BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Crossfire

Average Rating 4
( 85 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

terrific character driven suspense thriller

After losing his foot in an Afghan fire fight, Captain Tom Forsythe has returned to the States to recover and learn to use his prosthesis. With no place to go, he returns to his mother's Kauri Horse Stables in Berkshire, England. At seventeen, tired of the fights with...
After losing his foot in an Afghan fire fight, Captain Tom Forsythe has returned to the States to recover and learn to use his prosthesis. With no place to go, he returns to his mother's Kauri Horse Stables in Berkshire, England. At seventeen, tired of the fights with his stepfather, he left to go to war. Now he learns his family is concealing something from him.

He soon learns someone is blackmailing his mother to the tune of 2000 pounds a week and they also lost a fortune in a sham hedge fund recommended by their accountant Roderick Ward who was found drowned; officially ruled an accident. What hurts Tom's mom the most is that her extortionist is forcing her to make sure her horses lose races. Tom investigates, but is kidnapped and left hanging in an abandoned warehouse. He escapes, vowing to take down the killers and others involved in harming him and his mom.

This father and son team has proven to be as successful writing entertaining mystery readers as Dick Francis did when he rode solo (with his late wife as his researcher). The story line is driven by the hero who lost a limb in the Afghan war, but though depressed refuses to allow his trauma from helping his mom out of her predicament. With homage to Dick Francis who goes out a winner as he passed away a few months ago, Crossfire is a terrific character driven suspense thriller.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on June 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

horrible

I wish I could say this is a good book but it is so awful compared to all Dick Francis's earlier books that I would highly recommend not buying it. If you feel compelled to read it go to the library and save yourself the money. It is not a keeper if you are a dyed-in-th...
I wish I could say this is a good book but it is so awful compared to all Dick Francis's earlier books that I would highly recommend not buying it. If you feel compelled to read it go to the library and save yourself the money. It is not a keeper if you are a dyed-in-the-wool Dick Francis fan like I am.

posted by tadaUT on December 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted June 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    terrific character driven suspense thriller

    After losing his foot in an Afghan fire fight, Captain Tom Forsythe has returned to the States to recover and learn to use his prosthesis. With no place to go, he returns to his mother's Kauri Horse Stables in Berkshire, England. At seventeen, tired of the fights with his stepfather, he left to go to war. Now he learns his family is concealing something from him.

    He soon learns someone is blackmailing his mother to the tune of 2000 pounds a week and they also lost a fortune in a sham hedge fund recommended by their accountant Roderick Ward who was found drowned; officially ruled an accident. What hurts Tom's mom the most is that her extortionist is forcing her to make sure her horses lose races. Tom investigates, but is kidnapped and left hanging in an abandoned warehouse. He escapes, vowing to take down the killers and others involved in harming him and his mom.

    This father and son team has proven to be as successful writing entertaining mystery readers as Dick Francis did when he rode solo (with his late wife as his researcher). The story line is driven by the hero who lost a limb in the Afghan war, but though depressed refuses to allow his trauma from helping his mom out of her predicament. With homage to Dick Francis who goes out a winner as he passed away a few months ago, Crossfire is a terrific character driven suspense thriller.

    Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2010

    Vintage Francis!

    I got this book one day, and had it finished by the next. I truly enjoyed it, and it was similar in style and quality to the other Francis novels. Unlike other mysteries I own, I read the Francis ones over and over again as I enjoy them so much. I highly recommend this novel to those who are mystery lovers.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    Best Author

    Dick Francis and Lee Child are the only authors that I would buy in hard back as soon as it came out without even reading what it was about. I have not only read every one of his books, I have owned them. If you have never read a Dick Francis book, I highly recommend them. This is not the best of his books but it is still very good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2010

    Not the best

    There are flashes of Dick Francis in this book but they are few. As one other reviewer said, the scene with Tom hanging in a stable is from a previous book. Very disappointing. this book is kong on personal and physical suffering and short on horses, races, and plot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2010

    horrible

    I wish I could say this is a good book but it is so awful compared to all Dick Francis's earlier books that I would highly recommend not buying it. If you feel compelled to read it go to the library and save yourself the money. It is not a keeper if you are a dyed-in-the-wool Dick Francis fan like I am.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Thoroughly enjoyed it!

    Felix has apparently taken after his father, Dick Francis, in all the best ways. A really good, fast read. I'll be getting more of his.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    excellent reading!

    Another great book by the authors. Enjoyed it very much and highly recommend.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    Francis never lets you down.

    A well researched thoroughly enjoyabe read. I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2010

    Perhaps The Last Dick Francis

    I have loved Dick Francis since my grandmother gave me a copy of Reflex back in the early eighties. He is the only author who's books I have re-read in any significant number. Fortunately, he is back for Crossfire. Unfortunately, this reads like a copy of Smokescreen. I enjoyed this much better than Silks, but not as much as Dead Heat. With a body of work like Francis' that balances a steady formula with individual elements, it's important that those elements are engaging enough to carry the rest, and the transplanted, sullen military lead here does not have the emotional depth or connection to other characters to really carry this one off. Elements like the prosthesis and entrapment have already appeared elsewhere and are not significantly fresh here. This is not to say that there is no redeeming quality to the book, nor that fans will not enjoy the ride as I did, but you can tell that the ride is middle-of-the-pack and faltering down the stretch rather than vital with everything it needs to win, or at least require a photo at the finish. If you haven't read the great ones already, choose any of the following to make you a Francis convert: Break In & Bolt, Odds Against, Whip Hand, Come To Grief, Proof or In The Frame.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5