Customer Reviews for

Crossroads of Twilight (Wheel of Time Series #10)

Average Rating 4
( 855 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(415)

4 Star

(138)

3 Star

(115)

2 Star

(98)

1 Star

(89)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

adds depth and complexity to an already deeply textured landscape

The world slowly moves on, but has reached a period of crossroads whether its is individuals, people, or nations. Decisions will prove pivotal, as the turning point in the Wheel of Time seems at hand. However, many have reached different crossroads and twilight is now...
The world slowly moves on, but has reached a period of crossroads whether its is individuals, people, or nations. Decisions will prove pivotal, as the turning point in the Wheel of Time seems at hand. However, many have reached different crossroads and twilight is now for choices that must be made even when the options seem negative. Perrin considers obtaining help from those he does not trust to help liberate his incarcerated wife. Not sure what to do except flee from the Seanchan, Mat takes the abducted daughter of the Nine Moons, Tuon with him while she seductively toys with him. The sieges at Tar Valon and Caemlyn continue unabated leaving insiders to ponder an escape attempt. Egwene the Amyrlin tries to unite the rebel Aes Sedai against the Dark One and considers an alliance with the Asha'man. The Dragon Reborn has eradicated the Dark One from the True Source, but wonders if he should negotiate with the Seanchan or perhaps Perrin for the next trial. Everything is slowly changing with any one decision could prove the pivotal turning point in the Wheel of Time. Book ten of the Wheel of Time series adds depth and complexity to an already deeply textured landscape. However, as been the case of the last few books, the numerous involved subplots seem on a slow speed treadmill as no forward motion occurs and little action happens. Fans of Robert Jordan will cherish learning even more about the prime players as they struggle to decide what to do next as few writers can dig as insightfully deep as this author does. However, readers who relish action need to look elsewhere. Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Complete waste of Time

Save your money and read a 1 page summary of this book. It does not move the story forward. It is all filler. Possibly the worst book I have ever read. And I really like the first few books in the Wheel of Time Series! Very, very disappointing.

posted by TechW on May 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2005

    Slow Mover

    The series is too slow...eleven books in the series...so far. Geez....Real life isn't even this slow and art is supposed to imitate life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2005

    Needs to write faster or else...

    Risk losing loyal fans. These books are a great saga but need to culminate in a well thought out ending that draws all the story lines together. Or would you rather have some other writer complete your vision (probably not as well)because you died... before finishing this longggggg...epic? What started as a great epic is fast becoming a rather huge bore. I would check the jacket of the next book before purchasing something that could well turn out to be one 'long run on sentence'. There is always a chance that we fans will become senile before the series ever finishes then we wouldn't remember any of it anyway...we're waitinggggggggggggg.......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2005

    avid reader of any literature

    Well, this one was definitely slower thna the rest of the series, and I think Jordan better have an awesome next book or I'll be severely disappointed. There is so much build up in this one... I just want to read about Perrin catching the Shaido. That's the part I want to read the most, though Rand's whole deal with the Seachan should be good...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2004

    It was good, but it could have been better.

    I love reading the Wheel of Time series. Usually, I keep one near most of the time. This last installment of the WOT series, while good, just wasn't as captivating as the preious ones. There wasn't as much action as I would have preferred. To me, it seemed more like a transition into the next book. I just can't wait until book #11 is released.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2004

    Finally!!

    I am looking forward to reading this.When I read a series I will often start out in paperback and then as I find myself enjoying the series I will move to Hardback. Mainly becuase I can't wait for the book to come out in paperback. Jordan is the first author that I have actually reverted back to waiting for the book to come out in paperback. The series is great just as others have said slow moving. I hope there will be and end soon or at least have some action happen soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2004

    .....<--The equivalent what happens.

    Seriously, nothing happens. Its not inane drivel whatever you might say, but nothing happens. Some out of the way supporters from some out of the way claimer for the lion throne's pov show up here, NONE of the towers(rebel, black, white) have a clue what happens, nd they dont show the view point of the black tower here. The story was still good, sort of. The only thing of importance here is Rand allying with the seanchan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2004

    Uhh..

    I was really interested in reading this book, but...um then I got..uninterested when I bought it. I'm really dissappointed and I hope his next book will make up for it. The writing was great but it was sort of boring. I'm stil a fan, though...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2004

    WOT Fan but...

    I love the Wheel of Time. I think it is a very great story. I liked this book, but have to agree with the many others who say that NOTHING HAPPENS. Oh, I appreciate the need to push the story further. I feel that it makes the ending more spectacular (see Prophecy Movies I-III. II was a story pusher). But for the sake of his carrer, I truly hope that the last installment in this series is worth it. No uber surprise endings (like Thom shooting Rand in the back with an arrow or time travel {VERY bad Deus Ex Machina, that one}) I'm eagerly anticipating the final battle and the 1 or 2 chapters of Epilouge (or an epilouge as long as the last few Prolougs. 98 pages or more!) I'm only willing to shell out $30 two more times before I say forget it. So please, let it end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2004

    a slow go

    it used to be that i read other fantasy novels to pass along the time until the next anticipated wheel of time epic came out... now i'm finding that while i love this series a great deal, it seems that those other novels have started turning out to be even better than this epic. in fact, the obsidian chronicles by lawrence watt-evans is a superior work of fiction for many reasons, you'll have to read them to find out, also i think most of what is written for the forgotten realms is above par, and it seems the wheel of time has finally lost its luster to me... i didn't lose interest in this epic overnight or even in a year, the wheel of time is like a slow death, i'm seeing the horse, bela, gallop away over the thickly veiled horizon and beyond my sight. a suggestion to robert jordan would be to close out on this series in a big finale, or it will quietly fade away...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2004

    give RJ a break ...

    In the Crossroads you see the results and preparations of various characters in different parts of the world of WoT prior to the stunning conclusion of book 9. I like the book becuase it gives you more perspective on the action of other characters AS WELL as the actions of the 'dark-side' characters. This book is taking a first step toward the final battle and thus the conclusion of the series. If one was to judge this book individually one might understandably give this book a single star but 3 stars are more appropriate because the book is necessary for the development and continuation of the WoT series without being too repetative. Crossroads gives the reader a preview of the trials The Dragon is yet to make. Also I want to point out that this book is simply GREAT just for including more advantures of my fav char of all time Mat Cauthon, with the stuborn daughter of the nine moons. : )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2004

    keep going

    I have about 40 pages to go and already can not wait for the next book, any one could write this whole series in a book or two but without the details it might as well be a fairy tale dont listen to the cry babies make up your own mind! good book great series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2004

    He's building the drama!

    That's it folks. This is the buildup...I mean look at us...the guys obviously a great writer, he's got us all raving about how we can't wait to find out how the story line plays out. I want to know the ending as much as the next guy, but I've never been one to skip ahead and read the last page. I'll admit it's frustrating at times (especially the long wait between books), but I love the series. I love the detail. I love the author! Keep it up RJ!! I, for one, am savoring the flavor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2004

    good book but had no place in the serie

    i must admit i looked forward to reading jordan's 11th book for almost a year then it came out and i literally ran to get his book. it took me two days to read and at the end i was like what happened to all the questions he didnt write in winters heart. not one of the problems was answered. even though his book truly had no place in this series the writing was good and the story keep me reading. now only if he could write a good book that fit with the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2004

    My God,will it ever end?

    The Wheel of Time started out strong,but now just meanders slowly to the final conclusion.It's got to the point where I almost don't care about Rand al Thor anymore.We are now waiting for the eleventh book to come out and hopefully finish this series.It's so long between books that it's difficult to remember what happened in the previous books,and since there are 10 previous books I'm sure not going to go back and reread them,each time.Please Mr.Jordan,end this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2004

    not the worst

    I just finished this book and i was a little peeved that there was little mention of Rand in this book. It was a well written and thought out book, but, i found that the dithering around from one thing to another was confusing and time consuming. The lead up to The Last Battle does need to be hyped up so that people get the feeling, but really, it is about time that the series is finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2003

    book ten...?

    i must admit the WoT books had won me over at first capturing my imagination and tossing me into a detailed and outstanding world but as the books progressed they seemed to lose flare, especially these last few. the Crossroads of Twightlight is a very watered down novel compared to the others a bit of an upset but i have faith that Mr.Jordan won't let us down in the 11th (that is if he ever writes one)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2003

    End this series

    This story has expanded into to many short stories and Robert Jordan needs to get back to the main charater and end this series. Crossroads of Twilight was composed of serval short stories that only covered a couple of days so that the next book will only cover a couple of hours at the way it keeps branching out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2003

    Crossroads of Jordan's Twlight

    This book was cool, but Jordan could have given us more action and LESS politics... Other than that like I said, 'This book was cool.' I found the lack of Rand REFRESHING and freeingsome people say that you can't have a good book when you don't see the main character much. Well guess what? You CAN. Jordan proved this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2003

    The Preview is the Book

    All those questions the Publisher asked? None of them get answered. I guess they don't know, either. I like my books to a continuation of the dustjacket, but if you read the blurb of this, you've just read the entire book. I was VERY disappointed. The 'Siege' of Tar Valon? A few pages of Egwene worrying. Elaine spends a few chapters worrying about the Crown. Matt spends a few chapters worrying about getting married. And Perrin spends a few MORE chapters worrying about Faile. But no conclusions, no rescues, no solutions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2003

    soap opera

    this book was for the most part a waste of time, it was well written but i think that he has gone too far with all of the different plot lines and characters it is becoming to hard to remember all if them and this book just piled more on the plate. book 9 was so good that i just couldn't wait to read this one and was dissapointed from the get go because it was pretty much a conclusion and different view of events from book 9... at the end that i almost burned the book but after reading it for a second time it does relay important advancements in the plot and lays down more insightful charecter development but it is time for him to bring some closer and some real action to the story again because this book had none of it, i would ask jordan not to waste our time with another of these books in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6