Customer Reviews for

Crossroads of Twilight (Wheel of Time Series #10)

Average Rating 4
( 852 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(413)

4 Star

(137)

3 Star

(115)

2 Star

(98)

1 Star

(89)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

adds depth and complexity to an already deeply textured landscape

The world slowly moves on, but has reached a period of crossroads whether its is individuals, people, or nations. Decisions will prove pivotal, as the turning point in the Wheel of Time seems at hand. However, many have reached different crossroads and twilight is now...
The world slowly moves on, but has reached a period of crossroads whether its is individuals, people, or nations. Decisions will prove pivotal, as the turning point in the Wheel of Time seems at hand. However, many have reached different crossroads and twilight is now for choices that must be made even when the options seem negative. Perrin considers obtaining help from those he does not trust to help liberate his incarcerated wife. Not sure what to do except flee from the Seanchan, Mat takes the abducted daughter of the Nine Moons, Tuon with him while she seductively toys with him. The sieges at Tar Valon and Caemlyn continue unabated leaving insiders to ponder an escape attempt. Egwene the Amyrlin tries to unite the rebel Aes Sedai against the Dark One and considers an alliance with the Asha'man. The Dragon Reborn has eradicated the Dark One from the True Source, but wonders if he should negotiate with the Seanchan or perhaps Perrin for the next trial. Everything is slowly changing with any one decision could prove the pivotal turning point in the Wheel of Time. Book ten of the Wheel of Time series adds depth and complexity to an already deeply textured landscape. However, as been the case of the last few books, the numerous involved subplots seem on a slow speed treadmill as no forward motion occurs and little action happens. Fans of Robert Jordan will cherish learning even more about the prime players as they struggle to decide what to do next as few writers can dig as insightfully deep as this author does. However, readers who relish action need to look elsewhere. Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Complete waste of Time

Save your money and read a 1 page summary of this book. It does not move the story forward. It is all filler. Possibly the worst book I have ever read. And I really like the first few books in the Wheel of Time Series! Very, very disappointing.

posted by TechW on May 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 857 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 43
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    Complete waste of Time

    Save your money and read a 1 page summary of this book. It does not move the story forward. It is all filler. Possibly the worst book I have ever read. And I really like the first few books in the Wheel of Time Series! Very, very disappointing.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    adds depth and complexity to an already deeply textured landscape

    The world slowly moves on, but has reached a period of crossroads whether its is individuals, people, or nations. Decisions will prove pivotal, as the turning point in the Wheel of Time seems at hand. However, many have reached different crossroads and twilight is now for choices that must be made even when the options seem negative. Perrin considers obtaining help from those he does not trust to help liberate his incarcerated wife. Not sure what to do except flee from the Seanchan, Mat takes the abducted daughter of the Nine Moons, Tuon with him while she seductively toys with him. The sieges at Tar Valon and Caemlyn continue unabated leaving insiders to ponder an escape attempt. Egwene the Amyrlin tries to unite the rebel Aes Sedai against the Dark One and considers an alliance with the Asha'man. The Dragon Reborn has eradicated the Dark One from the True Source, but wonders if he should negotiate with the Seanchan or perhaps Perrin for the next trial. Everything is slowly changing with any one decision could prove the pivotal turning point in the Wheel of Time. Book ten of the Wheel of Time series adds depth and complexity to an already deeply textured landscape. However, as been the case of the last few books, the numerous involved subplots seem on a slow speed treadmill as no forward motion occurs and little action happens. Fans of Robert Jordan will cherish learning even more about the prime players as they struggle to decide what to do next as few writers can dig as insightfully deep as this author does. However, readers who relish action need to look elsewhere. Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The first time I read CROSSROADS OF TWILIGHT, shortly after it c

    The first time I read CROSSROADS OF TWILIGHT, shortly after it came out in paperback, I was monumentally confused.

    It seemed as though nothing was happening. Many of the characters were difficult to recall, and I found myself constantly referring to the glossary or previous books in the series in a desperate search for clues. Who is this Aes Sedai again? What is their relationship with Egwene – friend or foe? Who was this character? Why are they important? Are they important?

    It all proved too much for me, and I was beginning to suspect that Robert Jordan might not live to finish the series, so I quit. Ten books into the series, I decided I was out, and I wouldn’t buy another book until the end was nigh.

    So several months ago, with A MEMORY OF LIGHT (completed by Brandon Sanderson) on its way to bookshelves across the nation, I endeavored to start again from the beginning, and read every book in the series consecutively. The idea was that reading the books back to back (to back to back to back) would iron out the confusion

    So now that I’ve read the first 10 books in the series, I can positively tell the me from 2004 that it’s not his fault. Even reading the books consecutively, it’s difficult to remember all the characters and their relationships. The monster has grown too huge for Jordan to handle, and so inevitably we get books such as CROSSROADS OF TWILIGHT, in which all 822 mass-market paperback pages are setup. The book doesn’t end with a battle, there’s no climax in the final pages, all the steps to move the plot forward are incremental.

    It’s.

    All.

    Setup.

    I don’t want to include any plot spoilers, but if you’ve read the previous book in the series, WINTER’S HEART, I’d like you to think back to that book and consider what plot lines you’d like to see wrapped up. I can tell you right now, they don’t.

    The bad guys all seem to have disappeared, so that the most frightening foe in this book seems to be the town where people are seeing ghosts. That and, as others have pointed out, the weevils that get into the food.

    I wish Jordan could have managed his plots a little better so that some major development takes place in each book. Either Rand should have killed a Forsaken or the Aes Sedai struggle should have been resolved or Perrin’s search for his wife should have come to a conclusion. Heck, I’d have settled for something big in the Mat plotline.

    But none of those plots are resolved and as a result, we got 800 pages of filler.

    It’s no wonder I was so confused in 2004, and it’s no wonder I stopped reading.

    I’m about to start on KNIFE OF DREAMS, the last book Jordan published before his death. I hope it’s great. I hope Jordan’s final book is as strong as EYE OF THE WORLD was, and Brandon Sanderson brings the series home with a bang.

    I’m tired of the filler. I’m ready for Tarmon Gai’don.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Wheel of Time turns... ...but it turns slowly and with pract

    The Wheel of Time turns...
    ...but it turns slowly and with practiced care.

    Crossroads of Twilight is book 10 in the Wheel of Time series.

    I love these books, I read about one a year (usually on vacation) and I loved this one no less than the others.

    Much of the rage directed at this book seems to be in regards to its' pace, but if you're a patient reader, as I am, that isn't a problem. I find that the faster I read, the more I enjoy them; if I read too slowly I tend to drown in the details and get lost - but that's my problem, not the books'.

    These stories are about character, and while action happens, it's really the characters' relation to the events that's significant. So when a character gains something, or learns something, or loses something, that journey has import. It matters - and it affects that character forever. It makes these people real, and I love that. Because of this, these stories seem richer to me than the average fantasy adventure. If you would prefer more explosions and cliffhangers at the end of every chapter, this series might not be for you.

    If you're interested in the wheel of time, I recommend starting with the prequel book New Spring which will give you a nice feel of the world and also require a smaller time sink than the first book. If you've read all the way to book 10, you would have to be some kind of maniac to skip this one. Events are building to the finale and I wouldn't have missed it for the world. I have a feeling I will enjoy these even more the second time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Horrible

    After reading the positive reviews of this book, it's obvious they are either mistaking this book for another in the series, or rating the series as a whole.

    By the end of this pile of blindingly tedious crap, you'll want every female character in the story to meet a tragic end and be replaced by someone less boring (a role that could easily be filled by a slightly gifted garden slug).

    Perhaps the only testament to Robert Jordan's genius in this installment is that he managed to get published an entire novel in which absolutely nothing happens.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The End is Near

    (Spoiler Free) A Fun book. Its on a par with book 1 or 3 in the series. The big chess pieces are gathering to the center of the board, and some of the minor pieces are being removed. Everyone realizes end-game for the Last Battle is very near.

    The pace of the book matches the pace of the story-line (there aren't 3 chapters talking about the 7 different ways the 12 troubles of Andor can make the queen sigh) and the two 'side heros' are realizing they have something to do in the series besides rescuing or chasing their spouses.

    As a matter of fun reading this book is as good as any other in the series.

    (very subtle spoilers)

    We finally find out what one of the long term Aes Sedai characters is up to. Rand and Egwene get to make major decisions, Sanderson/Jordan manage to fit in a bit of foretelling about what may come in the last 2 books. There is even a revisit to a location not seen since much earlier in the series. Enjoy!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    Long and Boring at times. Too much traveling, uneccessary backstory, and gripe about men.

    This book has a detailed plot and a never-ending development of character. If you don't mind lack of action for the majority of the book, men being stupid because they can't bring themselves to kill women who are trying to kill them, and lots of drama, this book has some great concepts and awesome characters (most of them).

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2005

    The Snail of Time...

    My God! it's the frickin' 10th book already...and he goes back to write the Prequel??!!! Am I missing something here? Jordan must have funded his grandchildren's retirement plans 5 books ago...all the killed Forsaken are back (sex change and all)...like one of the commenters said, the story goes NOWHERE! I've invested too much time reading this initially captivating series but now am reluctantly forced to continue to read so that I don't feel like an idiot that i had chosen this series and devoted hours to read...

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Good Book

    Thanks Robert

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Hey look at me

    FREE SEX SLAVE ON TWILIGH REVIEWS HE IS SEXY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! SO#$%&$# HHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTYTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Excellent Way to Re-Read Series

    Now that WOT has finally ended, I've started re-reading the series, and the ebooks make this projects much more user friendly. Waiting anxiously for the ebook version of AMoL ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Pull yourself together jordan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    Who doesn't love the Wheel of Time Series?

    I am rereading the entire series on my Nook!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    ?????

    I haven't read the book yet but have read some reviews. Gosh! Such bad comments. I think the series was pretty up beat until maybe 9? He left Perrin, Mat, and Rand to much. The entire ninth book was pretty much about the female characters that sit around either not eating, never sleeping, some boring polotics or whatever else i forgot. And now i have a feeling that book 10 isn't gonna be much fast. But i still have my hopes

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Great

    Best series ever and this book made it even better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great series and wonderful book

    Robert Jordan masterfully takes his readers to the world he created. Crossroads of Twilight is an excellent continuation of the Wheel of Time series. This recommendation is not just for this book, but for the entire series to date. Worth reading and rereading!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2010

    Great Character driven epic

    I loved this particular book because of the intense detail for each and every character that has a role to play in the story. I especially liked the emphasis on the relationship between Tuon and Mat Cauthon. While there isn't as much action as I think some people expect in some of these epics, Robert Jordan makes up for it in the fine details of each character's progress and impending conflict with the Shadow.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2008

    great write

    I have read all of the books in about a 12 year span. These are hard to put down once you start reading them. I have injoyed all the main charcters. Rand,Mat, Perrin, and the gals. Best series ever. Much to my surprise I have been waitting for the 12th book to come out when I found out that Jordan passed away last year. Now what? is this other writer going to do him Justice with the next one, I sure hope so, I dont want to be disappointed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2007

    Please wake me when this is over

    The wheel of time series was slow to start. By the end of the first book I wanted more. The next three or four books were interesting. From there it has been all down hill. This book 'Crossroads of Twilight' was a snoozer. Robert Jordan has lost his way. I recommend reading the first five or six books in this series, and skipping the rest until he 'FINALLY' finishes the saga. Then read the last half of the last book. Maybe somthing exciting will happen. This series should have been a trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2007

    What goes up, must come down

    This series was great and I was strapped to a rocket of enjoyment till book 8. Ever since then Jordan won't quite writting about the boring women charcters in his book. I understand they have a role in the series but geez, if you're going to insist on writing nothing but women, then make it more interesting than politics and girl talk. From what I have read and heard about Jordan, he is sick. I hope he gets well, if nothing more than to redeem himself for the past 3 books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 857 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 43