Customer Reviews for

Crossing the Wire

Average Rating 4
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

well let's just say that the book is awsome :) well maybe becau

well let's just say that the book is awsome :) well maybe because i also crossed the border ! well its just plain awsome i think every latino should read 'Crossing the Wire'

posted by Jazzii27 on March 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

The story was good, but i dislike the point the author is trying to get accross.

The book isnt all that great and i was expecting more at the end. And after all Arizona has gone through to help stop the flow of illegal immigration, someone just comes out and writes this book. I know schools are encouraging students to read this because it was a summ...
The book isnt all that great and i was expecting more at the end. And after all Arizona has gone through to help stop the flow of illegal immigration, someone just comes out and writes this book. I know schools are encouraging students to read this because it was a summer homework assignment for my school. I am really against illegals coming to America from anywhere, and this book is trying to get people to be kind to immagrants. There is a system in the U.S. where people from other countries can get their green card and citezenship if they are qualified. In my opinion, it would be easier to make yourself educated and then come to America and become a citizen and have a brighter futer paved for you. This nonsense of sneaking accross the boarder only puts you in danger and makes others unhappy. I think this book told a nice adventure story, but I dislike the point of the story. Illegal aliens should have to work to get here. Some Americans may not be up to the challenge of the hard work, but there are a lot of hard working people in this country. I dont have anything against hispanics, but I do not like what this story implies, and I do not think little kids should be having this idea planted in there minds that other people should be able to just waltz into our country. If you got home and an uninvited stranger was sitting on your couch, you would be upset, right? America is our house and these illegals are the strangers on our couches. Why are we encouraging them to break into our house hold? Take the information I have given you and do with it what you will.

posted by Anonymous on June 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    The story was good, but i dislike the point the author is trying to get accross.

    The book isnt all that great and i was expecting more at the end. And after all Arizona has gone through to help stop the flow of illegal immigration, someone just comes out and writes this book. I know schools are encouraging students to read this because it was a summer homework assignment for my school. I am really against illegals coming to America from anywhere, and this book is trying to get people to be kind to immagrants. There is a system in the U.S. where people from other countries can get their green card and citezenship if they are qualified. In my opinion, it would be easier to make yourself educated and then come to America and become a citizen and have a brighter futer paved for you. This nonsense of sneaking accross the boarder only puts you in danger and makes others unhappy. I think this book told a nice adventure story, but I dislike the point of the story. Illegal aliens should have to work to get here. Some Americans may not be up to the challenge of the hard work, but there are a lot of hard working people in this country. I dont have anything against hispanics, but I do not like what this story implies, and I do not think little kids should be having this idea planted in there minds that other people should be able to just waltz into our country. If you got home and an uninvited stranger was sitting on your couch, you would be upset, right? America is our house and these illegals are the strangers on our couches. Why are we encouraging them to break into our house hold? Take the information I have given you and do with it what you will.

    3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    well let's just say that the book is awsome :) well maybe becau

    well let's just say that the book is awsome :)
    well maybe because i also crossed the border !
    well its just plain awsome i think every latino should read 'Crossing the Wire'

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    Austinn says

    Preety epic

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    Amazing

    Ok so my teacher in class started reading this book but we never had time to finish it so i knew i had to read it

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2008

    sweet

    Crossing the wire pulled me in from the begining. Its emmotional but wild. I would recomend this book to everyone out there

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2008

    Review of Crossing the Wire by: Will Hobbs

    When I was seven years old I asked my dad how did he come to the. U.S. he said that he came by a plane another thing he said was that there are people who come by boats or by jumping the border. I am in eight grade now and my English teacher miss, brown told us that we were going have group reading. She showed us few books but I was really intrastate in Crossing the Wire by: Will Hobbs. The book reminded me of when I asked my dad how did he come to the. U.S. In Crossing the Wire there are two teen boys Rico reveres and victor floras. Victor has to take care of his whole family. Victor has two sisters and one brother and his mom. Victor is poor and Rico is rich. Rico has 15 brother and sisters. and he the smallest one in his family. They both try to cross in to U.S. they have to struggle lot of stuff to get there. But will they make it to the land of opportunity? I liked the book Crossing the Wire. I really think this is a good book for every one. I would give 5 stars to this book. This is the best book I ever read in my life. This book thought me that people are wiling to stake their lives for money. The age I would recommend is up to 20 year old. The book would be the best for kids who are in to adventure books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2007

    Great book

    This is one of the best books i have ever read. I loved how it went into the eyes of Victor Flores and his struggle to cross the border to make a living for his family. He was now the man of the house and after I read this book, I think he did a good job when taking responsibility of his family.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2014

    Stupid

    This book puts th point across to people that mexivans can just go across the border and not even get in trouble. I had to read thos for school book it is so boring tha its pretty much ASKING you to be bored an not understand it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    Good. It was okay but.....it gets old after a while. :/

    Good. It was okay but.....it gets old after a while. :/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Hi

    Hi

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Da best

    This book is about fifteen year old Victor Flores. His family is threaten by staraytion. He is going to the United Stats to find work and send mony to the family. My favority espisod is when the police try to find the people that are trying to cross the border and he has to run away. I recommon this to other people who like the wild.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Gghhhhh

    It is a very exciting book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    H

    H

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    6174176495

    Hey

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    This book is about illegal immigration?

    But I heard it was good...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Love this book.

    H

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    I havent read it butt i heard it was good!

    My friend read the book and loved it.....hope i will too.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Jeez okay

    Why do you have to tell us all of that sure, i agree but yu dont have to tellus about it to the kid four spaces below me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    Adventure+loverd+READ+THIS+BOOK

    Great+book...so+exciting%2C+with+twists+amd+turns+hiding+to+just+jump+out+at+you...and+the+end...YOU+CAN+NOT+MISS%21%21%21%21%21

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    Amazing Book

    Only read the first 3 chapters and I am already hooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3