Customer Reviews for

Cross Fire (Alex Cross Series #17)

Average Rating 4
( 1675 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(693)

4 Star

(438)

3 Star

(269)

2 Star

(132)

1 Star

(143)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Alex Cross gets married and Kyle Craig is back!!!

The Mastermind is back, and he's about to destroy everything - and everyone Alex Cross loves.

Wedding Bells Ring: Detective Alex Cross and Bree Stone's wedding plans are put on hold when Alex is called to the scene of the perfectly executed assassination of two of Wa...
The Mastermind is back, and he's about to destroy everything - and everyone Alex Cross loves.

Wedding Bells Ring: Detective Alex Cross and Bree Stone's wedding plans are put on hold when Alex is called to the scene of the perfectly executed assassination of two of Washington, DC's most corrupt: a dirty congressman and an underhanded lobbyist. Next, the elusive gunman begins picking off other crooked insiders, sparking a blaze of theories - is the marksman a hero or a vigilante?

A Murderer Returns: The case explodes, and the FBI assigns Agent Max Siegel to the investigation. As Alex and Max battle over jurisdiction, the murders continue. It becomes clear that thee killings are the work of a professional who has detailed knowledge of his victims' movements - information that only a Washington insider could possess.

Caught In A Lethal Cross Fire: As Alex contends with the sniper, Siegel, and the wedding, he receives a call from his deadliest adversary, Kyle Craig. The Mastermind is in DC and will not relent until he had eliminated Cross and his family for good. With a supercharged blend of action, deception, and suspense, Cross Fire is James Patterson's most visceral and exciting Alex Cross novel ever.

My Review:

Another excellent page turning novel that literally has you on the edge of your seat til the very end. I saw this novel as a blend between the movie Face Off with John Travolta and Nicholas Cage and a great episode of Criminal Minds. The character of Kyle Craig, goes to the greatest lengths possible to devise an ending to Alex Cross and his family and leaves you wondering how it will all play out in the end.

I received this book compliments of Hachette Book Groups for my honest review and once more James Patterson does not disappoint. This is book number 17 in the series and I would rate this book a perfect 5 out of 5 stars for another perfect crime and suspense thriller. This book is available in Hardcover, eBook, CD and large print formats.

posted by Heart2Heart on November 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

what!!!

no way i will pay 14.99. thats for sure!

posted by 9361614 on August 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 693 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 35
  • Posted November 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Alex Cross gets married and Kyle Craig is back!!!

    The Mastermind is back, and he's about to destroy everything - and everyone Alex Cross loves.

    Wedding Bells Ring: Detective Alex Cross and Bree Stone's wedding plans are put on hold when Alex is called to the scene of the perfectly executed assassination of two of Washington, DC's most corrupt: a dirty congressman and an underhanded lobbyist. Next, the elusive gunman begins picking off other crooked insiders, sparking a blaze of theories - is the marksman a hero or a vigilante?

    A Murderer Returns: The case explodes, and the FBI assigns Agent Max Siegel to the investigation. As Alex and Max battle over jurisdiction, the murders continue. It becomes clear that thee killings are the work of a professional who has detailed knowledge of his victims' movements - information that only a Washington insider could possess.

    Caught In A Lethal Cross Fire: As Alex contends with the sniper, Siegel, and the wedding, he receives a call from his deadliest adversary, Kyle Craig. The Mastermind is in DC and will not relent until he had eliminated Cross and his family for good. With a supercharged blend of action, deception, and suspense, Cross Fire is James Patterson's most visceral and exciting Alex Cross novel ever.

    My Review:

    Another excellent page turning novel that literally has you on the edge of your seat til the very end. I saw this novel as a blend between the movie Face Off with John Travolta and Nicholas Cage and a great episode of Criminal Minds. The character of Kyle Craig, goes to the greatest lengths possible to devise an ending to Alex Cross and his family and leaves you wondering how it will all play out in the end.

    I received this book compliments of Hachette Book Groups for my honest review and once more James Patterson does not disappoint. This is book number 17 in the series and I would rate this book a perfect 5 out of 5 stars for another perfect crime and suspense thriller. This book is available in Hardcover, eBook, CD and large print formats.

    20 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2010

    Kept me guessing

    Truly written in Patterson style - fast, suspensful, riviting. Bought it to read over Thanksgiving weekend and finished it in two days! Bringing back K.C. was great, added to the suspense. Highly recommend.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Guaranteed to keep you awake until you finish!

    The novel is about multiple murders in Washington, D.C. The victims include a corrupt politician, a fraudulent lobbyist, and a shady tycoon. These people were hated by many. While investigating the murders, Alex finds a complex math formula in a most unusual place and comes across his long-time nemesis, Kyle Craig. Kyle taunts him with calls, harasses him with threats and tortures him with sadistic implications. Alex can't draw him out and he's so close he could touch him. This mastermind monster outwits them all and plans to destroy everything Alex holds dear. This is the usual Patterson page-turner, fascinating and scary, guaranteed to keep you awake until you are finished!

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Shut up u stupif whiners

    STOP DISLIKING THE FACT THAT THIS ISN'T FREE GET A JOB AND READ THE BOOK THEN WRITE A REVIEW

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Kanye West Amazing cover

    Oh snap! J.Pat does it again in this out of this world novel in the Alex Cross series. Let me stop playing, I ain't never read this book but I'm thinking that its ok because of the cover.

    4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Great book

    I just luv James Patterson and his Alex Cross series they r the best always awaiting the next book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Finally!

    back in the saddle with AC.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Ashley

    Love the Alex Cros novels!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Fast Paced

    I love Alex Cross, his family, and of course Samson! I couldn't put this one down and already have "kill Alex Cross" cued up on my Nook app for tonight!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    I love the Alex Cross character, so I always enjoy books with him as central character. This is one of the best. I prefer to do some research and read books that are a part of a series in the order they were written. I also generally like anything James Patterson writes. If you like mystery and/or intrigue, you will like this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2010

    Greater than Great!

    ***** Usual Patterson - EXCELLENT. And ... take that, KYLE CRAIG! Delight your senses and enjoy the adventure (if you dare).

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2014

    Luvtoread

    I kept having to arcive because of missing pages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2014

    Great

    Always the best Alex Cross

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Awesome!!!

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    The Chosen Oneswill be posted at...........................

    Fire in the hole pass the word ~ Jack

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    To the chosen ones SUGGESTIONS

    Mabye u should have lily & jack u& james and sam and ava be bffs. Butter things up wwith the relationships. Find the keeper of the keys key. Find the heir and make it suprising

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    To chosen onesw - CHARECTER APP

    Alexis granger . Hermionies daughter wavy brow hair with natrul blonde highlights a small streak of red hair where hr bangs would be. ( one of the only people who know what sam hamper does in the forbidden forest. ) house- hufflepuff wand unicorn and oak. Pet is a barn owl - hope u use her - Sam

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    THE CHOSEN ONES PART 15

    •Thank you everyone for all of your advice and suggestions. Also thank you for leaving new character apps!!! I cant wait to use them! The next part will be at the next result and thanks fir being so paitent for the next part. Okay I hope you enjoy this next part. Also if you can give me more ideas I am sorta running low on them. Now to the story.• P. O. V. James Finnlay~I realized I was speaking to the one and only Megan Potter,Jack's little sister. "Wait a minute? How did you get in you are not 11 yet,not until next year." She rolled her eyes,"I obviously came up with a spell that can transport me here without anyone knowing,well besides you. Anyways I was wondering next year when I am a first year if we could" I cut off I knew exactky what she was gonna say,"No. You know I'm friends with your brother. Even if I thought about saying yes I couldnt and wouldnt first of all he'd kill me. Second of all I have a girlfriend so even if I wasnt friends with your brother I still wouldnt date you." She laughed and rolled her eyes. She got up and whispered into my ear,"Well if you change your mind just call me. Even if we did date they wouldnt have to know." After that I turned to look at her just to discover she had left yet again. I stood up and left to my house's common room. I quietly whispered the password and walked in just to find the whole house in the common room. "Hey James." Said this girl I barely even knew I nodded my head and turned to leave when I found Ivy. "Hey um do you know why there is this huge party?" She nodded,"We won the quidditch cup!!!" That renark was followed by many wooo's and a right on! I decided it was too crowded and left to my room. I lay on my bed and fell asleep. P. O. V. Jack Potter- How should I tell her that I like her? I mean she is a fifth year and has a bunch of pictures of my dad. How could she like me? Whatever I'll ask her out at lunch tomorrow but not around Ava. She would probably get super jealous and like beat me up or worse. I sat there in the slytherin common room muttering the pro's and con's of this situation. I finally decided tomorrow at lunch in the library before class starts again. I slowly rose out if my seat and turned around to find Lily Malfoy. Her piercing green eyes staring into my eyes as though she could see through my soul. "Talking to yourself again Potter thats not anything new. Your just like your wacko father. Always thunking he is right but its obvious my parents have more power than your filthy blood." That just about ticked me off,no one and I MEAN NO ONE talks about my family that way. "Just shut up Lily. No one cares about your snide renarks and if you havent noticed you have NO FRIENDS!!! So get a life and stop teasing ithers just because you feel much more superior than the rest of us." She looked into my eyes like she was just about to cry. I gave her a sympathetic look feeling guilty about beung mean. "I'm so sorry." We both said at the same time and then laughed. "Jack.. you know how I have always been a bit meaner to you than anyone else. Well to be honest to you it's because I have always" She got cut off by Professor Snape(Severus's son) "You too should be in bed now off you go and dont come back out until it is a new day. I slowly left to my room wondering what Lily was going to tell me. I began to think over my plans of asking Samantha out at lunch. (Yes Samantha) I decided to cancel my plans until I figured out what Lily was going to say. I lay down and slept.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Loinsroar

    Sorry today i found a mate in my clan sorry again he says leaving the area

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 693 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 35