Customer Reviews for

Crosswords

Average Rating 3.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

36 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Review by an owner and user

If you like crosswords. THis is well worth the money. Instructions could be better so new users could more easily make use of the features. You need wifi to download puzzles to store on your Nook. You do not need wifi to work the puzzles that you have stored. There ...
If you like crosswords. THis is well worth the money. Instructions could be better so new users could more easily make use of the features. You need wifi to download puzzles to store on your Nook. You do not need wifi to work the puzzles that you have stored. There is a good selection of puzzles for download. I particularly like that I can download classic NY Times puzzles and the daily puzzles from the Boston Globe. There is no charge for these but if you have subscriptions to premium services (e,g, NYT) you can set up your login info and access within this app, This is not the app that comes preinstalled on your Nook. As for the suggestion that one should just buy a paper puzzle book - go for it if you want to. I, however, like to have the ability to work crosswords when I'm traveling or waiting for appts, etc. The Nook allows me to do this without having to haul around extra books.

posted by mims-mor on July 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Why buy more crosswords?

Because some people have finished all the puzzles that came with the nook originally. Geesh don't be such haters.

posted by zozoroshi on July 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Review by an owner and user

    If you like crosswords. THis is well worth the money. Instructions could be better so new users could more easily make use of the features. You need wifi to download puzzles to store on your Nook. You do not need wifi to work the puzzles that you have stored. There is a good selection of puzzles for download. I particularly like that I can download classic NY Times puzzles and the daily puzzles from the Boston Globe. There is no charge for these but if you have subscriptions to premium services (e,g, NYT) you can set up your login info and access within this app, This is not the app that comes preinstalled on your Nook. As for the suggestion that one should just buy a paper puzzle book - go for it if you want to. I, however, like to have the ability to work crosswords when I'm traveling or waiting for appts, etc. The Nook allows me to do this without having to haul around extra books.

    36 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    Structured extremely well.

    I first thought it was priced to high, but upon reading reviews & researching online, I purchased it. There are many great features, but due to space constraints I will list just a few: 1) Many vendors to download puzzles from for free daily, with option to download from past also. 2) Option to automatically mark letters that are incorrect. 3) Option to sort puzzles by difficulty, type, & date. 4) Go from puzzle format to list, so you can enter answers like as a list instead of puzzle. If you really enjoy crosswords, this application is worth it.

    20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    quite nice once you get the hang of it

    This is so much better than the free app. You can browse the clues and fill in the givens before going back to the grid. There's loads of options for errors and hints, including a Google option that automaticaly searches for the clue and any partial answer. It saves your progress on every puzzle you have in your library, and you can organize your puzzle library in several different ways and delete whatever ones you want. You can control which providers you can download. (I got rid of all the British ones.) The puzzle providers are decent; there's usually at least a minimal theme unless it's a themeless Saturday puzzle. Some cryptic puzzles are available, but only British ones, unless you have a paid subscription somewhere. The weak point is the accuracy of the Nook touch screen--it's sometimes quite hard to hit the right letter, whether with a finger or a stylus. It's still a fun app if you like crosswords.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Daily crosswords

    Yes there is a crosswords app that comes with the Nookcolor, but it has a set number of puzzles. This app is well worth the price as there is access to a daily feed of downloadable crosswords, about 10 everyday. For those that love crosswords, here is a fantastic and ever changing collection!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Excellent app -- thousands of crosswords available

    *EDIT* Not sure what some of the other posters are saying about being unable to solve downloaded puzzles when not connected to WiFi -- I do it all the time! Perhaps they're not waiting for the puzzles to finish downloading, or there's a specific router issue, but you don't need to be connected to WiFi to solve puzzles -- only to add new ones, which only takes a few seconds.

    This is a vastly superior app to the one that comes with the Nook Color. It allows you to get puzzles daily from many major newspapers and online sources, with archives going back several years, most of them for free. For any serious crossword fan, this is an outstanding app.

    One minor quibble -- is there a way to load your own across lite format puzzles? It works beautifully with puzzles that it downloads, but it would be nice to be able to load puzzles from the SD card -- if that's possible now, I can't figure it out.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    Re: the price

    I bought this app for my mobile phone, but I argued with my self for about 3 months before I finally did. It really is worth the price. You can download new puzzles every day from a very extensive list. I definitely feel it was worth it.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    Very nice app

    Good puzzles and the ability to download new ones is great. For those who say why buy when there is an app already, there are only a ffew puzzles on each level and that gets old fast.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Very good app. Period.

    Not sure why people are whining about this app. The crosswords are current from the newspapers and there are a ton of them to choose from. Yes, you need Wi-Fi to download them, but once you've done that, you can solve them offline.

    The app runs smoothly, has lots of options, and can connect to the internet for help. Again, you need Wi-Fi for that, but would you rather pay a monthly fee for 3g?

    The only thing I wonder about is how some people are solving the puzzles in two minutes or less... my average time is 15-20 minutes, except for the stumpers.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    Nearly perfect

    Now that they solved the wifi issue, I can give it a firm five stars. The preloaded nook app is limited in the number and quality of puzzles. This one lets you download a nearly endless number and variety. I do hope that they'll add the ability to sideload puzzles. Well worth the price.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    Awesome

    I was not pleased with the standard crossword app that came with my Nook. This one is well worth the money. Simply awesome.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Well worth it

    Like this game app very much. You get several crosswords per day, so plenty of plsy opportunity. Favorite feature is that you can configure it to tell you when you have made an incorrect entry. Makes game play very satisfying. Other fun features are the hint option and the google lookup option. Quite enjoyable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    EXCELLENT

    The best ever....everything about this is wonderful and well worth the money. Easy to maneuver and works well on my NookColor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Great crosswords

    Addictive game

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Love this

    Great crossword app. I like that I can choices on the hints

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    Starr79

    I love this app! Sorry about the typo.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    Well....

    Atualy, the croswrd that coms wth the NOOK? is dum. Actually, the crossword that comes with the NOOK is dumb. Get this instead!! :-)

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1