Customer Reviews for

Crossing Jordan

Average Rating 5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    I love crossing jorden!!

    Crossing jorden is awsome!!!!
    I've only watched the show and it is awsome!!!!!!!!!
    Thank you for the awsome show!!!!!!! : )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2010

    Info

    The author of this came to my school today even though I never read her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Cana Rensberger for TeensReadToo.com

    "Good fences make good neighbors." That's what Cass's dad said when he found out a black family was moving in next door. Cass even helped him build the fence. But as the new neighbors moved in, Cass couldn't help but be curious. Watching through a peephole in the fence, Cass's blue eye found a brown eye staring back at her. <BR/><BR/>Cass asked Jemmie, "Do you like to run?" <BR/><BR/>Jemmie responded, "Run? Girl, I don't run, I fly. Can't nobody beat me." <BR/><BR/>The race was on. They both sneaked out of their homes the next morning to find out who was fastest, and instead found "Chocolate Milk." <BR/><BR/>This is the story of their friendship. It's also a story of crossing boundaries, change, and eventual acceptance. Theirs is a natural friendship, a friendship that's tried by the bigotry of Cass's dad, and the stubbornness of Jemmie's mother. It takes the misfortunes of a tiny baby for the parents to begin tearing down their mental fences. <BR/><BR/>Adrian Fogelin does a beautiful job of portraying tenuous relationships that exist among people trying to understand cultures different from their own, The girls are sweet and fun; their dialogue is well-written, immersing the reader in the long, hot, dog days of summer in Tallahassee, Florida. <BR/><BR/>CROSSING JORDAN leaves the reader with hope for future generations, that they will be inspired to appreciate each other, just as Cass and Jemmie were inspired to call themselves Chocolate Milk. This is the first book of Adrian Fogelin's that I've read, and I'm sure I'll be looking for more of her titles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2006

    Crossign Jordan's review

    Crossing jordan is about two young girls who are two diffrent races. They love to run. They have many obstacles that they have to go through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2005

    Don't miss out on this Book!!!

    Two Girls explore what it means to be friends in spite of grown ups' prejudice. These girls are well written characters other kids can relate to. It gives racism a face and talks about it without being 'Preachy¿. It would be a great book to start a discussion about prejudice of any kind and how it affects the person with the prejudice as well as the person on the receiving end. They are also full of local color about the real Florida (not Orlando or Miami Beach)!! My son's 4-5 grade teacher read this book to the class and you could have heard a pin drop as she read it aloud! The kids begged her to read more! My son refused to leave early because he would have missed a chapter of 'Crossing Jordan¿. This author really knows kids and what hooks them into a story. I would recommend any of her books, especially the others in the series: 'Crossing Jordan', 'Anna Casey's Place in the World', and 'My Brother's Hero'. They make great read alouds too. This author takes on issues and wraps them in a story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2004

    Great Book

    This book was really cool because it's showing younger people not to be prejudice towards others. I thought the author did a good job overall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2003

    Childrens Book

    This excellent middle-grade novel shows Cass Bodine spying on the new neighbors through a knothole. She hears the mother say, 'I'm sorry. I can't love a bunch of crackers who put up a fence as soon as they hear a black family is moving in next door.' But Cass and Jemmie soon meet. Even better, they discover they're the same age, twelve, and both are 'way better than average runners.' They keep reading Jane Eyre together and running track in the early mornings, meetings that must be kept secret, except from Nana Grace, Jemmie's grandmother. She tells them about the Civil Rights movement, lets them know 'crossing Jordan' was code in slave times for reaching freedom. Adrian Fogelin's characters are spunky and competitive, and her portraits of the prejudiced families are drawn with a loving hand--they're good folks who accept equal rights in theory without knowing how to put them into practice. The incidents chosen to illustrate prejudice's myriad subtleties may evoke a jolt of recognition. Compliments to Fogelin for a smoothly written story that will keep kids good company as they struggle to excel as runners or make friends across racial lines. 2000, Peachtree Publishers, Ages 9 to 13, $14.95. Reviewer: Nancy Tilly

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2003

    A Must Read by One & All

    My teacher-daughter-in-law brought me the book from her school library. I couldn't put it down! A wonderful story which I hope will be read by people of any age, living north or south; east or west.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2002

    this book was the best book i ever read !!!!!!

    This book was outstanding. I have read alot of books and this is 1 of my favorites. It is an awesome book for 11-13 yr. olds. If you dont read this book your missin out on alot of fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2002

    Best book you will ever read!!!

    This book shows a true friendship. Even though they were forbidden by racism. This is a highly reccomended book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2000

    Enjoyable book on important topical issue

    Should be a required reading book for children. Easy to relate to and enjoyable to read. First book I've read for children that dealt with race issues in a straightforward manner without being either 'preachy' or 'tiptoeing around' the issue. Wonderful illustration of how we can bond with others based on common interests not shade of skin, and how we still yet have far to go.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1