention but I think this book brought out all the emotions intended by the writer.

    Keep them coming, Mr. Patterson!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    Page turner

    Once started it was hard to put the book down. As most Patterson books it is well written and exciting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Alex Cross investigates brutal killings

    An Alex Cross book unlike any others before. The international interest in this story should make Cross Country a terrific read for the entire globe. The story starts out with some horrific killings during break-ins in Washington, DC. The method of getting into the house, talking to the inhabitants, and the methods the victims were tortured and killed is almost beyond human description. When it turns out that the family involved in this killing is one that Alex Cross personally knows, he is upset beyond words and actions.

    The "Tiger" was a big strong young man who had complete control over the youth that he enlisted in his gang of relentless killers. He issued the orders and they listened or they would not live to receive the next order from Tiger. The family killings continued with Tiger using some words that you might construe as Islamic or African roots. The CIA got interested but shared little information that the DC police could use.

    Detective Brianna Stone was a DC cop that worked with Alex but their relationship went much farther than working. They both knew the love was there between them and they did all they could to keep their work outside their relationship. But when Alex heard of a connection between the Tiger and Africa, he decided he had to go to Africa to try to catch and stop the Tiger from his brutal senseless killings. Despite pleas from Bree and his coworkers he did go, not knowing what he was going to find.

    Alex Cross walked into a buzz saw and literally was thrown into the Tiger's plans in Africa as were also his family in Washington. Alex was captured, brutalized, and had no communication with the outside world. Even after he was released he was recaptured and went through the same type pf torture. The brutality he saw and experienced in Africa was nothing like any he had ever seen. Before his capture he described the living in Africa and the killing that also existed in large amounts, making a day-to-day life in Africa a very unsteady affair. I have read other books about the non-existent decent lifestyle in Africa so I know that what Alex saw and endured is very close to actuality.

    I highly recommend this book to any adventure reader. It will take you to a life you would not want to endure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome Book!

    Once again, James Patterson created a masterpiece. The plot is thrilling and dramatic and it certainly kept me going. I couldn't wait to reach the end. There is so much action in this book. I recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book!

    This book is a great thrilling page turner!! I finished it in 3 days! I couldn't put it down. It made me want to do more research on crimes in Africa. I was also touched emotionally with Alex Cross's journey to find this horrible murderer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Cross Country

    This wasn't at all what I was expecting when I purchased the book. It was a good read and I read in a few hours; thoroughly enjoying the setting being in Africa. It was an eye opening story line and I'm sure that the plot isn't too far off from what really happens. I was pleasantly surprised!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2009

    This book is a must read!!!

    This book is amazing! It kept me hooked I couldnt stop reading and finished in 1 day! Thrilling, Fast, unpredicatable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    Alex Cross Thriller....

    One of the most intense Alex Cross books Patterson has written. A good reminder that once you leave the borders of the good old USA the world is a very different place! A real thriller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Cross Country with Tiger Bites

    This was another good read by Patterson. This book had a lot of twist and turns.Cross took some abuse big time in this one.Patterson seems to write best when dealing with Cross.Easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This is James Patterson's best book thus far!

    I was able to read all 400 pages in this book over a matter of 3 days on my vacation in the Carribean. My husband kept teasing me sayting that I was cheating on him with Alex Cross. This was the most thrilling and fast paced book I've ever read. James Patterson is my favorite author and this book is another reason why. I suggest reading this book, you won't be disappointed. The plot was not only thrilling, but almost realistic in a sense. MUST READ!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love it.

    James Patterson is by far my favorite author and he does NOT disappoint with this one. Once again, he has a winner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful book!

    I thought this was a very exciting and dramatic read but a little too graphic in some areas. It did make me really think about how true these situations may be in a foreign country that is in the midst of a civil war. Alex Cross came across as almost a vigilante but still with his usual caring persona.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 154 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8