Customer Reviews for

Cross My Heart (Alex Cross Series #21)

Average Rating 3.5
( 330 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(139)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(66)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Wow. Shut up. The saga of Alex Cross has always been ongoing.

Wow. Shut up. The saga of Alex Cross has always been ongoing. Quit your whining and wait for the next book to see how it ends. The same thing is being done by other authors and is done all the time with tv shows. Whether an author does it to ensure more sales or ju...
Wow. Shut up. The saga of Alex Cross has always been ongoing. Quit your whining and wait for the next book to see how it ends. The same thing is being done by other authors and is done all the time with tv shows. Whether an author does it to ensure more sales or just to add a little mystery to an era where suspense is in short supply, I applaud him for it. All I see from most of the reviewers on here is a bunch of children who are the sad products of an age of instant gratification. Have some respect, because we all know that even with your whining, you WILL buy the next book, even if you don't let anyone see you do it.

posted by Anonymous on December 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

68 out of 77 people found this review helpful.

you should be ashamed of yourself James Patterson!!! Do not wa


you should be ashamed of yourself James Patterson!!! Do not waste your money buying this book! The book is half written! Yes, you never find out the ending. The author will write another book with the ending, and expect people to pay for it???? No way! I have rea...

you should be ashamed of yourself James Patterson!!! Do not waste your money buying this book! The book is half written! Yes, you never find out the ending. The author will write another book with the ending, and expect people to pay for it???? No way! I have read all of your books, James Patterson. This was the LAST one I will ever read. What a mean trick you played on your valued and dedicated readers!!!! Goodbye. No more James Patterson's books for me!!!

posted by TerryTD on December 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 330 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted December 4, 2013

    you should be ashamed of yourself James Patterson!!! Do not wa


    you should be ashamed of yourself James Patterson!!! Do not waste your money buying this book! The book is half written! Yes, you never find out the ending. The author will write another book with the ending, and expect people to pay for it???? No way! I have read all of your books, James Patterson. This was the LAST one I will ever read. What a mean trick you played on your valued and dedicated readers!!!! Goodbye. No more James Patterson's books for me!!!

    68 out of 77 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Mr. Patterson, you should be ashamed. I spent $15, which by the

    Mr. Patterson, you should be ashamed. I spent $15, which by the way is the most I have ever paid for an ebook from Barnes and Noble, and I don't get an ending. Forcing me to pay for another book to get the ending. Gigantic ripoff. Guess I will read Crais, Connelly and Grisham from now on. At least I will get a whole book! Thanks for nothing. Jim Ladd, Orlando FL

    54 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    After reading this latest Patterson I can honestly say I will pu

    After reading this latest Patterson I can honestly say I will purchase only one more before calling it quits with this author.   Cross Your Heart is a part 1 of a soap opera.  Leaving the reader hanging abruptly is not par for the course.   If we had been given this info before purchasing and beginning reading no problem.  Did not appreciate the blindside! 

    47 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    Shame on James P.

    Shame on James - ripping off fans with a book with no ending (and a lame author comment instead) is too low. It is bad enough he has been slapping his name on all those crap novels, he has obviously turned into a money machine (and thinks the readers are idiots). His editor/pubisher should be ashamed at playing this game with now former fans...keep your sequel, would not read it if ends up free on the B&N Nook list. There are still top selling authors with integrity and loyalty to their readers but James is done after this scam.

    41 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Sorry, while the book was good, can't help feeling that james pa

    Sorry, while the book was good, can't help feeling that james patterson tricked his readers -- and i'm not feeling good about it. Look I want to read a book with a beginning, middle and end -- not just a teaser for another book. Very disappointed.

    36 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    Not this time!

    Was just before making purchase, then decided to read reviews. Glad I did! I agree with other reviewers you should.have had full disclosure that book had no ending. Don't like the feeling of being baited. Will choose different novel/author.

    35 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2013

    I'd like to begin that my hubby and I have read all Alex Cross s

    I'd like to begin that my hubby and I have read all Alex Cross series as and loved them all well as several other of Patterson's other books, I also need to say that I have not read this book as of yet but my hubby finished it last night and said he would never read another James Patterson book ever again. He said the story itself was very good but the ending left you hanging in a very bad way. Not the good way whereas you cannot wait until the next book comes out but in a way that angered him very much so. Ha actually went to bed anger and when I questioned him about it he said Jame Patterson was no longer his favorite author. This whole thing is so unusual for my hubby, he usually reads books in stride, if he likes them he likes them, he does not like them he can put it done and not finish them, I have never seen him get mad at a book or author because of a book or its ending before and we have read a ton of books that have sequels and cliff hanger endings. Do to his reaction and many, many other peoples reactions to this book in reviews even though I have the book I will not be reading it and I guess James Patterns is not just off our favorite author list from what I am reading in reviews he is off many dedicated readers list as well. Mr Patterson it was not nice to your readers to charge them almost $15.00 for a e-reader then give them only a half of book with a rotten ending at that or I should say no ending at all. If you have any hope of fixing this for the people who are not so mindless to just buy one of your books just because your name is on it and not the content of what is in the book and how well it is or is not written, it might do you will to give the ending to this book free to those who have already bought it and to duel the ending up with Cross My Heart and not charge extra for those who have not read it. My advice to those you who just have to read a book because Patterson's name is on it; is to wait until the sequel is out before buying this book with no ending for $15.00...what a waste of money it is!

    33 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    Joke!!

    Not fair! Awake 2 nights for the ending, and this is what I get. Been a loyal fan since 1984. SHAME ON YOU mr patterson. No more!!

    29 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    Do not buy this book.  The is no resolution, the writer just sto

    Do not buy this book.  The is no resolution, the writer just stops writing and expects you to buy the next installment.  That seems both sleazy and manipulative!

    29 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2013

    This isn't a book, it's the beginning of a book--the set up part

    This isn't a book, it's the beginning of a book--the set up part, and reading it resembled slogging through mud in fits and starts.  It's beyond disappointing because I expect at least the very basics in a book from James Patterson, a beginning, middle and end.  I would have preferred to have waited for however long it took for him to actually write the ending than to have read a poorly half written story.  Boo.

    27 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    I am a long-standing James Patterson fan, having read nearly all

    I am a long-standing James Patterson fan, having read nearly all his books. This is the worst ever. I feel it wasn't written by him. Could that be possible? The story dragged, anyway, and you're looking forward to a good ending, but, shockingly, you are left hanging and forced to buy the next book in the series. Shame on you, James Patterson

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Wow. Shut up. The saga of Alex Cross has always been ongoing.

    Wow. Shut up. The saga of Alex Cross has always been ongoing. Quit your whining and wait for the next book to see how it ends. The same thing is being done by other authors and is done all the time with tv shows. Whether an author does it to ensure more sales or just to add a little mystery to an era where suspense is in short supply, I applaud him for it. All I see from most of the reviewers on here is a bunch of children who are the sad products of an age of instant gratification. Have some respect, because we all know that even with your whining, you WILL buy the next book, even if you don't let anyone see you do it.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    Thanks for the reviews before I buy a book with no ending.  I an

    Thanks for the reviews before I buy a book with no ending.  I anxiously await each and every Alex Cross novel but don't want to wait a year to find out the ending of this one.  (Yes, I believe he only publishes one Alex Cross novel every November)

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    Terrible ending

    I thought i was an awful way to end

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    WoW! "Cross My Heart" to never not be a fan of Alex Cross!

    I could not put this book down! It was a really good read and I have never been into such a story that I red fell asleep then woke up and continued that fell asleep again and woke up and continued more reading of where I left off! You will like this book more than any other book you read by James Patterson ever! I recommend this book highly to anybody who has read James Patterson book or has never read it shows how to somebody this book is the best book I have read in my entire life!! Hurry up James Patterson write the next follow up continuation of this out Cross book I can't wait to read what happens next... Or should I say how Alex Cross finds his fam-...oh, just read this book and find out what you'll have to find out to what you're going to need to know to know what you're going to find out in the follow up book to this one!

    13 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2013

    This is James Patterson's best book by far. I couldn't  put it d

    This is James Patterson's best book by far. I couldn't  put it down and I can't wait for the next one.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    You're killing me!

    James Patterson, you're killing me! You better write fast.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    Melissa

    That book was excellent I am a little dissappointed it ended the way it did but then again I will be anxiously awaiting part 2. I just cant get enough of Alex Cross.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    Unbelievable, I just finished this book and sad to say it is my

    Unbelievable, I just finished this book and sad to say it is my last book by James Patterson, I have been a fan from the very first Alex Cross novel
    novel. For the author to treat loyal fans this way is beyond me. To set up his readers like this is completely uncalled for and makes me wonder if 
    he fears he has lost it and this type of deception is warranted in order to keep the interest building but I think he will see what it has done to
    his fanbase according to the reviews I have read and for the publisher to go along with this shows their style as well. Good Luck Mr.
    Patterson you are going to need it. I will stay with Stuart Woods and Ted Bell.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2013

    Rip off Alert!!!!! I have never read a book that has made me thi

    Rip off Alert!!!!!
    I have never read a book that has made me this upset.  
    It ends suddenly with condescending statement from Mr Patterson about experiencing the
    loss of a loved one.  
    Then he promises that there will be another Alex Cross book and then leaves you
    hanging in mid scene. 

    You will have to buy another book to get the end of the story!

    I have never heard of an author that was so obviously taking advantage of his readers!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 330 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17