BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Crossroads of Twilight (Wheel of Time Series #10)

Average Rating 4
( 852 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(413)

4 Star

(137)

3 Star

(115)

2 Star

(98)

1 Star

(89)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

adds depth and complexity to an already deeply textured landscape

The world slowly moves on, but has reached a period of crossroads whether its is individuals, people, or nations. Decisions will prove pivotal, as the turning point in the Wheel of Time seems at hand. However, many have reached different crossroads and twilight is now...
The world slowly moves on, but has reached a period of crossroads whether its is individuals, people, or nations. Decisions will prove pivotal, as the turning point in the Wheel of Time seems at hand. However, many have reached different crossroads and twilight is now for choices that must be made even when the options seem negative. Perrin considers obtaining help from those he does not trust to help liberate his incarcerated wife. Not sure what to do except flee from the Seanchan, Mat takes the abducted daughter of the Nine Moons, Tuon with him while she seductively toys with him. The sieges at Tar Valon and Caemlyn continue unabated leaving insiders to ponder an escape attempt. Egwene the Amyrlin tries to unite the rebel Aes Sedai against the Dark One and considers an alliance with the Asha'man. The Dragon Reborn has eradicated the Dark One from the True Source, but wonders if he should negotiate with the Seanchan or perhaps Perrin for the next trial. Everything is slowly changing with any one decision could prove the pivotal turning point in the Wheel of Time. Book ten of the Wheel of Time series adds depth and complexity to an already deeply textured landscape. However, as been the case of the last few books, the numerous involved subplots seem on a slow speed treadmill as no forward motion occurs and little action happens. Fans of Robert Jordan will cherish learning even more about the prime players as they struggle to decide what to do next as few writers can dig as insightfully deep as this author does. However, readers who relish action need to look elsewhere. Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Complete waste of Time

Save your money and read a 1 page summary of this book. It does not move the story forward. It is all filler. Possibly the worst book I have ever read. And I really like the first few books in the Wheel of Time Series! Very, very disappointing.

posted by TechW on May 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 137 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    adds depth and complexity to an already deeply textured landscape

    The world slowly moves on, but has reached a period of crossroads whether its is individuals, people, or nations. Decisions will prove pivotal, as the turning point in the Wheel of Time seems at hand. However, many have reached different crossroads and twilight is now for choices that must be made even when the options seem negative. Perrin considers obtaining help from those he does not trust to help liberate his incarcerated wife. Not sure what to do except flee from the Seanchan, Mat takes the abducted daughter of the Nine Moons, Tuon with him while she seductively toys with him. The sieges at Tar Valon and Caemlyn continue unabated leaving insiders to ponder an escape attempt. Egwene the Amyrlin tries to unite the rebel Aes Sedai against the Dark One and considers an alliance with the Asha'man. The Dragon Reborn has eradicated the Dark One from the True Source, but wonders if he should negotiate with the Seanchan or perhaps Perrin for the next trial. Everything is slowly changing with any one decision could prove the pivotal turning point in the Wheel of Time. Book ten of the Wheel of Time series adds depth and complexity to an already deeply textured landscape. However, as been the case of the last few books, the numerous involved subplots seem on a slow speed treadmill as no forward motion occurs and little action happens. Fans of Robert Jordan will cherish learning even more about the prime players as they struggle to decide what to do next as few writers can dig as insightfully deep as this author does. However, readers who relish action need to look elsewhere. Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    Long and Boring at times. Too much traveling, uneccessary backstory, and gripe about men.

    This book has a detailed plot and a never-ending development of character. If you don't mind lack of action for the majority of the book, men being stupid because they can't bring themselves to kill women who are trying to kill them, and lots of drama, this book has some great concepts and awesome characters (most of them).

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Excellent Way to Re-Read Series

    Now that WOT has finally ended, I've started re-reading the series, and the ebooks make this projects much more user friendly. Waiting anxiously for the ebook version of AMoL ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2005

    master of manipulation

    Jordan does this really great thing that I think a lot of casual readers aren't aware. He practices a method of writing where form mirrors content. He makes you feel what the characters are feeling. In this book, everyone is mired down with their own problems, things aren't progressing the way they planned, the characters all feel like things aren't happening fast enough. Jordan writes his novels in such a way that the reader feels the theme. In this instance, the word choice, the length of passages all come together to create a feeling of frustration that mirrors that of the characters.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2005

    It is a good set-up book

    i think he did a good job of setting up the stage for the Final Battle. On the other hand I also think he should have included more action. I'd also just like to say that he should foget about the prequels and write the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2005

    Very Good Book

    While I have thoroughly enjoyed every book in this serious, I wish Jordan would wrap it up already. It's dragged out for so long that I'm beginning to forget what has gone down previously when he makes references to prior events. Ten books is a lot for a series and 11 is definitely excessive. It's time to stop milking this story and end it already. Then he can begin a new series with new characters and a different story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2005

    great so far but let it end already

    when you start reading his novels you wont want to stop and at this pace you'll end up reading till you go blind. let it end already your driving me insane wondering when the next one will be released

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2005

    A good book to pass the time

    I think that the first three books in the series were way beter, but then this is not THAT BAD. Although i find the Scenes featuring the women to be boring, (Not that i'm a sexsist or something) It's just that the men do more exiting things. Ps I think that Perrin will catch Faile cheatin on him in the one of the future books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2004

    Robert Jordan is my hero!!

    amazing....i have truly fallen in love with The Wheel of Time. It has brought me to a new understanding of the world itself. Jordan's books are enlightening. The imagery is great, i feel i am there during the most peaceful and intense(the great battles) times. The world in which the characters live in is awesome. I dont know what im going to do till october..(all you jordan fans should know this date)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2004

    interesting

    I love the characters and I think that is what keeps me reading the books by Robert Jordan. He's gotten us this far, I'm not about to give up on him. The 10th book is a little slower but I can feel that something huge is going to happen in the 11th book. And that excites me. Robert Jordan has become one of my favorite authors despite what the other reviews say. I'd like to see someone else describe a setting and clothing and a person's looks so that it feels like you're actually there, the way Jordan does. It's not easy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2004

    Tough Read, but very interesting

    After having read the series several times, I was still confused. So I picked a subject, 'Eugene', and I reread JUST those chapters that pertain to her in books 6 through 10. Now it all comes together! I have a pretty good understanding of the plots, and I can reasonably predict the next scene.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2004

    Why am I liking this book so much?

    Based on the reviews I've read here, I should be absolutely LOATHING this book. But I'm not. Sure, it isn't as action packed as a lot of the books before it, but I find myself enjoying it all the same. Is there something wrong with me? Am I ill? Or am I simply someone who still has faith in the author? I hope I'm the latter. And I hope Mr. Jordan does not let us down with Knife of Dreams (which I don't think he will, if my little theory regarding this series holds true).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2004

    blah.

    I generaly like this series and think it is as a whole, well written. But i think Robert Jordan is going to die before he finishes these books. He can wring a topic for all it's worth and buy the time he runs out of stuff to write his is going to be dead and rotting. At the rate he's going he's probably going to cause a few mass suicides.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2004

    Another Success!

    This book is but another marvel which can be laid at Robert Jordan's feet. The book may not have the breath taking clash of battle that his other titles in the series have offered, but it is still an exciting as well as integral part of the story. As in the other volumes you can almost see Jordan casting his spell, weaving the threads of the characters lives. Tolkien may have laid the framework for the genre but Robert Jordan is the undisputed master of the castle! This book will not fall short of expectations!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2004

    Love it

    I'll have to admit that a couple of the books earlier in the seires were pretty dull, but this book makes up for it tenfold. By the time I reached the last page of this book I was rather disappointed to find the glossary, and was even more disappointed to learn that there wasn't an eleventh book out yet...... This book will definately leave you wanting more....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2003

    Crossroads of Twilight

    I've read the series several times now. I've also read the reviews posted here. I've got to say, give the guy a break. RJ himself said that this book was necessarily slow because it was a re-grouping point. With a series involving this many people, stories, events, it's impossible to keep up a break-neck pace forever. There has NEVER been a series as broad and encompasing as this one. So if there's some slow spots, deal with it. Let it help you appreciate those cool dramatic scenes all that much more. I give it four stars just becuase after all these books, he can still juggle hundreds of characters involved in dozens of events simulteaneously. Besides all that, he still includes just a much breath-taking detail as in the 1st chapter of EOTW. So back off a bit, be grateful he's stil writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2003

    13

    Ok so yeah, the action has slowed down a bit, but i'm not complaining. but, thinking of jordan and how long this series is going, who else gets the feeling the final book will be the 13th? i just have a hunch that the 13th book will be his last. in the next 2, before the final 3rd, i expect a seanchan war, more aiel battles, male and female source wielders joining together after the black sedai are hunted down and finally, everyone coming together and marching off to the shadowlands for hte final face off in the last book, which will of course end with rand winning after a 50 page battle with the Dark One. but, he'll most likely be sealed up by 13 more aes sedai once again, with the last few pages having a mysterious futuristic thought like 'and the wheel keeps turning and a new age begins' or something like that. there, there's the rest of hte series in my opinion, but for now, he's just slowing things down to get everyone prepped and ready for the biggest battle in history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2003

    Slow but needed

    The Action is slow and it's pretty much all character development but it's kind of like chess or Risk when you're setting up to get a checkmate or take over the world, In crossroads of twilight RJ gets everyone set up for the Last Battle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2003

    Good Contiunuation.

    If you have read the previous books I recomend this book I just finished it myself and cannot wait for book 11, ¿Logan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2003

    loved it

    Man i really did think that this book was good. Since the first time when i saw the first book in a class and took it from my teacher to read i fell in love. i didnt know that there was any more books to it until i went to the mall and saw the ad for book ten. i thought to myself 'u must buy all the rest of these books' and i did and read them all during vacation. Yes it is true that no 'action' accurd but i still loved hearing how everyone was doing. Well for everyone that give it a bad review IF YOU DONT LIKE IT THEN DONT READ IT!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 137 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7