Customer Reviews for

The Cross of Lead (Crispin Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 208 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(105)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

GREAT BUY!

I would strongly recommend this book to anybody that likes adventure books that keep you guessing. This book is about a 13 year-old boy named Crispin whose mother died. Shortly after he is orphaned, he is proclaimed a ¿wolf¿s head,¿ meaning anyone can kill him. ...
I would strongly recommend this book to anybody that likes adventure books that keep you guessing. This book is about a 13 year-old boy named Crispin whose mother died. Shortly after he is orphaned, he is proclaimed a ¿wolf¿s head,¿ meaning anyone can kill him. Crispin is accused of stealing money and the murder of a priest. In most of the story Crispin is running, scared for his safety and his life, because people want to kill him. I would recommend this book to all middle school students.

posted by Anonymous on July 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

It's an okay book

I give this book 3 stars because Crispin and the cross of lead didn't interest me enough to give the book 5 stars..I don't think i would like to read the book again.

posted by Anonymous on September 24, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 208 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2008

    GREAT BUY!

    I would strongly recommend this book to anybody that likes adventure books that keep you guessing. This book is about a 13 year-old boy named Crispin whose mother died. Shortly after he is orphaned, he is proclaimed a ¿wolf¿s head,¿ meaning anyone can kill him. Crispin is accused of stealing money and the murder of a priest. In most of the story Crispin is running, scared for his safety and his life, because people want to kill him. I would recommend this book to all middle school students.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    KEEP READING!!!!!

    This book is boring at the begining! But once you get to the middle it is like you are stuck in the middle of CRISPIN THE CROSS OF LEAD. You can not stop reading............ I am reading this book in 6th grade language and didn't want to read it but I'm glad I did! I recommend this to 11+. It truely is an awesoms book!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Good for people who like suspense!

    At the beggining it seems a little boring, but towards the middle the book gets really interesting and entertaining! I was givin a list at the end of fith grade, this and the black pearl were two of the six books! Blac pearl is also an interesting book. I would like to recommend the black pearl to anyone who likes this book. It is about a boy whose mother dies, gets named a wolf's head, and finds a friend. I believe most people will like it!!! I did, and now I must write a report on it. Yay.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2008

    BEST BOOK a must read

    This was the best book i have ever read and i barely read i can't wait until i get the second one

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2004

    It's an okay book

    I give this book 3 stars because Crispin and the cross of lead didn't interest me enough to give the book 5 stars..I don't think i would like to read the book again.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Awesome book

    It was gery dry at first but after you kept turning the pages it got better and better. It is a great book and has a great plot. Great for all middle schoolers

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Crispin: Cross of the Lead

    I had to read this book in schol and I loved it! I do have to say some parts were a little dull but then it got amuzing! Crispin is a perfect book for ages 11-15

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    Greatest start to the Crispin series

    I read this book and fell in love!These books are to die for! All I have to say,READ THE BOOK!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A world that shocks and facinates as much as the plot.

    Review by Jill Williamson<BR/><BR/>Asta¿s son has never had a name. But now that his mother has died, a priest tells him his name is Crispin. Accused of a crime he didn¿t commit, Crispin flees his village home. On his journey he meets a juggler named Bear, who teaches him the ways of entertaining, self defense, and snaring rabbits. At first Crispin is afraid of Bear, but the man takes care of him and teaches him to think for himself.<BR/><BR/>Crispin¿s enemies continue to pursue him. Crispin wonders why they are so intent on seeing him killed? He is no one. He and Bear reach the city of Great Wexly where Crispin stumbles onto a dark secret that leaves him no choice but to fight for his and Bear¿s life.<BR/><BR/>Crispin: the Cross of Lead is a story about a poor orphan in medieval England. Avi creates a world for the reader that shocks and fascinates as much as the plot. It¿s no surprise why this book earned the Newberry. I highly recommend it for everyone.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    Good so far!!!!

    Interesting so far slightly deppressing but it is the midevil times, so what do expect. I am 80 pgs in and so far it is good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Sucks

    THIS IS HW!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    AWFUL

    This book is so bad I would not even read past the first chapter and the first chapter dragged on even though it was not that long of a chapter.it was so bad I do not even want to put a star for the rate but I have to

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    c======():::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::>

    I'M GONNA EAT YOUR BABIES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Great

    One of the best books i have evet read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Awful

    This book is so boring and is hard to get whats happening in the story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Crispin

    Best book ever!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    NOT AS GOOD AS I HOPED... COULDA BEEN BETTER!! HORRIBLE BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    CRISPIN wasnt as good as I had hoped. The cover looked good. I admit, it was a catchy cover. But sometimes, this gal(Yes, I am a girl) is very picky. Especially when it comes to run-away, adventure books. Like Percy Jackson. Yeah, thats a good example. Percy Jackson and Coraline are better books than Crispin. I read books better than this. And they are terrible books. Avi, I am dissapointed in this book. No mental pictures to match Crispins personality. I still have lots questions exploding in my brain! Like, WHY DID CRISPIN RUN AWAY THE FIRST TIME? WHY DIDNT HE LISTEN? Those are only some of the questions I have. So, readers, I suggest you DON'T read this book. Avi, I am sorry. But try harder next time. I might still read your boks. But not this ine. Sorry. Once again, Avi.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    To below

    What is Yolo

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Hf

    Fghdeczfg

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Suckish book

    This book was the worst book i hateeit with all my heart. Except Bear. Dont ever reas it in your life . Read walk two moons

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 208 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11