Customer Reviews for

The Crossing Places (Ruth Galloway Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Easy to solve but easy to like

While it was fairly easy to identify the killer in The Crossing Places, this was still an enjoyable read. Ruth Galloway, the archeologist accidental detective, and Det Chief Inspector Harry Nelson, the policeman she helps out, are a well-matched pair, each a bit prickl...
While it was fairly easy to identify the killer in The Crossing Places, this was still an enjoyable read. Ruth Galloway, the archeologist accidental detective, and Det Chief Inspector Harry Nelson, the policeman she helps out, are a well-matched pair, each a bit prickly and a bit vulnerable. Elly Griffiths spends time developing their characters without letting this get in the way of the mystery, and Ruth's line of work allows Griffiths to pull in characters whose interests and areas of expertise add to the layers of this novel. She also does a nice job of conveying a sense of the Saltmarsh, where Ruth lives in a small cottage, sometimes uncomfortably close to the elements. If you're looking for an impossible to solve mystery, this is not the novel for you, but if you're looking for something a bit less cozy than Miss Marple but with a main character who shares Miss Marple's backbone and her ability to notice the small details that make all the difference, this might be a good book for you to curl up with.

posted by 3200935 on March 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

First in a series of books featuring Ruth Galloway, a feisty for

First in a series of books featuring Ruth Galloway, a feisty forensic archeologist/teacher who lives on the edge of the marshlands near Norfolk, England.  In ancient mythology, this marshland was sacred because it was a mixture of land and sea. At one time, it was a lan...
First in a series of books featuring Ruth Galloway, a feisty forensic archeologist/teacher who lives on the edge of the marshlands near Norfolk, England.  In ancient mythology, this marshland was sacred because it was a mixture of land and sea. At one time, it was a land mass connecting present day England and Scandinavia. Ancient people's considered it to be sacred, a connection between earth and the afterlife.

The book begins when  a young child goes missing and DCI Harry Nelson fears a connection to a similar missing child from ten years ago. Then the police find child's bones in the marshlands and  Nelson calls on Galloway to determine the age of these bones. Though these turn out to be ancient bones, Nelson and Galloway pair up to try and fine the two present day children because of letters Nelson has been receiving referring to ancient legends and tantalizing references to the first lost child.

Ancient mythology and present day terrors form an intriguing mystery that drives these two characters further and further into dangerous situations.  A deft combination of forensic archeology and present day murder mystery makes this a most compelling read for historical and mystery fans alike.

posted by RonnaL on September 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2010

    Easy to solve but easy to like

    While it was fairly easy to identify the killer in The Crossing Places, this was still an enjoyable read. Ruth Galloway, the archeologist accidental detective, and Det Chief Inspector Harry Nelson, the policeman she helps out, are a well-matched pair, each a bit prickly and a bit vulnerable. Elly Griffiths spends time developing their characters without letting this get in the way of the mystery, and Ruth's line of work allows Griffiths to pull in characters whose interests and areas of expertise add to the layers of this novel. She also does a nice job of conveying a sense of the Saltmarsh, where Ruth lives in a small cottage, sometimes uncomfortably close to the elements. If you're looking for an impossible to solve mystery, this is not the novel for you, but if you're looking for something a bit less cozy than Miss Marple but with a main character who shares Miss Marple's backbone and her ability to notice the small details that make all the difference, this might be a good book for you to curl up with.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Suspenseful!

    I recommend this book to all who love a mystery! Ruth Galloway is a wonderful "investigator" - unusual but practical in many ways. Loved this book, look forward to more by same author, however, there are some times when it drags a bit. Mostly it's very much worth the effort & money.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    Fun New Character

    Wonderful description of salt flats. Lots of interesting archeology. I will look forward to the next book by the author. I like it when a book is well written and actually has new information and words I need to look up.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Hit for Me

    This was an enjoyable read for me. The unique setting and the characters are what made this book for me. The mystery was okay; I pretty much figured out the villain early on, but there were enough red herrings thrown in that I wasn't positive of my belief. Ruth is not a loveable character in demeanor by any means (nor, for that matter, were any of the others), and yet I found myself drawn to her and her world BECAUSE she seemed "real" and flawed. One thing I found annoying was the author's constant reminder that Ruth was a bigger girl. You gave me enough description of her that I got the picture early on, and I felt the constant reminders of her size were unnecessary. So she's not a size 2 -- okay, I get it. Her size (which for most women in the real world is pretty much average) certainly didn't affect the story for me one way or another. I truly enjoyed this book and look forward to Ruth's next adventure.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Riveting and hard to put down!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Good read

    Read this book in about three days. Its a good short crime read. I like the main character Ruth Galloway and am excited to read her next book in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Good book

    Really enjoyed reading this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    For those who like English murder mysteries

    Being English living abroad I seek out murder mysteries that can conjure up the countryside and culture of my birth and this does not dissapoint. Nothing too complex on the plot, which I like. Already into the next in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good stuff!

    Ruth Galloway is likable and sympathetic -- she'd make a great co-worker, or professor. Or friend. The setting is terrific, and the supporting characters are great. The plot is VERY interesting, and suspenseful, and listening to it while driving home in the rain just past midnight resulted in my yelling at Dr. Galloway several times to "Look out!" I'm a huge mystery fan, and I'm glad I found Elly Griffiths.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2015

    If you're looking for a book that includes forensics as a major

    If you're looking for a book that includes forensics as a major plot device (a la Temperance Brennan), this isn't it. But if you want a book with well developed, interesting characters with all their human foibles and relationships who are confronted with a criminal conundrum, this might be your book. Ruth is an academic anthropologist who is drawn into a criminal investigation as a consultant because she is an expert in deciphering bones. The DCI she is working with is a very down to earth hard-to-impress sort. Add a canny observant Druid who pops up at just the right moments, well drawn interesting secondary characters and a suspicious death and you've got an enjoyable, readable and engaging novel. This is that rare book written in present tense and turns into a real page-turner. It was very hard to put down. I've read up to Book 4 and it just gets better. I can't wait to read these as they come out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2014

    these books are so enjoyable...a taste of the unusual and a brea

    these books are so enjoyable...a taste of the unusual and a break from the ordinary...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Ella bio

    Name:Ella<p>Gender:Girl<p>Relation ship status: Single but looking <p>Age:16<p>Description: Wavy dirty blond hair with blue tips green blue eyes 5'9 C-cup bra curvy body<p>personality: Nice smart funny giggly and attactive <p>Theme song: My songs know what you did it the dark(Light em up) by the fall out boys

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Bbbbb

    Bbbbbb

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2