Customer Reviews for

Cross Fire (Alex Cross Series #17)

Average Rating 4
( 1672 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(691)

4 Star

(437)

3 Star

(269)

2 Star

(132)

1 Star

(143)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Alex Cross gets married and Kyle Craig is back!!!

The Mastermind is back, and he's about to destroy everything - and everyone Alex Cross loves.

Wedding Bells Ring: Detective Alex Cross and Bree Stone's wedding plans are put on hold when Alex is called to the scene of the perfectly executed assassination of two of Wa...
The Mastermind is back, and he's about to destroy everything - and everyone Alex Cross loves.

Wedding Bells Ring: Detective Alex Cross and Bree Stone's wedding plans are put on hold when Alex is called to the scene of the perfectly executed assassination of two of Washington, DC's most corrupt: a dirty congressman and an underhanded lobbyist. Next, the elusive gunman begins picking off other crooked insiders, sparking a blaze of theories - is the marksman a hero or a vigilante?

A Murderer Returns: The case explodes, and the FBI assigns Agent Max Siegel to the investigation. As Alex and Max battle over jurisdiction, the murders continue. It becomes clear that thee killings are the work of a professional who has detailed knowledge of his victims' movements - information that only a Washington insider could possess.

Caught In A Lethal Cross Fire: As Alex contends with the sniper, Siegel, and the wedding, he receives a call from his deadliest adversary, Kyle Craig. The Mastermind is in DC and will not relent until he had eliminated Cross and his family for good. With a supercharged blend of action, deception, and suspense, Cross Fire is James Patterson's most visceral and exciting Alex Cross novel ever.

My Review:

Another excellent page turning novel that literally has you on the edge of your seat til the very end. I saw this novel as a blend between the movie Face Off with John Travolta and Nicholas Cage and a great episode of Criminal Minds. The character of Kyle Craig, goes to the greatest lengths possible to devise an ending to Alex Cross and his family and leaves you wondering how it will all play out in the end.

I received this book compliments of Hachette Book Groups for my honest review and once more James Patterson does not disappoint. This is book number 17 in the series and I would rate this book a perfect 5 out of 5 stars for another perfect crime and suspense thriller. This book is available in Hardcover, eBook, CD and large print formats.

posted by Heart2Heart on November 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

what!!!

no way i will pay 14.99. thats for sure!

posted by 9361614 on August 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1691 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 85
  • Posted November 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Alex Cross gets married and Kyle Craig is back!!!

    The Mastermind is back, and he's about to destroy everything - and everyone Alex Cross loves.

    Wedding Bells Ring: Detective Alex Cross and Bree Stone's wedding plans are put on hold when Alex is called to the scene of the perfectly executed assassination of two of Washington, DC's most corrupt: a dirty congressman and an underhanded lobbyist. Next, the elusive gunman begins picking off other crooked insiders, sparking a blaze of theories - is the marksman a hero or a vigilante?

    A Murderer Returns: The case explodes, and the FBI assigns Agent Max Siegel to the investigation. As Alex and Max battle over jurisdiction, the murders continue. It becomes clear that thee killings are the work of a professional who has detailed knowledge of his victims' movements - information that only a Washington insider could possess.

    Caught In A Lethal Cross Fire: As Alex contends with the sniper, Siegel, and the wedding, he receives a call from his deadliest adversary, Kyle Craig. The Mastermind is in DC and will not relent until he had eliminated Cross and his family for good. With a supercharged blend of action, deception, and suspense, Cross Fire is James Patterson's most visceral and exciting Alex Cross novel ever.

    My Review:

    Another excellent page turning novel that literally has you on the edge of your seat til the very end. I saw this novel as a blend between the movie Face Off with John Travolta and Nicholas Cage and a great episode of Criminal Minds. The character of Kyle Craig, goes to the greatest lengths possible to devise an ending to Alex Cross and his family and leaves you wondering how it will all play out in the end.

    I received this book compliments of Hachette Book Groups for my honest review and once more James Patterson does not disappoint. This is book number 17 in the series and I would rate this book a perfect 5 out of 5 stars for another perfect crime and suspense thriller. This book is available in Hardcover, eBook, CD and large print formats.

    20 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2010

    Kept me guessing

    Truly written in Patterson style - fast, suspensful, riviting. Bought it to read over Thanksgiving weekend and finished it in two days! Bringing back K.C. was great, added to the suspense. Highly recommend.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    what!!!

    no way i will pay 14.99. thats for sure!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The past is interrupting the present and trying to kill the future

    Kyle Craig was supposed to be sent away to a prison he could not escape from and never come back, that is something Alex Cross had to believe had happened. Kyle Craig was titled The Mastermind because he was a vicious and sadistic killer who only had one nemesis in Alex Cross so when Alex caught him and had him locked up for life or so he thought but Kyle outwitted them all and this time his play to destroy Alex and everything he loves is as flawless as his skin.

    Unfortunately, for Alex the past is back and Kyle is in his life standing so close to Alex he could touch him and yet Alex doesn't even know why is that? Kyle taunts him with calls, harasses him with threats and tortures him with sadistic implications and still Alex can't draw him out. Perhaps the distraction of a new version of the DC Snipers who believe they are self-appointed heroes cleaning up their version of the bad seed in America is the reason. Perhaps this is the explanation for Alex's mis-steps and lost chances to catch Kyle but it might be that Kyle really does have the upper hand.

    But these seemingly random killings of high profile citizens being gunned down by sniper or could it be snipers continues. With nary a clue to be found Alex finds himself trying to stop that while another serial killer is doing his dirty work in another part of town.

    His personal life may be as calm as it can get with a wedding coming up and his family in good health and spirits but Alex is distracted with Kyle and his feeling that they are going to meet and only one will walk away this time. Even an unexpected visit from his youngest son's mother, Christine doesn't distract as much as irritate Alex and he can control this situation yet seems to have lost control with Kyle Craig and that is the only key to solving the crime.

    James Patterson writes this story like it is second nature to him and the reader feels his passion for Alex Cross, the life Cross leads and the people involved in the story. These books always have so much going on you might think it distracting to the reader but in fact each person both good and bad bring something to the book that is enjoyable, fascinating and a more than a little scary but I hope there are more Alex Cross types out there than Masterminds but sometimes you are not so sure.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Guaranteed to keep you awake until you finish!

    The novel is about multiple murders in Washington, D.C. The victims include a corrupt politician, a fraudulent lobbyist, and a shady tycoon. These people were hated by many. While investigating the murders, Alex finds a complex math formula in a most unusual place and comes across his long-time nemesis, Kyle Craig. Kyle taunts him with calls, harasses him with threats and tortures him with sadistic implications. Alex can't draw him out and he's so close he could touch him. This mastermind monster outwits them all and plans to destroy everything Alex holds dear. This is the usual Patterson page-turner, fascinating and scary, guaranteed to keep you awake until you are finished!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Shut up u stupif whiners

    STOP DISLIKING THE FACT THAT THIS ISN'T FREE GET A JOB AND READ THE BOOK THEN WRITE A REVIEW

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Patterson hit this one out of the ball park.

    I stopped reading James Patterson's books about 2 years ago because they were getting predictable, the type was bigger, and the chapters were so small that the plot was lost. However, he seemed to spend a little extra time with this book. When I read that Nana Momma was ill, the plot became more about the family and less about Cross himself. Now I must go back to others I failed to read to see if this was a fluke or he is thinking more about his stories than cranking out a book a week. This was a very entertaining read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2010

    ok

    Not the best Patterson book..this one didn't keepme intrigued or nearly as drawn as Blink or a few others..and Ive read all his books

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    don't read it on a NOOK

    Scrambled sentences, large areas of page omitted. I'm sure it may be a good book, but not on a 3 month old NOOK(which apparently has had a stroke.)

    4 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Kanye West Amazing cover

    Oh snap! J.Pat does it again in this out of this world novel in the Alex Cross series. Let me stop playing, I ain't never read this book but I'm thinking that its ok because of the cover.

    4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Great book

    I just luv James Patterson and his Alex Cross series they r the best always awaiting the next book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Finally!

    back in the saddle with AC.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Ashley

    Love the Alex Cros novels!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Fast Paced

    I love Alex Cross, his family, and of course Samson! I couldn't put this one down and already have "kill Alex Cross" cued up on my Nook app for tonight!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Patterson = garbage

    A waste of time & money.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    Pay how much?

    I will not pay14.99 to read this on my nook.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    Will not pay 14.99 to read this book on my nook.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    Recommend

    This is not the best of the Alex Cross Series....but it is a good read. It took me a while to start this one. But because this is my book club's pick and the meeting is next Sat, I decided to plow through. The plotline picked up and became hard to put down---Especially the sub-plot with "The Patriot".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    I love the Alex Cross character, so I always enjoy books with him as central character. This is one of the best. I prefer to do some research and read books that are a part of a series in the order they were written. I also generally like anything James Patterson writes. If you like mystery and/or intrigue, you will like this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1691 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 85