Customer Reviews for

Crossover (Cassandra Kresnov Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What makes us human

    The first book in Joel Shepherd's Cassandra Kresnov trilogy, Crossover is a non-stop science fiction action thriller that manages to ask the question without ever actually asking the question. Freedom, self-determination, loneliness, natural vs. created -- all come sneaking in under a plot that would make Jerry Bruckheimer proud. The characters are well-developed and easy to root for, and Shepherd manages to mirror the personal in the public without a stutter.

    Read this one, then rush out to get the other two.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2006

    An amazing tale

    Mankind has spread across the galaxies and is divided into two different groups. The League is where the visionaries, who are constantly on the cutting edge of science, live. The Federation which is more conservative went to war against the League over biotech laboratory work. The less populated League created GI androids to augment their human soldiers.---------------- Cassandra ¿Sandy¿ Kresnov is a new prototype android GI. Over time she becomes sentient in a world that refuses to recognize her rights after the hostilities end. She leaves the League to reside on the Federation world of Calley where Sandy tries to act human, but is caught and jailed for her actions. However, when she saves the president¿s life that act insures she becomes a citizen and a soldier in the planet¿s war against adversaries who wants her back as a deadly machine.---------------- CROSSOVER is an amazing tale that focuses on what is sentient intelligence and how does that make one human. Readers will ponder whether an essence that can create, think and feel but was manufactured not born can be classified as having a spirit. Readers will adore Sandy who seems more human than many purebreds as she takes nothing for granted. Joel Shepherd following in the footsteps of Phillip K. Dick provides a penetrating science fiction tale in which Johnny Five is alive in space.-------------- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2015

    Tghvg

    D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    Gent

    Add Bugs bunny/ daffy duck

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Broken

    Hheeeyyyy.... wheres Raph and Rainbow Dash? Hmmm...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    XY

    Beautiful! You should get a Wattpad account. Mine's 'ninjajesusawesome'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Cold~Fusion

    Star Wars needs in this legendary story. Either that or Adventure Time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Vynx

    New characters? Yay!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Operation: Crossover 2- Chapter 1

    Leo woke up to the sound of coffee being made. "Nnggg..." Spike groaned in the bed beneath him. TK and Patomon, who slept together, turned over in bed. However, this caused Patomon to fall out and hit his head on the ground. "Owch!" He said sleepily, groggily blinking his eyes.<p>Leo got out of bed and walked out into the common room. Dukey was the one making coffee, but Mary and Susan were also awake, as well as Twilight Sparkle.<p>"Good morning, guys." Leo said as he supressed a yawn. Twilight smiled. "Morning, fearless leader."<p>It had been 3 months since the Battle of Mecha City, and they had been a loopy 3 months. Leo had been promoted Senior Agent, and Head Agent of his team, while everyone else had been promoted to Intermediate. All of the original team were still around, and Patomon and TK had joined too, as well as Spike. Officially joined, anyway, as most people had considered him part of the team before that.<p>"Ready for your meeting with Major Knuckles today?" Mary said. Leo gasped. "Sewer rats! I had forgotten about that!!" He quickley gulped down a cup of OJ. Twilight laughed. "Well, you better hurry! It's in 10 minutes!!" Leo nodded. "Thanks guys! No training today! Bye!!" He ran out the door in a whirlwind of flusteredness.<p>***<p>Exactly 9 minutes and 38 seconds later, Leo walked into confrence room number G-11. Knuckles was there, waiting for him.<p>"Not bad. Pretty punctual." The new Major said. Leo laughed and sat down. "So, what's the hubbub? A new mission?"<p>Knuckles shook his head. "No. Although you and your team have been doing good on missions. Which is part of the reason you are here, and not someone else. You see, I have a problem."<p>"Earlier today, one of our head agents, Agent Torch, asked to be assigned a new set of trainees. And as such, we need a new team for the old trainees." Leo looked shocked. "You mean, you granted the request? That's very unsusuall." Knuckles nodded. "These trainees were especially- oh, how to put this lightly- troublesome, so I went out on a limb."<p>Leo narrowed his eyes. "So lemme guess. You want to shove these troublemakers off on me." Knuckles smiled in pity. "Look, I know I can trust you. You're practically the best agent here, or at least the agent who has seen the most action. Please?"<p>Leo rubbed his chin. "Oh, cr<_>ap. I'll do it." Knuckles' face lit up. "I knew I could count on you, old friend!!" Leo shook Knuckles hand, and went and opened the door. As he walked down the hall, Leo wondered what he had gotten himself into...

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Fluttershy

    Keep writing love them

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reminiscent of Arthur C. Clarke's Venus Prime

    I enjoyed this book mostly because of the "world building" that went into the context of the story. It takes place on a world I would like to visit if it were possible. The main character is an "android" of sorts and reminds me of the Bladerunner movie characters. The story also reminds me a bit of the Venus Prime stories from Arthur C. Clarke. The cover art is also well tuned to the feeling of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2006

    Not Bad for a Debut...

    I think the bold print on the back of the book says it best: MEET CASSANDRA KRESNOV. SOLDIER. LOVER. FIGHTER. PASSIONATE. COMPLETELY ARTIFICIAL. There's a lot to like in Joel Shepherd's debut novel. I'd say it's a cross between the television shows Alias and the new Battlestar Galactica, but that would be simplifying it a bit, despite the similar elements. This book is a political, science fictional thriller with a close examination on what truly makes a person human. And there's plenty of intricate setting detail, as well as a multi-ethnic cast that should intrigue anyone reading. One of the most appealing aspects to this book, for me personally, was the characterization of Cassandra Kresnov, Vanessa Rice, and the human relationships that played out, especially between these two women. Shepherd has a knack for capturing the human spirit-- there are pages when the naturalness of the dialogue just bleeds off the page. Shepherd also has a knack for humor and creating individual character voices. Cassandra is certainly sympathetic. Despite the fact she's synthetically made, and the most dangerous GI ever built (a hunter-killer model), this is a woman who is seeking what it means to live a normal life and to enjoy life's many pleasures. And even when her past catches up with her, and she's forced back into a role that she was created for, Cassandra remains the strongest and most sympathetic character in the book. Her story is definitely the most fascinating, her emotions the ones that grabbed me the most. In fact, I personally wish this book had been written solely from her point of view. But that would've been incredibly difficult due to the scope of the story and the fact that there are some scenes where her point of view wouldn't be reliable. There's also some interesting science fictional world- building to this. Example: Vanessa is a woman who alternates between a heterosexual cycle and a homosexual cycle every five years. That one detail is wonderfully intriguing and telling about the future in which these characters live. I also liked how, despite the advanced technology of this planet, that there are still 'holdovers,' like paperback books. I don't care about the logic of this, because Shepherd sets up political systems where, according to one ideology, history and culture is welcomed and not shunned in the face of increasingly advanced technology. I did have some stylistic issues with this, some of them being indicative of a debut writer: there's lots of telling, lots of info-dumping (though I really don't know how on earth you can convey so much info by showing, because that'd make the book twice as long), an excessive use of pronouns instead of names and an excessive use of fragments, the latter which I normally like but had a problem with here. Also, in the first chapter, we get the things that workshop-powers-that-be say writers should never do: open a story with someone waking up, and describing that individual via use of a mirror. Oops? Clearly, these aren't hard and fast rules, cause after all, plenty of writers do this and they, like Shepherd, are published. But the first chapter was a bit slow, and while it sets up the world and a nice contrast for what Cassandra is trying to do with her life, there could've been more exciting ways to start the piece. Oh well. Once you get past the first chapter, the book moves at a good pace, and I'll note that chapter two is not for the squeamish. :) So despite my stylistic issues, the book was a fun, easy read. Something I can definitely recommend to people (if you like fast-paced, complex politics and technologies with a human core for stories, you'll like this), and I look forward to reading the next book. This is a promising start to what could be a really fun series. And I think that now that Shepherd has his

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1