Customer Reviews for

Crossing the Chasm: Marketing and Selling Disruptive Products to Mainstream Customers

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    Best playbook for launching new ideas

    A great book for anyone interested in new ideas, new products, and bringing new things to the world. Though most case studies are framed for high tech, there are great lessons for anyone who wants to build a business from new ideas and products.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2009

    A classic must-read for anybody involved in product strategy for high technology.

    This is a classic must-read for all people involved in product strategy for high-technology. Published in 1991 and updated in 1999, it introduced a very innovative way of how technology is adopted by different segments in the market. The book goes beyond theoretical models and really offers almost hands-on, very systematic (!) approach on what the optimal steps are to market and sell your technology, and this depending on where your product is in the Technology Adoption Life Cycle.

    If you haven't read it yet, don't hesitate any longer. Seriously. If you're short of time (hey - the book is only about 200 pages...) then I suggest you read the summary (free download, google it or check my blog www.techopath.com for the link) from the nice people at Parker Hill Technology - but you will miss out on a great read by doing so.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2004

    Great Book even for software services industry

    Must read for everyone - especially for those who are techy and want to cross the chasm and get into sales & marketing of IT products or services.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2004

    Good book for a technical team ...

    This book helped me in understanding the marketing side of a technical product. The author has done a good job in explaining the marketing strategies and tactics for crossing the 'chasm'- which separates the early market and the mainstream market. As the author talks about 'whole product model', this book will be helpful even for developers (who would help in designing a 'whole product'). This book is not just for marketing specialists but also for all employees whose futures depend on the success of a technical product. I recommend this book very highly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2001

    Helpful Revision of a High-Tech Marketing Classic

    Crossing the Chasm deserves more than five stars for putting 'a vocabulary to a market development problem that has given untold grief to any number of high-tech enterprises.' Crossing the Chasm is the most influential book about high technology in the last 10 years. When I meet with CEOs of the most successful high technology firms, this is the book that they always bring up. What most people do not realize is that Geoffrey Moore did an excellent update of the book in a revised edition in 1999. If you liked the original, you will like the revision even more. It contains many better and more up-top-date examples, and explores several new ways that companies have crossed the chasm that he had not yet observed in 1991 when the original came out (such as 'piggybacking,' the way that Lotus 1-2-3 built from VisiCalc's initial success). If you plan to work or invest in any high technology companies, you owe it to yourself to read and understand this book. The understanding won't be hard, because the material is clear and well articulated. The book's focus is on a well-known psychological trait (referred to as Social Proof in Influence by Robert Cialdini). There is a potential delay in people using new things 'based on a tendency of pragmatic people to adopt new technology when they see other people like them doing the same.' As a result, companies must concentrate on cracking the right initial markets in a segmented way to get lots of references and a bandwagon effect going. One market segment will often influence the next one. Crossing the Chasm is all about how to select and attack the right segments. Many companies fail because innovators and early adopters are very interested in new technology and opportunities to create setrategic breakthroughs based on technology. As a result, these customers are not very demanding how easy it is to use the new technology. To cross the chasm, these companies must primarily appeal to the 'Early Majority' of pragmatists who want the whole solution to work without having to be assembled by them and to enhance their productivity right away. If you wait too long to commercialize the product or service in this way, you will see your sales shrivel after a fast start with the innovators and early adopters. The next group you must appeal to are the Late Majority, who want to wait until you are the new standard and these people are very price sensitive. Many U.S. high technology companies also fail to make the transitions needed to satisfy this large part of the market (usually one-third of demand). The final group is technology adverse, and simply hopes you will go away (the Laggards). The book describes its principles in terms of D-Day. While that metaphor is apt, I wonder how well people under 35 know D-Day. In the next revision, I suggest that Desert Storm or some more recent metaphor be exchanged for this one. The book's key weakness is that it tries to homogenize high technology markets too much. Rather than present this segmentation as immutable, it would have been a good idea to provide ways to test the form of the psychological attitudes that a given company will face. The sections on how to do scenario thinking about potential segments to serve first are the best parts of the book. Be sure you do these steps. That's where most of the book's value will come for you. Otherwise, all you will have added is a terminology for describing how you failed to cross the chasm. I also commend the brief sections on how finance, research, and development, and human resources executives need to change their behavior in order to help the enterprise be more successful in crossing the chasm. After you finish reading and employing the book, I suggest that you also think about what other psychological perceptions will limit interest in and use of your new developments. You have more chasms to cross than simply the psychological orientation towards technology. You also have to dea

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2001

    Crossing the Chasm

    I feel that this book will be very helpful to someone that is in the market already. For someone that has no experience, this book doesn't really make a lot of sense. Although it will help us prepare for any problem that will be faced. When and if I do go into marketing, I would definetly read this book again. I would recomend this book for someone in the field of marketing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2001

    A great book for company startups.

    I am a team member in a company innovation initiative program and found this book very educational. The idea of learning from the innovator and early adopter markets ought to be explored and learned from vigorously before going into the early majority markets. It will put you in a better poisition than otherwise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2001

    Crossing the Chasm: Marketing and Selling High-Tech Products to Mainstream Customers

    I really liked the book. It was helpful in getting to know how marketing affects how successful a company will be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2001

    Crossing the Chasm: Marketing and Selling High-Tech Products to Mainstream Customers

    The book was not only interesting, but very informative. As a college student I have not been around the workplace to see how marketing really affects a company, but this book has opened my eyes to the truth about how a company must market its product to stay alive. The examples are great and I will definitely read this book over in the future!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2000

    Not recommended for any of my competitors...

    A brilliant analysis of the problems facing high-tech marketers. Why can¿t you leverage an early adopter success into a mainstream success? This book gives a very down-to-earth psycographic description of the different types of buyers a high-tech company faces at different stages of the technology adoption cycle. An excellent D-day strategy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2000

    Best business book

    This book opened for me a world of business. As a technical person I've been always quite skeptical about this whole management / marketing / sales thing, my perception of it was 'much ado about nothing'. Out of necessity I had to start learning this area: starting my own high-tech start-up. This is the first business book that goes beyond shallow facts and obvious ideas, the author is extremely smart and knowledgeable person who has a great logic and sense of language, the whole thing reads like a fiction book. Must read for anyone starting his/her own business.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2