Customer Reviews for

The Cross-Country Quilters (Elm Creek Quilts Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2005

    Fantastic!

    What a GREAT book. I like how the author focuses on a group of quilters outside of the Elm Creek Quilters group. I absolutely loved this book! Great, easy reading and this book is not only for quilters. Read on!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2001

    Sweet Reading!

    I just finished all 3 of the Elm Creek Quilter books back-to-back. They are a delight to read! With believable, good-hearted key characters; embedded quilting history and traditions; and moments throughout that make you smile, hope, laugh and think about your own friendships and family...what's not to love? Favorite moments/characters in the books: Silvia-what a woman! Sarah & Matt--and the reading of 'the will', Diane & her family doing 'dinosaur arms' around the dinner table, Megan & Adam--a lovely and beautiful romance, Vinnie & her sheer enthusiasm for life, the integrity and strength in both Judy's mom and Grace. It's all just delicious, comfortable reading. Keep writing Jennifer Chiaverini! I can hardly wait for #4.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    powerful women's mainstream fiction

    Everyone familiar with the hobby respects the famous quilting retreat at Elm Creak Manor in Waterford, Pennsylvania. Strangers come there to camp and life long friendships have formed such as the accidental meeting of the Cross-Country Quilters who vow to return next year. <P>The group consists of people from a wide variety of lifestyles. Long time attendee octogenarian Vinnie has been at Elm Creek every year since it opened. Julia the actress needs to learn the art for a part. Award winning Grace suffers from a nasty medical diagnosis that has left her with a quilter's mental block. Megan earned a week at the camp as a prize from a quilting magazine and is accompanied by her cyber-friend Donna, escaping from a daughter that is worrying her to death. Even after the camp ends, the participants stay in contact encouraging, boosting, and cheering each one's triumphs. <P>Jennifer Chiaverini has written a special book that demonstrates the resiliency and courage of an extraordinary group of determined women. Although Elm Creek manor is not the star of the story line, it serves as they catalyst that generates the development of subplots into a cohesive tale. THE CROSS COUNTRY QUILTERS is a powerful women's mainstream fiction at its literary best. <P>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    This was an excellent book. I love this series. To the person

    This was an excellent book. I love this series.

    To the person posting the comment on July 27, 2001:

    Within fifty years, people will look back on your comment, and others like it, much like how people of today look back on pictures of people opposing the Little Rock Nine. People will be puzzled at how someone could lack so much understanding and be so backward.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Light reading

    I read it for the quilting information. What I imagine a Mills And Boon love story would be like, predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Good!

    Love this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2005

    The Best

    I have read several books by Jennifer Chiaverini and THE CROSS COUNTRY QUILTERS is the book I have enjoyed the most. The description of quilting was outstanding. The lives of those involved were real and the fabric that wove their lives together kept you reading to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2001

    Quilt blocks of our lives!

    I enjoyed Cross Country Quilters as I have enjoyed The Quilters Apprentice and Round Robin. Each camper was like her own block and the trials of her life like the pieces of that block. When the blocks of their lives to join in a quilt its like a work of art! They are all blessed to have such good friends I was disapointed that Jennifer Chiaverini included a gay relationship in the novel. It was a minor embilishment, it added nothing to the story and could have been easily avoided. I would like to see the author research the infulence that Christanity has played in quilting God Bless TNT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2