Customer Reviews for

Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy (Gallagher Girls Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 905 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(693)

4 Star

(147)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on June 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

highly recommended

this book was pretty good i would have never thought this was a disney book very mature and awesome

posted by 8769265 on June 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 693 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 35
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent

    I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

    22 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2009

    Absolutely Loved it!!

    This is my favorite book from all the gallagher girl series.The romance between Zach and Cammie was well written. The way she didn't know how to solve guy problems and asking for Macey's help was interesting.The way that Zach keeps running to Cammie. There is nothing bad that I can say about this book. I reread it a lot of times and I'm pretty sure everyone else will.You'll love it.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    WONDERFUL BOOK!

    I love the Gallagher Girls Series books! This is my favorite out of the four books, but I recomend reading the first book so you would get an idea of what everyone is talking about. I absolutely LOVED it!!!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Witty and Entertaining!!!

    Ally Carter incorporates a sophisticated wit that is a rare find in books of any age level. She spoofs mission impossible type situations using teenage girls who are learning to be superspies, but also new to dating and the opposite sex.

    In this book, Carter captures the essence of young teenage females who are new to dating. She has taken the clumsy, uncomfortable moments that teenagers experience when they initially feel attracted to a boy or when they begin to date and turned those experiences into a humorous situational comedy.

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2008

    I loved this book, it was fantastic!

    Have you ever spied on someone? In Ally Carter¿s book Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy, the author tells the story of Cammie Morgan a 16 year old, sophomore spy. Told from Cammie¿s point of view, Cammie realizes that her mother 'the headmistress of Gallagher Academy for Young Women- young spy women' is hiding something from her. But is she prepared to learn that the secret is another spy school for boys and that those boys are coming to her school? This book is perfect for teenage girls who love to spy. The events of the story make sense but are not too easy to follow 'especially if you¿re not a spy!' The content gets somewhat confusing when the author tells about the missions the characters go on. Other than those few times, the story is quite easy to follow. This book is great for middle aged teen girls because the content is something middle aged teens are more likely to understand. The story contains Cammie getting over her previous break-up from the first book, as this is the sequel of the series. Any girl that enjoys spying, adventure and romance with enjoy this book immensely. The romance and adventure will probably appeal to those who do not have aspirations to be a spy. Although you may want to read the first book first if you want to understand what the characters are talking about!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2008

    I love the Gallagher series!

    As soon as I picked up LYKY I couldn't put it down, and when I did put it down (because I'd finished) I couldn't wait to read the next one. This book is totally AWESOME! There aren't many books about just female spies. Sure, there are books with spy teams that had girls on them, and I love those books too, but it was really nice to finally read about a spy who was a girl. Ally Carter rocks!!! Read her blog, it's just as funny as the books and it has a lot of tips on writing. The only thing I didn't like about the series was how all the girls went crazy just because some boys came to their school. Not exactly showing the characters in their best light. But then, their best light isn't always as funny. :) Well, this review is getting kind of long so I better wrap it up. I loved this book and LYKY. Here are some instructions on what you should do now. 1) Buy the book. 2) Read the book. 3) Love the book. Just do steps 1 and 2 and step 3 will take care of itself. Almost forgot step 4) wait impatiantly for GG3.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2009

    Even Better than the First!

    Wow... I can't say enough good things about this book! This is one of the few books that I would ever choose to re-read! I highly recommend!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    THIS BOOK WAS AMAZING! I LOVE THE GALLAGHER GIRLS SERIES!

    This book was action packed and awesome! As soon as I started reading, I couldn't put it down! I would recomend this to anyone. I hope that Ally Carter will make a third!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Awesome!!

    Okay so heres the thing. You ever had those books you got so mad at cuz you could nevee live that life, never meet that guy? Thats what im feelin about this book, all the way. Im so jealous of the Gallagher Girls. They are cool, and they are sisters. Im so tired of the real world, where you find a couple friends, but you also get some backstabbers, trashtalkers, and haters. Plus, im way jealous about Zach. I mean come on, eho doesnt want a secret spy boyfriend? I do! The only thing is, I like my guys confident, and I like my guys mysterious, but I do not like them cocky. Zach was all self confidence when it came down to it. He made me so mad! But thats how you know the book was good, when they can make the reader FEEL just by reading the words on a page. Ally Carter, you are simply amazing

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Loved it!!

    I couldn't put this book down! Can't wait to read the next book!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    =D

    Most AMAZING book ever!!!! Asolutely the best in the series. Totally worth the money. I would definetaly revomend it to my friemds. If youre questioning buying this, YES. There, now you dont have to question it. Why are you still reading this? Buy it already!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I thought that this book was...

    I thought that this book (Cross My Heart And Hope To Spy) Was an amazing book. The author Alyy Carter made it very, visual and emotional. It was not only cofusing at first but it also made you think. It personally had helped me to think longer harder and deeper not only about myself and the people around me but also about my suroundings and about life and the chioces people made. I think this is one of the deeper books that the (AMAZING) author Ally Carter wrote. It makes the reader(s) try thier hardest to figure out the basic questions; Who? What? When? Where? And of course Why? I think this is an excallent book for almost everyone to read! In this book some of my favorite charecters also change for reasons still unknown to me. It takes alot of thinking for me and probably alot of people to figure out what iis going on the minds of certain charecters. I LOVE THIS BOOK!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2008

    great

    i read this book and it was a page turner for me i couldn't ever put this book down

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2008

    Great

    I loved it so much i wanted to read it 100 times

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Annoymous

    This best book in the world u go ally carter love this book i reccomed it for everyone in th world :)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Anonymous

    I love this entire series. This book is the start to when everything starts to get more serious. The romance between Zach and Cammie is brilliant. I love books with romance but not romance the whole time so this is perfect. It has adventure, romance, and action.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    This book rules!

    I luv ths series! I also love/hate zach. Hate cuz hes annoying love because well, hess zach.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    A

    I truly did enjoy this book. It had some amazing characters that I had fallen in love with. Definitely a must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    I love it but.......

    The boys school is called blackthorn

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Really good

    A-M-A-Z-I-N-G !!!!!!Man its sooooo perfect its romantic and it has the perfect twist of adventure and mystery itsa great read and a wonderful exceptional book it perfect and i say on a scale from one to ten its an 10000000000000 :D

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 693 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 35