Customer Reviews for

The Crown Conspiracy (Riyria Revelations Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 27, 2008

    Book one of six! 4.5 stars

    Set in the fantasy world of Elan. Royce Melborn and Hadrian Blackwater are independent thieves-for-hire (a.k.a. guildless). None are better than they in the art of procurement. Most of their clients are nobles. They are hired to steal a sword from within the castle of the royal family, but they quickly learn that it is a set up. King Amrath has been murdered and the two men are the scapegoats. <BR/><BR/>Prince Alric Brendon Essendon is devastated and sentences the thieves to die come the dawn. However, Princess Arista knows they are innocent. Fearing for her brother's life, Arista helps them escape and convinces them to kidnap the prince. Royce and Hadrian are to escort Alric to a hidden prison, where time stands still, and have the prince speak with its sole prisoner, Esrahaddon. Once done, Prince Alric understands the traitorous plot unfolding before him. The thieves become the temporary "Royal Protectors" and the prince begins his campaign to retake his kingdom and rescue his sister. <BR/><BR/>***** Though it is obvious from the start who the main traitor is (at least it is to me), this story is very well done. I am very impressed with the timeless prison and the character of Esrahaddon. I hope to see more of the wizard in future novels. This is the first of a six book series and the lucky ones will catch each as they are released. I can hardly wait for the next book, "Avempartha" (April 2009). If it is half as good as this first story, then the author will have a winning series on his hands. Excellent! ***** <BR/><BR/>Reviewed by Detra Fitch of Huntress Reviews.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    Excellent and Exciting. Best I've read in years.

    One of the best I've read in years. It was very fast paced that I literally could not put it down. If only more books were this good. I never rate a book 5 stars unless it is very, very good and I've read hundreds and hundreds of fantasy and Sci Book, so many that I've forgotten what I've read over the reads. Enter the Nook. Hard to believed Michael Sullivan had to publish his own books. What were people thinking. Final Orbit is repackaging his books into two-book volumes and re-publishing them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    Wild Ride From Start to Finish

    The Crown Conspiracy by Michael J. Sullivan was one wild ride from start to finish. Filled with action, betrayal and mystery, I was either on the edge of my seat with anticipation or laughing at the quirky comedy. The relationship between two of the main characters, Royce and Hadrian, was a pleasure to read. Not only does it have all the elements of a great friendship where in the heat of the moment, battling to save their lives, they still take time out to poke fun at each other. If Mr. Sullivan can fit this much excitement and adventure into just the first book, I can't wait to see what he has come up for the rest of the series! I can quickly see this book series working its way up my 'Favorite Book Series' list! Keep up the great work Mr. Sullivan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2010

    A GREAT READ!!

    Just a really fun read. I have completely fallen for this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    Fresh idea in a land of fantastical legends.

    The Crown Conspiracy is a totally refreshing fantasy journey. This is not one of the typical "farm boy is destined to save the world" books. Two friendly and fun loving thieves find themselves entangled in a big BIG mess - involving the death of the king and are forced to kidnap a prince.

    Michael J. Sullivan has taken an epic adventure of magic and sword fighting, and breathed new life into it. His talent for word crafting and imagery makes this book one of those you just can't put down until the last page is turned. And by the end, you have made two very dear friends: Royce Melborn and Hadrian Blackwater.

    HIGHLY recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    One of the Best Fantasy Series'

    The Crown Conspiracy is one of the most exceptionally well written fantasy novels to date! I started the book at around 3PM and did not put it down except to eat. Michael Sullivan has a wonderful ability to keep the reader engaged with numerous unexpected events and turning points, all adding to the plot and character development.

    I eagerly await the third book (and on)!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2008

    Great Book! Exciting New Author!

    Thrilling, Captivating, Amazing are some of the first words that came to mind when I finished this book last night. I stayed up late into the night to finish this book, so that is a sign that I loved it. One of the better sword and sorcery books that I have come across in a while.<BR/><BR/>This book was a take back to the fantasy books that have quests, magic, and great characters and plots. At first I wasn't sure if I was really going to bond with any of the characters, but to my delight I found myself loving Royce and Hadrian. There was a touch of humor that didn't come across as forced, a lot of books try to force the reader to laugh and I found myself chuckling at a couple of the jokes between the two.<BR/><BR/>There is a tiny bit of magic and of course a wizard, which isn't too complicated. I think this is great for anyone that is a fantasy lover or for teens who are starting out in the fantasy section of their library. I get frustrated when the magic in books is so complicated I feel I have to take notes, this wasn't the case at all.<BR/><BR/>The plot was swift but not swift enough that I found myself lost or parts over looked.Sullivan had a real skill in keeping the plot going and knowing just when to throw that curve ball in the plot or at what time it was perfect to reveal a certain crucial part of the plot to the readers! I was never left waiting too long to find out when something was going to happen but I was still sitting on the edge of my seat waiting for the next part of the book.<BR/><BR/>I loved that it was a stand alone novel of a series. The plot was wrapped up but there were parts of the book that were left open for the next book and the series beyond. A lot of series force the reader to wait till the next book to learn more, Sullivan can keep a reader and continue a series without leaving major cliff hanger and helps with the frustration of having to wait years for a book!<BR/><BR/>It's hard to find something to complain about in this book. Like any first time writers I look forward to seeing Sullivan grow as an author and I hope that in future books we get to know some more characters.<BR/><BR/>I highly recommend reading this book, whether your a fantasy lover or just looking to start out in it. I personally have recommended it to my family and anyone that will listen to read. It was good to see a lovely written fantasy/adventure novel. This book has found a place on my reading shelves next to my Terry Brooks books and of course Harry Potter. I really can't wait till the next book in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2008

    A fun fantasy with twists and great characters

    This book is fun end to end. The two main characters are funny, touching, and seem they feel like old friends. It is unlike many fantasy novels where standard cliques are rampent. There is no orphan, magical weapon, ancient evil...just two guys in the wrong place at the wrong time. <BR/><BR/>The story moves along seemlessly and the characters react logically and true to character. There are a number of mysteries that you figure out just at the right time. While the story is complete and end to end it is obvious there is more to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1