Customer Reviews for

Crow Lake

Average Rating 4
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2004

    Moves into my top 10 of all times

    It was 15 below zero and windy outside my house as I sat reading Crow Lake,, and yet Mary Lawson had me laying on my belly, peering into a pond teeming with tadpoles and waterbugs. It was a beautiful story of survival and love of family. I will be first in line when her next book hits the shelves.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2004

    So sad to come to the end....

    One of the most enjoyable books I have ever read! It was a beautiful, and touching, story about how we view the world and our loved ones in it and how they view themselves. A real thought provoking journey...I fell in love with the characters, felt I knew them and wanted to continue to be a part of their lives. Beautifully written, the descriptions make you feel you are there....

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2003

    Could not put it down!

    Excellent book! I just could not put it down! I wanted to know more about what happened with Kate and Daniel, her family, etc when I was finished. Definitely a great read for anyone!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2010

    Unknowingly, I read the book twice. After I got a few pages in, I realized it, but my first reading was years ago and the book seemed so interesting that I continued on with it for the second time. I was not disappointed and you will not be either.

    It is a tender tale which begins with the memories of a seven year child after her family suffers a devastating loss and progresses over the next twenty years. We watch as problems, arise and are resolved, often with unintended consequences. It is a tale about overcoming disaster, about not letting anything stand in your way if you want it enough. Poverty, tragedy, loss, all of these, in and of themselves, are not deterrents to success but they often breed ignorance and in some instances even violence. Education is the key to moving forward but love, dedication and responsibility trump all else and provide the courage necessary to surmount all of the obstacles placed before them on life's journey.
    It is a book about the effect that just one decision, one mistake of judgment, can have on the rest of your life. It is about accepting what has been handed to you and finding peace within those boundaries. It is about discovering truths about yourself. It is about making lemonade when life hands you lemons. It is about rebuilding and repairing relationships and emotional wounds. It is simply, about life, warts and all.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2010

    Beautifully Written

    This story is about a family that has to face a terrible tragedy and how much 2 brothers are willing to sacrifice for their sisters. I was very touched by the relationships and the struggles between the siblings and how much they loved each other. The writing flowed nicely and I was interested in the characters and their relationships both as children and adults. This was one of the best books I've read in a long time and am looking forward to reading her newest book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2004

    A totally enjoyable read!!

    What a pleasure to read! It was such a joy I just want to know what happened next....made me think of my own family and the places we 'occupy' and I loved the beautiful descriptions....felt like I was there myself!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2004

    A Must Read for All!!

    One of the best I've read in recent 'history'. Enjoyed it so much I've chosen it for my upcoming Book Club meeting. Can't wait for her next book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2003

    A nice Autumn read!

    I look to many of BN reviews to discover new books, that is how I came to this one and it was such a treat. I had to reread many sentences because they sounded so lyrical and moving. The author was brillant in her writing style, can't wait for more!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2003

    Amazingly Beautiful

    This is my all-time favorite book. The prose is so beautifully written you can't put it down. Lawson has a style of writing that catches your attention from the first sentence. I love this book and can't wait for her next!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2006

    Couldn't put it down

    I too really enjoyed this book, was sad to see it end, and felt connected to the characters. The love and adoration Kate had for Matt was touching. I expected the family's 'crisis' to be more dramatic, there was tremendous build-up to how the Morrison's 'forever became connected to the Pye family.' Overall, however, I really enjoyed it. The author did a great job capturing the characters' personalities well, especially Bo who I found to be very funny. I couldn't put this book down and would recommend it to anyone who loves reading about the drama within a family.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2005

    Loved it!

    Crow Lake is an excellent choice for readers who love an indepth look into life's struggles and interpersonal relationships. Unique and memorable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2004

    Painful beauty

    Once I entered the world of Morrisons and Pyes, I couldn't leave until the end. I just finished it and still feel as if I'm a part of their world. Amidst the pain and tribulation there was beauty and love, but Kate just couldn't see it and I feel as if her blindness and resentment broke my heart along with Matt's. I almost feel as if Lawson wrote it specifically to be cheerless because I can't imagine a situation so sad. A phenominal book but probably the saddest I've read in a long time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2004

    Wonderful Book-in the top three fiction books of my life

    I literally felt bereft when this book ended and I had to say goodbye to the characters. This book is moving, beautifully written and captures the essence of family. I loved this book so much-I can't stop thinking about the characters and events.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2004

    I Read It in One Afternoon

    All I can say is that I'm sorry I read it as quickly as I did. An important reminder that one person's values and disappointments are not the same as anothers. As well as a really good read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2004

    Wonderful

    Beautifully written, kept my attention all the way through. Wonderful

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2014

    A slow moving story, one that I could not put down. Great read!

    A slow moving story, one that I could not put down. Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Brokenstar

    I'm locked out too. But I heard somebody say that we could do it at new base.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excruciatingly Awful

    The people who apparantly "read this in one sitting" must have one-dimensional minds, because this is one of the worst books I've ever come across. I am a very avid reader, reading approximately 3-4 books a week, and having a strong passion for fiction and storytelling, and I can tell you that this is NOT recommended reading. Actually, you know what, I'd say I DO recommend it, just so that you can see for yourself how truly terrible it is. I have no praise whatsoever about this book, not even one thing, which is rare in my case. I didn't even like the characters. Kate was THE most self-pitying, boring, cardboard-like character I've ever met. And there is no plot. It's nonexistant. Or, rather, it's hidden somewhere in between the monotonous words and unstructured writing style that is frankly so bland your eyes scroll over the words that your brain rejects.

    If you like stories about stubborn, argumental (I'm not sure if that's even a word, but it should be in this case) people and a book that overall gives off a mood of melancholy and the color gray, lacking all forms of humour and happiness and character development and storyline and emotion, this will probably be your favorite book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    crow lake was a well written book and enjoyed by ALL of our book club members

    Always interesting to observe how small towns and close knit families work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2003

    great book, great writer!

    Crow Lake is beautifully described by the narrator, Kate Morrison and well written by the author, Mary Lawson. You have to read this book more than once to really understand the whole concept of Crow Lake. I would definetely read it again!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3