Customer Reviews for

Crossing to Safety

Average Rating 4
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

A favorite

I love all of Stegner's work, and while I can't say objectively, that it's his best, it's certainly my favorite. I love the intimacy of it. Even though it's told from one character's perspective, you feel close to the others as well, for better and for worse. I'd probab...
I love all of Stegner's work, and while I can't say objectively, that it's his best, it's certainly my favorite. I love the intimacy of it. Even though it's told from one character's perspective, you feel close to the others as well, for better and for worse. I'd probably strangle Charity if I knew her in real life, and yet . . . what an incredible friend she is. I love how the good, bad and mundane are woven into the story and yet, how the focus remains on these four friends. It's a book I like to read every few years when I need my heart warmed and my mind opened.

posted by bookwormiest on November 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Alice

A teenage girl about 17 looking ...she has long wavy blonde hair blue eyes and pale skin...wears a pale pink tank top anf skinnyjeans...she doesnt like fights and is usauly seen smileing...

posted by Anonymous on February 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted November 13, 2010

    A favorite

    I love all of Stegner's work, and while I can't say objectively, that it's his best, it's certainly my favorite. I love the intimacy of it. Even though it's told from one character's perspective, you feel close to the others as well, for better and for worse. I'd probably strangle Charity if I knew her in real life, and yet . . . what an incredible friend she is. I love how the good, bad and mundane are woven into the story and yet, how the focus remains on these four friends. It's a book I like to read every few years when I need my heart warmed and my mind opened.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2003

    Simply Beautiful

    If only there were more books like this in the world, ones that look at ordinary people who are forced into extraordinary situations. I think it is beautifully written, as well as a touching and deeply moving story. I read this book years ago and I still think about the characters.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2004

    Not his best, but . . .

    Stegner is so good and such an honest and thoughful writer that I was compelled to keep reading this engaging novel, although I much preferred his 'Angle of Repose,' with its more strongly developed characters and more interesting story. The characters in 'Crossing to Safety' seem to me to be much less sympathetic (with the possible exception of Sid Lang) and often terribly self- absorbed or just plain annoying -- or, as in the case of Sally Morgan, too opaque. Part I is marvelous, though, and I couldn't put it down; Part II is good but starts to become uneven; and Part III was, for me, close to interminable toward the end -- it just went on and on. Despite the interminable ending, the second half of the novel seemed to rush through a story for which I wanted more details. Also, the book read too much like thinly veiled autobiography at times. Novels narrated by characters who are writers can be tough to pull off without becoming self-indulgent and/or self-absorbed, and this book is, I think, susceptible to that problem. Nonetheless, it's worth reading for Stegner's prose and his story-telling ability, but again, it paled in comparison with the superior 'Angle of Repose.' I've not yet read his others.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Among the most beautiful Stegners

    Probably I missed the point, if there was one, but the prose is lovely, evocative of an era or two. Don't put it down if you value your comfort time. WARNING:This is not a credible tale, but heartwarming.
    Great book club fodder.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2002

    Superb Craftsmanship

    A book for those who love the language, filled with sentences of surprise, beauty, poignancy. A description of relationships between husbands and wives and their friends. A truthful book, capturing the emotion of discovery of new friends, kindred spirits and the journey of life with friends and lovers. One of the best books I've read, I highly reocmmend this book to any mature reader--perhaps it takes some years to really grasp what Stegner is talking about. Maybe not. The reader will have to see for him or herself. Enjoy!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Rosaal

    Her name is rosalie but she likes to be called ro. She has buzz cutt golden brown hair. She is muscular ad dosnt like to be messed with.

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Crossing to safety

    Wonderful wallace stegner novel regarding friendship and lfe. Vivid descriptiond made me yearn to be part of these people's lives, family and time period.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2000

    Crossing to Safety

    This book is a bit slow at times but the author does an excellent job of portraying the emotions and attitudes of others. There are some excellent portions of the book and there are some areas I wish he would have expounded more on.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2000

    Crossing to Safety

    'Crossing to Safety' was a recommended read for my book club. Wallace Stegner is a Pulitzer Prize winner for the novel 'Angle of Repose', however, I think that 'Crossing to Safety' was better. The story follows an interesting an unique friendship of two couples. Both couples have their own problems and issues and are similar through their dissimilarities. It was an easy, enjoyable read. I recommend it.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Ryan

    O.o

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Axel valintine

    Age:a million yeqrs old hsve red hair one gold eye one red eye wears a full black coat nive attacks anyone that trys to attack one of his friends or gf (if i ever get one XD)

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Logan

    No offense but i like the way i am

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2001

    a journey for them and us

    There is nothing to dispute or debate in this book because no one can walk in another's shoes. This is the story of four people told through the eyes of one of the male characters. They did things their way, made their choices, soared when things went well, and suffered when things went wrong, as we all do. The unique experience of the book is that they shared so much of it together, until by necessity and choice they had a time apart. As the book progresses we wonder what we would have done in their circumstances, or what we may yet do. Even to the end and their eventual reunion, their essential characters and personalities remain the same, and we watch them deal with the challenges that lay ahead for each of them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2001

    Crossing to Safety

    Crossing to Safety was a book selected to read by the SRYB Book RSB club. I enjoyed Wallace Stegner's book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2014

    James's bio

    Name:0 i thought u were smart! Age: 16. Gender: male. Likes Genesis. Crush: Genesis Weight:150 pounds, pure muscle. Looks:black hair, hazel eyes, 6pack, 6'8", black shirt and shorts. Personality: i will protect anyone from a dic. and will never back down from a challenge until knocked out or dead

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2014

    Jackie

    Name: Jackie Brewer.<p>
    Age: 16<p>
    Se<_>x:&female<p>
    Description:dark brown hair, cute face, glossy brown eyes, glossy pink lips, full lips, full, firm brea<_>sts, DD cup, curvac<_>eous, nice slightly fat, juicy as<_>s, slightly jiggly thighs. <p>
    Crush:Kevin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2014

    Masters bio

    Name: go f. Yourself Gender:Male se.xual prrefance Any hieght 5'11age 19wieght why u want to know creep body well tanned with lots of muscles hobbies surfing basketball foorball tennis swimming an reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2014

    Kevin's Bio

    17 years old 6"6 250 lbs. Solid muscle. I have broad shoulders, pecs and washboard abs. I have blonde hair that flips up naturally with Carribean blue eyes. Im eleven inches hard with a wide head thats 3 inches. I play varsity football swimming and laccrosse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2014

    Jace

    A big co<_>ck. Skinny muscular. Likes kayla. Bi. Single.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2014

    Jake

    Tall, funny, well built, brown hair, deep green eyes, anything else just ask

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5