Customer Reviews for

Crossed (Matched Trilogy Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 1404 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(784)

4 Star

(308)

3 Star

(166)

2 Star

(58)

1 Star

(88)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

102 out of 120 people found this review helpful.

High Expectations

When I read Matched it kind of reminded me of a mix between The Giver and the Hunger Games but it still had its own identity. Can't wait for this book!!!

posted by B-Sandra on April 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

57 out of 123 people found this review helpful.

Umm

Is this book age aproppiate??? Im 12

posted by 10550976 on January 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1408 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 71
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    High Expectations

    When I read Matched it kind of reminded me of a mix between The Giver and the Hunger Games but it still had its own identity. Can't wait for this book!!!

    102 out of 120 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    loved it

    I enjoyed reading this novel. I loved the characters, the plot. it was hard to put down.

    80 out of 97 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Umm

    Is this book age aproppiate??? Im 12

    57 out of 123 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    Cant wait!!

    Matched was very epic. It reminded me of Lois Lowry's The Giver, they both had a dictatorship like "Society". When I finished Matched , I was heartbroken and then started searching for a sequel. Now that there is for sure going to be one, I am soooo happy. CANT WAIT FOR IT!!!!

    42 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    it will be epic!!!

    I read the first book Matched and it was like love at first read! i LOVED it! It was a breath of relief although it resembled the hunger games a bit too much still I have very high standards for a good book and well let's see if it meets it! I would definitely recommend it!

    30 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Worth it.

    I was surprised at how good Matched was, its not like the Hunger Games (many books involve a dictator like society and love triangle). Its one of those books that don't have you on the edge of your seat throughout the book but once your done its like WHOA! THAT WAS AWESOME! So I do highly recommend the book, i personally am dying for Crossed to become available!

    28 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2011

    Cant wait!!!!!!!!

    I absolutly loved matched!! I have been so anxious for the next book to come out!! I really want to know who she will end up with....i still have hopes for Xander..:)

    22 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    can't wait

    I love the matched trilogy series. I have read all books, loved them and can't wait to read the next

    17 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Disappointment!

    I read Matched and actually thought it was a very descent book, I even reccommended it to a few friends. So of course when Crossed came out I got it. Wow! Was I in for such dissapointment! It had a poor plot, weak characters, and failed to keep my attention at all! Espicially since it had such a similar plot to a lot of books out right now (Hunger Games, Maze Runner, Delirium, ect.) It failed to stick out. So overall had a great potential but fizzled out, so I would not reccommend reading it unless the only other book you have to read is Ethan Frome!

    16 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    Great Book

    I am enjoying the Matched Series by Ally Condie. The second book has not disappointed on the continuation of Cassia's journey to find her true match.

    13 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    A must read

    Read Matched extremely good book. but then again im sorta into the whole forbidden love thing. but even if u rnt then give it a try its worth it

    12 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Crossed.

    This book did not live up to my expectations.Halfway through the book I was so disappointed and was waiting to see when cassia would finally meet ky again. Their reunion was a joke to say the least.

    11 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    So Annoying

    The first book was OK to say the least—NOT mindblowing in ANY way. There was not too much going on, and most of the book seemed like a long, dragged out sentence.
    The book was too short and too long to sustain the story. Not that there was much of it.

    Crossed is even worse.

    I still can't wrap my mind around the fact that Cassie & Ky are actual human beings. They are SO dramatic and unrealistic about EVERYTHING.

    Honestly I felt like this series was a cheap rip off from THE GIVER (with some added romance)—I mean, seriously, pills for brainwashing? (The Giver & Brave New World)

    I HATED this book. C & K, please get over yourselves...

    9 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    The Bawdy Book Blog Reviews

    Crossed is the second in the Matched series by Ally Condie. In Crossed, Cassia has been taken to a camp, where she labors each day for the Society and secretly plots a way to find Ky. She’s no longer the girl excited for her Matched Ceremony, just another sheep in the herd; she’s determined to find him, at almost any cost.

    I really liked Matched a lot, even though it has less action than most other books in the dystopian genre. There is a particular sinister undercurrent to the Society that I enjoyed immensely. Crossed didn’t have as much of that, because hey, you already know they’re sinister so the cat’s out of the bag, right? Crossed becomes about Cassia trying to reach Ky, wherever he is, and also trying to leave the Society. There is no Pleasantville-esque landscape; the world around her is rough and tumble, barren and dry. But what I found really scary is not only what the Society controlled within their walls, but what they controlled outside as well. Just how far are they willing to go to control their people? You’ll have to read to find out, but it’s kind of crazy.

    Cassia and Ky have been sent to camps where bombs are dropped by the “Enemy” nightly and they have to act like decoy villagers. I have a feeling there is no Enemy; these are all anomalies and abberations, the Society doesn’t care about them!

    Ally Condie builds on her characters throughout Crossed. Cassia is much stronger than she was in Matched, but she also doesn’t feel so front and center either. A lot of that has to do with the dual-perspective, because Crossed is written in first-person, from both Cassia AND Ky’s point of view. I’ve never been a fan of that, although it was done pretty elegantly in Crossed. I still had a hard time figuring out whose chapter it was though, because I would miss their name at the beginning of it and have to flip back. But I digress. As I was saying, before I so rudely interrupted myself with my own tangent, Cassia grows as a character throughout Crossed and I enjoyed that. Gone is the little sheep who believes whatever anyone tells her and in place of that is a strong woman, willing to fight for what she believes in.
    We really get to know Ky in Crossed in a way we never did in Matched. He is such a deep character, much deeper than originally portrayed and he has been faced with such tragedy…we finally get to know his story. I really like him.
    Xander is SUCH a surprise. I really love Xander. For the second time ever, I have no idea who I want a character to end up with in a love triangle – Ky or Xander? Who do you think it should be?
    Condie gives us other characters that are also very fascinating: Vick and Indie were my two favorites. Vick was a hard character to “read” but in the end, I understood him very well. Indie was also very hard to “read” and seemed as though she had her own agenda. I had a hard time figuring out if she had ulterior motives or if she was genuine. I went back and forth on her very often. Condie details them both richly.
    So yes, while Crossed wasn’t as good as Matched, it is still quite entertaining. I’m really hoping for a lot of action in the last book, especially considering where Crossed takes us. I had a hard time putting it down and I definitely recommend it to any fan of Matched or the dystopian genre.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    Just started cant wait !!!!!!

    I just got it and cant stop reading it very good dont hesate read it but read matcged first or you would not get it .....





    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    I CANT WAIT!

    I am seriously going to start counting down the days until this book comes out. i loved the first book and the emotion really stuck with me. The romance and suspense always kept me reading and i couldnt put it down. Ally Condie.. I love you!

    8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Bland

    I've read both Crossed & Matched now. Crossed was a better book, but both were bland. I don't find myself caring about the characters. Ky and Cassia are so similar in voice I had to flip back to see which character narrated. This has elements of Twilight & The Hunger Games, but I wish it had something of it's own. The writing is almost stream of conscious, would love some more careful prose.

    7 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Would not recomend (at all)

    Matched was decent, at the very least. I even recomended it to a couple of friends. However, Crossed fell flat on its face. What ever happened to the seemingly "perfect" Ky? He was replaced with a carbon copy of Edward Cullen. :(

    Crossed was rather dry in plot, with little action. Not imppressed, Ally Condie. Oh well, I guess I am too used to my Divergent, Gone, and Maze Runner.

    Recommened for - 12 and up, people who are not action fans but want a dystopian book

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Drags on 2

    I wih she would just get over Ky, marry Xander, and get on with life. I am not going to read the 3rd book.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Not so Much

    The First Book was a winner! This one not so much

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1408 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 71