Customer Reviews for

Crossing Oceans

Average Rating 4.5
( 221 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(134)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

A well written poignant weeper

Following the death of her mother, a pregnancy in which her lover David Preston dumped her without knowing she was carrying and a fight with her father, Jenny Lucas left Tulleytown, North Carolina vowing to never return. Six years later, she and her daughter Isabella h...
Following the death of her mother, a pregnancy in which her lover David Preston dumped her without knowing she was carrying and a fight with her father, Jenny Lucas left Tulleytown, North Carolina vowing to never return. Six years later, she and her daughter Isabella have come home. Her oxygen carrying Mama Peg welcomes her granddaughter and great-granddaughter while her daddy remains hurt and distant until Jenny explains she is dying from cancer just like her mom though a different form of the killer.

Jenny seeks a caretaker for her child as she knows Mama Peg is not healthy enough and her dad failed her. She considers David, but when she goes to tell him he is a father, he is nasty. Ironically his wife Lindsay is nice. Her high school peer Craig Allen who rents a loft is kind to mother and daughter. However, the clock is running out on Jenny and she must decide what is best for her beloved daughter between her father and her former lover; both who failed her when she grieved her mom's death at a time when she needed each of them; she fears they will do again but this time she cannot clean up the mess.

The key to this well written poignant weeper is no miracle occurs saving Jenny, but the right person is there for Isabella if the dying mom can get through the pain of her past to see the future as her dad believes David's dad's misdiagnosed his wife's illness leading to her death. Character driven with a powerful ensemble cast supporting Jenny, readers will appreciate the angst filling an ocean as Jenny worries who will raise Isabella once she dies.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on April 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

!

A possible good book was ruined once again by none other than harriet klausner and her cliff note book report revealing every detail. Not only her we have other rude posters revealing everything about the book. Why do you ppl do that? I know harriet klausner does it to ...
A possible good book was ruined once again by none other than harriet klausner and her cliff note book report revealing every detail. Not only her we have other rude posters revealing everything about the book. Why do you ppl do that? I know harriet klausner does it to feed her massive ego, but why do the rest of you do it? Do you not understand that we would like to read it for ourselves and not already knoe what happens? Please stop ruining the books for other readers. Have some consideration for others.

posted by 8888649 on February 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 223 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    !

    A possible good book was ruined once again by none other than harriet klausner and her cliff note book report revealing every detail. Not only her we have other rude posters revealing everything about the book. Why do you ppl do that? I know harriet klausner does it to feed her massive ego, but why do the rest of you do it? Do you not understand that we would like to read it for ourselves and not already knoe what happens? Please stop ruining the books for other readers. Have some consideration for others.

    18 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A well written poignant weeper

    Following the death of her mother, a pregnancy in which her lover David Preston dumped her without knowing she was carrying and a fight with her father, Jenny Lucas left Tulleytown, North Carolina vowing to never return. Six years later, she and her daughter Isabella have come home. Her oxygen carrying Mama Peg welcomes her granddaughter and great-granddaughter while her daddy remains hurt and distant until Jenny explains she is dying from cancer just like her mom though a different form of the killer.

    Jenny seeks a caretaker for her child as she knows Mama Peg is not healthy enough and her dad failed her. She considers David, but when she goes to tell him he is a father, he is nasty. Ironically his wife Lindsay is nice. Her high school peer Craig Allen who rents a loft is kind to mother and daughter. However, the clock is running out on Jenny and she must decide what is best for her beloved daughter between her father and her former lover; both who failed her when she grieved her mom's death at a time when she needed each of them; she fears they will do again but this time she cannot clean up the mess.

    The key to this well written poignant weeper is no miracle occurs saving Jenny, but the right person is there for Isabella if the dying mom can get through the pain of her past to see the future as her dad believes David's dad's misdiagnosed his wife's illness leading to her death. Character driven with a powerful ensemble cast supporting Jenny, readers will appreciate the angst filling an ocean as Jenny worries who will raise Isabella once she dies.

    Harriet Klausner

    14 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2010

    What a great book

    This is an author I had never read before. I really enjoyed the book. It is sad and it did make me cry and made me angry but well worth reading!!!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2010

    need a good cry? try this weepy story

    well written weepy Christian romance/family love story. Good light reading

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2010

    Very realistic and wonderful!

    I really enjoyed how this writer made you feel like the main character was in fact a real person. Her thoughts and feelings were very realistic and normal. At times I would think she (main character) is awful for thinking that and then I would realize I too have had thoughts like that. I think at times we all have thoughts that are not nice and this book makes you feel normal. I believed every character in this book and could not put this book down. It is definitely an emotional roller coaster and worth every smile and tear.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Once in a lifetime quality!

    When I turned the last page and sat back in my chair, the only word I could think of to describe this book is.wow. Heartrenching, gripping, can't-put-it-down kind of story that as a reader makes my heart glad to have the chance to read this book. It has a once in a life time quality to it that will make this story a best seller. It already is. It has that great of an impact.
    With a reminiscence of Nicholas Spark's A Walk to Remember, CROSSING OCEANS is the story of a young mother dying of cancer and the journey she must take to prepare her five year old daughter. You might already be throwing the idea of this book out, right? Too depressing. This is the farthest thing from the truth. Jenny has a sense of humor and a way of looking at the world that brings the reader into the middle of the story with her. By the first couple of chapters my heart was already wrenching for her as she slowly gave up her worldly existence. But there is hope in this story, a hope that cannot be found in secular fiction because of the hope in Christ. This book goes beyond mere life and death, this book taps into the reader's emotions. I felt anger, sadness, joy, the full gauntlet in this well written and poignant novel. This is one book that will stick with me for years to come.
    If there is one book you read this year, this needs to be it. It will change the way you look at all other books and the life you live, making each moment count.for Christ.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Book With Take-Home Value

    This book came highly recommended to me and I was not disappointed. This book changed me.

    From the very first line I was intrigued. I wanted to know more about this woman. Why did she say she didn't have a decent relationship with her dad? I had to keep reading to find out.

    I appreciated Jenny's love for her small daughter, for her grandmother. I hurt for her when she remembered how she fell in love with Isabella's father, thinking he felt the same. I hurt for her when she revealed how he had broken off with her before she could tell him he would soon be a father.

    Gina Holmes has written a compelling book and her lead, Jenny Lucas is a strong woman. I admire her and wish to have the same strength of character.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2012

    Heartwrenching

    This book absolutely dug down into my soul. Beautiful story about love, strength, family, and faith.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    I am absolutely NOT a crier. This beautifully written story, obv

    I am absolutely NOT a crier. This beautifully written story, obviously written by a loving real-life mom, had me in tears more than once. It deals sensitively with issues involving our mortality and what thoughts we leave with our children.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    New favorite author!

    Great book! Couldn't put it down!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    This book made me both laugh and cry. It was amazing. It's SO to

    This book made me both laugh and cry. It was amazing. It's SO touching! Gina Holmes does an excellent job of helping the reader feel connected to the characters in the story. This is one of my new favorite reads.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    Fantastic story!

    This story reminded me of the movie Beaches with Bette Midler. AN ALL TIME FAVORITE MOVIE! This book was a Fantastic read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2010

    Crossing Oceans

    Crossing Oceans - Review by Martha A. Cheves, Author of Stir, Laugh, Repeat

    'Remember that night in the car, David? I started to tell you, but you broke up with me first. You said things could never work for us. You told me our fathers would never get along. You told me you didn't share my desire for having a family. How could I tell you you were going to be a father right after you said you never wanted children? When she was born, I called you from the hospital as I held her in my arms. I couldn't wait to show you what we'd created, but your answering machine picked up and I heard "David and Lindsey Preston aren't here to take your call." I didn't know you'd gotten married. It had been less than a years since we broke up. You wouldn't believe the shock I felt, the betrayal, the pain. I didn't want to cause trouble for you. I couldn't..'

    Jenny Lucas is the Prodigal Daughter returning home after walking away six years ago. David Preston had thrown her away when she needed him the most. When she was pregnant with their daughter Isabella. Now she's bringing her daughter home to meet the family she's never met, including her father. But Jenny isn't renewing the relationship with her own father as well as David for old times' sake. She's doing it out of necessity. She must find a home for Bella because she is dying with cancer.

    The Lucas', as well as the Preston family, have a lot of baggage to overcome. Jenny's dad insists that David's father killed her mother by misdiagnosing her illness. And her death is something that he's never been able to get over making it difficult for him to get close to Jenny. So, hating the Preston family as much as he does, he insists that Bella should be raised by him. David, as well as his family, have to overcome the fact that Jenny has done something that he and his wife Lindsey haven't been able to. She has given him a child, which has made him determined to have full custody of Isabella no matter what it takes. Bella, on the other hand, has to learn to give to others something she has only had to share with her mother. love. And while wading through these obstacles, everyone has to accept Jenny's dying. Can they all put aside their differences and help Jenny and Bella make their transitions as comfortably and positive as possible?

    I've never read a book quite as touching as Crossing Oceans. The characters are all written very strongly. Their courage, and sometimes lack of courage, is something that I think will stay with me for a long time in hopes that if I'm ever put into either of their positions, I can remember their strength exposed in Crossing Oceans It is one beautiful book.

    Tyndal House Publishers
    2010
    390 Pages
    ISBN# 978-1-4143-3305-2


    Review Stir, Laugh, Repeat at Amazon.com Stir, Laugh, Repeat

    Labels: Book Reviews, Cancer, cookbooks, Crossing Oceans, Family, garlic, Gina Holmes, Martha A Cheves, Spiced Egg Salad and Spinach, Stir Laugh Repeat

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    This book was wonderful.  It cannot be read without shedding tea

    This book was wonderful.  It cannot be read without shedding tears on numerous occasions.  So heartfelt and touching.  
    Just another good read to prove how powerful the Lord can be in someone's life if only they will allow Him to take control.
      

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    A book you will never forget!!!

    This was an amazing read. I loved this book. The author pulled you in from the beginning. The characters were believable. I was touched by the healing, joy, sadness and courage of everyone. It is a book I will read again and again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    I'd give it more stars if I could................

    Follow a dying mother as she has to make difficult decisions................grabbed me from the start and never let go! You may think this would be a sad book, and at times it is, but the ending makes it all worth the read! Get it and try it for yourself!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2013

    This is a MUST read

    This is one of the best books I have read in a long time. It was so heartwaring and I admit I cried in the end which I very seldon do. Such a GREAT story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    This book will touch your soul.

    Be prepared for every emotion, but I recommend this for anyone who experienced a recent loss as I did. It tears you up and comforts you at the same time. I expect to read this book again and again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2013

    Highly Recommend this book.

    What would you do if you were dying and where a single Mom of a 5 year old, living in the city with no real family/friends. Jenny Lucas swore she'd never go home again. Being a single Mom changes Jenny's view of returning home to her North Carolina town to face the ghosts she left behind. Back in that home town are the memories of Jenny mom dying, her grandmother who is on oxygen, her father who is angry over the death of his wife and then to face the married father (and his wife) of daughter Isabella. It is in the what would you do where all are trying their best for Isabella's sake, but Isabella has a few thoughts of her own she displays in different outlets. Enjoyed the story has it unfolded and while the end did brings tears, we just never know who are real friends and family are sometimes until we are near the end. Loved this book and highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    MUST READ!!!!!

    I laughed and cried while reading this book.

    The author developed the characters so well that I felt like I was reading a story about a real close friend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 223 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12