Customer Reviews for

Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy (Gallagher Girls Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 905 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(693)

4 Star

(147)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on June 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

highly recommended

this book was pretty good i would have never thought this was a disney book very mature and awesome

posted by 8769265 on June 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 147 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Better than the first!

    I am a huge fan of "young spy" novels, (Alex Rider especially), and romance (like Twilight). Ally Carter ties the two together perfectly in this absorbing sequel. All the characters are back, as well as some new ones too. Zachary Goode is by far one of the best characters in the series and the chemistry between him and Cammie is amazing. I highly recommend this book, even if you havent read the first one. I was only able to read this book first before I read "I'd Tell you I love you...", and even as I read it over, it still manages to make me smile. An excellent book.

    18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A great read!!!!!!!!!!!

    I loved this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Ally Carter has done it again!!!!!!!! I really liked how Zach was so mysterious and I loved him from the begginning. Ally was right to make him like that. I just loved this book!!!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Amazing

    This book was amazing!!!!!!! I will never stop reading it! My fav in the series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2012

    Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy is about a group of girls that go

    Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy is about a group of girls that go to an all girl school in Washington D.C. The school they go to is Gallagher Girl Academy. They are also known as the Gallagher Girls. The school is for girls that are exceptional students. It is also where girls train to be spies for the CIA. Cammie is considered one of the best spies. Her mom is the principal at the school. He dad was also a spy. He went on a mission and never came back. She hasn’t seen him for several years. Cammie and her friends think something is up. Her mom is acting strange. Cammie was touring the school when she found a room she wasn’t supposes to see. She heard things she wasn’t supposed to hear. What did black thorn mean? There is a school hour away called Blackthorne Institute for boys. The Blackthorne Boys would be living and going to school at Gallagher Girl Academy. Cammie and her friends could not believe this. Some of the girls liked the idea of boys being around. When the boys moved in, Zach took an interest in Cammie, but she didn’t care for him. Because she was a spy she had to break up with the boy she liked, Josh. She wasn’t interested in any other boys. This book had a romance between the Gallagher Girls and Blackthorne Boys. There were times when the girls and boys were given challenges from their teachers to see how well they were learning to be spies. The ultimate challenge happened when Cammie thought one of the teachers from Blackthorne was taking a list of Gallagher Girl alumni from the school. The boys and girls worked together to solve the mystery. But it was all a set up to see if they could work together. In the end Cammie and Zach came to be friends, and maybe more than just friends. But the Blackthorne boys moved out when the semester was over.
    I really liked this book. There was mystery when Blackthorn showed up, and they had to solve problems together. In this book there was romance between the boys and girls. It also makes you wonder if we pass by spies in our everyday life. It makes we realize that I should pay attention to my surroundings.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Great book

    Still not my favorite, little predictable but really awsome

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great sequel!!!

    I got this book for christmas and read it about a month before I read the first one. And even though sequels rarely do better then the original, I have to say, Ally Carter did an amazing job. I'd Tell You I Love You But Then I'd Have To Kill You was a tough act to follow. Bringing in the Blackthorne boys, and the undeniable chemistry between Cammie and a new boy - whom I found far more likeable and suitable for her than Josh would ever be - were the right moves to keeping me interested. In this sequel, we are provided with new information and secrets about the secretive world of Gallagher Academy and Blackthorne.
    This is an excellent read. Quick, yet interesting. I've re-read this novel too many times to count and I never get tired of it! If anyone asked, I'd say it is better than the first. Far better. A must read!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Spy!

    Do you like James Bond, but want a girly, simpler version? This is the ticket! A great read for a Saturday afternoon or to kill time between school and classes!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    life as a spy

    This book was really great and had a lot of edge to it. It just keeps the reader wanting to learn, and find out more of the book. This book was also very entertaining, like you are watching a movie. Every chapter is like waiting to see if she loses her secret identity as a spy. It keeps you from not lettting go of the book. Even though parts of this book were really confusing, and hard to keep up with, it also has a lot of action in it too!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    GREAT BOOK!! MUST READ!!

    The second book was great! I wish there was a third book coming out!! I would recomnend this to anyone who read the first one but not this one. I love this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Cross my heart and hope to spy: Pretty good for young girls

    This is book would only be good for you if you were a teen/tween girl that likes excitement, thrilling, and mystery. this book is better if you read the first one. "I'd tell you I love you but then i'd have to kill you" Also, if you are at a bookstore, and just flip to a random page in this book, then you might think it is a cheezy, trashy, romance. But it really isnt. It has excitement and thrilling things in it. hope i was helpful

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Wounderfull

    I have this book and im reading it now and so far its really good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    I'm not sure why the Gallagher Girls never considered the fact t

    I'm not sure why the Gallagher Girls never considered the fact that there may be a boys school similar to theirs, but they soon discover its existence when 15 of its students arrive at their school. The boys spend the semester taking classes at the Gallagher Academy as part of an exchange program. The board thought that it would benefit both the boys and girls if they could learn to communicate and work together.

    This is when we meet Zach. He is cute, charming, and definitely up to something. When a security breach takes place at the Gallagher Academy, Cammie and her friends take it upon themselves to complete a thorough investigation. Of course, their first suspects are the new arrivals...aka...the boys.

    This is a fast paced and absolutely adorable story. It is even better than the first book in the series.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Liv

    I love this book i read it in one day

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    SO AWSOME!!!

    Love this book, great read! Iwonder whoo would win if Cammie and Alex Rider faced of (an is alex thanking God its not Bex?)

    Anna, a gallgher girl (at heart)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Much etter than the first one

    Cammie, Bex, liz, and macey are back at the gallagher academy. After the disastrous events involving josh last semester, cammie is feeling a little alone and upset. Theres nothing to get her out of her funk faster than boys from another spy school coming onto gilly's-and cammie's- turf. Forced to work with snarky blackthorn boy zach, she is doing something spyish! So nothing new. I found zach to be a much more likeable romantic interest that josh, because hey, im a sucker for hot, mysterious boys. Content is good, but carter's writing is a little weak. It is nothing to me nominated. If you love adventure and romance, you will like this book, and there is no real need to read the first one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    Teaser Lines: “You really saw some?" Liz said an hour

    Teaser Lines:
    “You really saw some?" Liz said an hour later. Sure, we had the stereo blaring and the shower running, but Liz still whispered, "They really...exist?"
    "Liz," I whispered back, "they're not unicorns."
    "No," Bex said flatly, "they're boys. And they're...good.”

    Synopsis:
    After staking out, obtaining, and then being forced to give up her first boyfriend, Josh, all Cammie Morgan wants is a peaceful semester. But that's easier said than done when you're a CIA legacy and go to the premier school in the world . . . for spies.
    Cammie may have a genius I.Q., but there are still a lot of things she doesn't know. Like, will her ex-boyfriend even remember she exists? And how much trouble is she really in after what happened last semester? And most of all, why is her mother acting so strangely?
    Despite Cammie's best intentions to be a normal student, danger seems to follow her. She and her friends learn that their school is going to play host to some mysterious guests--code name: Blackthorne. Then she's blamed for a security breach that leaves the school's top secret status at risk.
    Soon, Cammie and her friends are crawling through walls and surveilling the school to learn the truth about Blackthorne and clear Cammie's name. Even though they have confidence in their spy skills, this time the targets are tougher (and hotter), and the stakes for Cammie's heart--and her beloved school--are higher than ever.

    My Review:
    Cammie Morgan is back in the second installment of the Gallagher Girls series.
    In this book, Cammie is forced to be normal...or as normal as a girl going to spy girl can be.
    She knows fourteen different languages and was the one who cracked the NSA's Sapphire Series at age 4, but there are some things she doesn't know. Like why her mother is acting so strange. And what is this Blackthorne she keeps hearing about.
    Soon, Cammie's and her friends' answers comes in fifteen different shapes, colors, and sizes. And now, they're wondering if they have what it takes to face Blackthorne.
    Things I loved
    This was a very interesting read. The author wrote in a fast-pace, fun, and charming way. The fact that Cammie goes to a school for spies immediately drew me in and the rest of the book captivated me. There was enough suspence behind the mysterious Blackthorne to keep my pages turning. I enjoyed the banter between Cammie and her friends, Liz, Bex, and Macey, and wish that they were more involved in the whole story plot.
    Things I didn't like
    This is definitely a step up from the first book in the series, partly because the premise of this book doesn't revolve totally around the whole boy-girl relationship. Unfortunately for me, this was also very romantic themed. For example, it was about Cammie getting over her relationship with Josh and moving into this new relationship with her spy-boy. Constantly, Cammie and her friends are trying to dissect the motives of the spy-boy Cammie likes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    New security measures. Mysterious guests. New adventures for a girl spy.

    Last term Cammie Morgan met her first boyfriend. She also staked out his house, ran surveillance on him, and had to make up a whole entire life just to be with him. Only to be forced to break up with him when he came too close to the truth.

    Cammie is a Gallagher Girl, a student at the prestigious Gallagher Academy for Exceptional Young Women--young women who plan to be spies that is.

    After dating and losing the one boy who saw her as more than "the Chameleon" she usually is at school Cammie is back for a new term ready to once again blend in. She even plans to follow the rules this time.

    But things are different at the Gallagher Academy. New security measures. Mysterious guests. A new op code named "Blackthorne." And those are just the beginning of Cammie's problems as everything she thought she knew as a Gallagher Girl is put to the test in Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy (2007) by Ally Carter.

    Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy is the second book in Carter's Gallagher Girl series which began with I'd Tell You I Love You, But Then I'd Have To Kill You.

    When I finished the first book in this series, I was not sure if I would keep reading. The premise--a boarding school for spies in training--was genius. Cammie and her friends were likable and authentic in a way that only girl geniuses learning to become spies can. Still, something never clicked in that first volume where Cammie spent all her time obsessing about . . . a boy.

    Nonetheless, this was a series I wanted to like. So when I heard the end of the series arc was slated for book 6, I decided to give Cammie and the Gallagher Academy another chance.

    I'm so glad I did.

    Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy has everything I wanted from I'd Tell You I Love You, But Then I'd Have To Kill You and then some. New characters, new challenges, plus lots of action and humor make this book a winner. While the book follows in the same vein as the first of the series, Carter keeps things fresh with twists and turns (and did I mention the new characters?!) that keep both the reader and Cammie on their toes.

    Possible Pairings: White Cat by Holly Black, Strings Attached by Judy Blundell, Clarity by Kim Harrington, Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine, Kiki Strike: Inside the Shadow City by Kirsten Miller, Divergent by Veronica Roth, Paranormalcy by Kiersten White

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Good book!!!!!

    I liked the book a lot. Checked it out from the school library but I cant check it out from there agin because ther was a fire in the library.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Good book

    Its a good book so far im not very far into it yet i really liked the first book in the seires and i hope this book is just as good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    Wow!! Best book in the series!!!

    This was a very exciting book and if u love the gallagher girls u MUST READ THIS BOOK! I mean for starters read the reviews. I can barely find five bad reviews! All in all this was a great exciting and addicting book. Huzzah for the gallagher girls!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 147 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8