Customer Reviews for

The Crossing (Border Trilogy Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

no words to describe it

Even thought i can not really understand a single word of spanish, just to simply read and know the tone of the words you can understand the book. I am not worried what others think about having to read half a dozen pages in spanish, you simply know what is being said b...
Even thought i can not really understand a single word of spanish, just to simply read and know the tone of the words you can understand the book. I am not worried what others think about having to read half a dozen pages in spanish, you simply know what is being said by the tone. This really is another great American Classic. IMO it will go down in American Literature as one of the true greats.

posted by Anonymous on April 17, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Western Novel Marred By Spanish Dialogue & Unneeded Monologues

In ¿The Crossing¿, Cormac McCarthy evokes the same vanishing ranch culture of the American southwest and northern Mexico as in his ¿All the Pretty Horses¿. In this case, it is set in the late 1930s when the horse-based life is still alive, but is beginning to be repla...
In ¿The Crossing¿, Cormac McCarthy evokes the same vanishing ranch culture of the American southwest and northern Mexico as in his ¿All the Pretty Horses¿. In this case, it is set in the late 1930s when the horse-based life is still alive, but is beginning to be replaced by a more modern, automobile-based way of life. McCarthy describes three difficult, physical, dangerous trips into Mexico by Billy Parham and, in one case, with his brother Boyd. The brothers depend on themselves and their knowledge of horses, guns, and how to live off the land in dealing with horse thieves and robbers in a Mexico that is more lawless than the United States. McCarthy reveals a way of life that is much more intense and physically demanding than our sheltered modern life. However, there are two negatives that lower my rating of this book. First, McCarthy makes extensive use of Spanish dialogue throughout the book without providing any English translations. Secondly, the book contains two long (approximately 20 pages each) monologues, one by a hermit priest and one by the wife of a blind soldier, who lost his sight in the Mexican revolution. With these monologues, McCarthy seems to be trying to add a philosophical dimension to the novel (e.g., about God, human suffering, chance in life, blindness and death), but both monologues are tiresome and not well integrated into the novel.

posted by Anonymous on December 1, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2005

    Great Western Novel Marred By Spanish Dialogue & Unneeded Monologues

    In ¿The Crossing¿, Cormac McCarthy evokes the same vanishing ranch culture of the American southwest and northern Mexico as in his ¿All the Pretty Horses¿. In this case, it is set in the late 1930s when the horse-based life is still alive, but is beginning to be replaced by a more modern, automobile-based way of life. McCarthy describes three difficult, physical, dangerous trips into Mexico by Billy Parham and, in one case, with his brother Boyd. The brothers depend on themselves and their knowledge of horses, guns, and how to live off the land in dealing with horse thieves and robbers in a Mexico that is more lawless than the United States. McCarthy reveals a way of life that is much more intense and physically demanding than our sheltered modern life. However, there are two negatives that lower my rating of this book. First, McCarthy makes extensive use of Spanish dialogue throughout the book without providing any English translations. Secondly, the book contains two long (approximately 20 pages each) monologues, one by a hermit priest and one by the wife of a blind soldier, who lost his sight in the Mexican revolution. With these monologues, McCarthy seems to be trying to add a philosophical dimension to the novel (e.g., about God, human suffering, chance in life, blindness and death), but both monologues are tiresome and not well integrated into the novel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2005

    no words to describe it

    Even thought i can not really understand a single word of spanish, just to simply read and know the tone of the words you can understand the book. I am not worried what others think about having to read half a dozen pages in spanish, you simply know what is being said by the tone. This really is another great American Classic. IMO it will go down in American Literature as one of the true greats.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2002

    Get a dictionary

    If the Spanish bothers you that much, invest in a five dollar espagnol/anglais dictionary. Its worth it! Parham's journey is a long harrowing trek of a boy's voyage of self discovery into becoming a man. It takes you away and you'll want to go back again soon after its done; its a sweet pain that you'll learn to cherish.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Isis

    *Sits down gracefully with her new purple hoodie fitting comfortably around her white body* "hello," she calls, "Aurora? You here?" *She puts in her earbuds and waits, her bright green eyes roving for the butterfly*

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2002

    LOVED THIS ONE!!

    Although there is hardly any conversation in this book, I was still captivated by the story of young Billy Parham and his brother, Boyd. McCarthy paints quite a picture of their rough life in a desolate, harsh land. The ending was so sad! If you like this book, you need to read THE CITIES OF THE PLAIN by the same author. It picks up when Billy is 27 years old and it has a lot more conversation and characters in it. I will highly recommend either of these books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 1999

    No Espanol ...

    After reading'All the Pretty Horses'(4 1/2stars) I was anxious to read this book. However, after the first 75 pages I knew this was not good.For starters I know little Espanol. McCarthy drolls on and on having his main character go from one location to another with no purpose but to paint scenery and mood with unfamilar and foreign words.It's as if he is trying too hard to have this character stumble into a situation where he might think, say or do something captivating,memorable or endearing. I needed two dictionaries,one English AND one Spanish to drudge through.There are too many unrecognizable words which made it more burdensome. Boring, boring, boring. I gave it a sympathy read only because I liked the first book and had intended to read 'Cities...' next(now I'm unsure). I really hoped the story would pick up or start to move unfortunately for me it didn't and I wasted my time.I learned some Spanish words: aburrido,pesado

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    McCarthy has written better works.  While I really like his clea

    McCarthy has written better works.  While I really like his clean prose, the vulgar language is a turn-off at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Heather the zebra

    Ummmm it says no results...

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Hulk's 3rd

    SSSSSSSSMMMMMMMAAAAAAASSSSSSSSSSHHHHHHHHHHHH

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Flare

    *walks in and sits down and waits for auroa*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Keesha the cat

    Um ....aurora? I need a house here

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Jacob

    *goes flying above heather* uhhh... help me *suddenly colaspes

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Crystal the polar bear

    I need a house

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Guthix

    *kills himself and dies*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Aurora to all

    Umm. Agro all results except result 2.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    If you read All The Pretty Horses

    Good read following All The Pretty Horses

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    The Crossing As Wuz

    A fifth crossing for me, although this one undertaken in exceptional summer heat and in the company of bad tequila, likely as close to ideal as McCarthy intended it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2009

    Not very interesting

    This classic McCarthy book is considered one of his best and most thrilling.....and i don't know why. In every page cormac continues to show that lackluster abd uniterested writing style he uses by seamlessly making the book duller and less exiting by the minute. In each chapter, there has never been more unrelated and boring material put to gether in such a shoddy fasion. His classic idea of no character discription is back in force, and the reading itself wouldn't challenge a first grader. This time consuming book doesn't allow the reader to walk away with any besides a feeling of lost time in their lives.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2009

    triste viaje (sorrowful journey)

    Well written trek consistently balanced between sorrow and utter despair. The two very long monologues within the story unfortunately are not well integrated and do not add to the novel. <BR/><BR/>The story seems to leave you without closure (as did " All the pretty horses") but comes together with the third novel of the trilogy. This is old western version of Lord of the Rings but without true heros.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2001

    the second best book ever

    this book is a languorous, slow buring treat, the finest McCarthy has ever written

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3