BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Crown of Swords (Wheel of Time Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 461 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(321)

4 Star

(87)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

A Fantastic Book! ( advise you skip this review if you haven't read the book)

This was a great book. In the previous books, Jordan touched lightly on the relationship between Lan and Nynaeve. Finally, they have gotten married. I was also curious as to how things would fall out between Min and Rand and also Elayne and Avendia. This book reaches de...
This was a great book. In the previous books, Jordan touched lightly on the relationship between Lan and Nynaeve. Finally, they have gotten married. I was also curious as to how things would fall out between Min and Rand and also Elayne and Avendia. This book reaches deeper into topics it had touched only lightly before. I have heard many complain that the time between the books is too long and I do agree, but I do ask one question. Can a man right a 900 page book, get it revised over and over again and get it all published in less than a year like everyone wants? Just a small question. :-)

posted by Anonymous on September 26, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Broken Wheel of Time...

This series has lost its shine and the plot veer too much into unnecessary side tracks, smoothing of skirts and inconsequential story about the yapping of the Aes Sedai or the Wise Ones. The entirety of the book could have been compressed into 2-3 chapters. The ending s...
This series has lost its shine and the plot veer too much into unnecessary side tracks, smoothing of skirts and inconsequential story about the yapping of the Aes Sedai or the Wise Ones. The entirety of the book could have been compressed into 2-3 chapters. The ending seems to be an after-thought (trust me, it's an anti-climate how Sammauel is taken care of) and yet again, the 3 female characters are a constant annoyance. I'm reading it to completion yet to see how Brandon completes the "plot". Sigh...

posted by mouselim on September 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 468 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2001

    A Fantastic Book! ( advise you skip this review if you haven't read the book)

    This was a great book. In the previous books, Jordan touched lightly on the relationship between Lan and Nynaeve. Finally, they have gotten married. I was also curious as to how things would fall out between Min and Rand and also Elayne and Avendia. This book reaches deeper into topics it had touched only lightly before. I have heard many complain that the time between the books is too long and I do agree, but I do ask one question. Can a man right a 900 page book, get it revised over and over again and get it all published in less than a year like everyone wants? Just a small question. :-)

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    Broken Wheel of Time...

    This series has lost its shine and the plot veer too much into unnecessary side tracks, smoothing of skirts and inconsequential story about the yapping of the Aes Sedai or the Wise Ones. The entirety of the book could have been compressed into 2-3 chapters. The ending seems to be an after-thought (trust me, it's an anti-climate how Sammauel is taken care of) and yet again, the 3 female characters are a constant annoyance. I'm reading it to completion yet to see how Brandon completes the "plot". Sigh...

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Cant put it down-just like the rest of the series.

    This whole series has got to be my all time favorite. I Read what books were available when i was a teenager. Now near 50 Reading them a second and third time was as entertaining as first and wont be the last time i revisit tjis fantasy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Sucked in. More like Suckered.

    The series started out incredible until now. This book is the most over worded piece of garbage i've read in a long time. Its obvious that jordan had to fulfill a 12 book series so he had to stick as many words as possible to attain that. This book could have been awesome if he had cut it down to 6-700 pages. Thats how overworded this story is. And the next one is reading the same so far. I'm rather upset at this point and am questioning finishing the series. If i read nynaeve pull her braid one more time the only One Power is going to be my hand pushing the lever to flush this thing down the John.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Awesome

    if you read the first 6 how can you not read 7?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2005

    you just want more

    This book provides more winding, interlinking plots. The characters become more real to the reader and this coupled with the 'big ending' make this another fabulous book in the Wheel Of Time series leaving you begging for the next one. Finishing this series will leave a void in your life you cannot replace...ever

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2004

    The Best One

    Book 7 of the Wheel of Time does not disappoint fans. It holds you in its grasp throughout the whole book. It makes you want to keep reading to find out what happens between Rand and Sammael...A GREAT READ!!!!!, looking forward to the next one!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2000

    The Storm is Coming

    As good as any other title of the series. To those of you who think nothing happened in this book, I say, re-read it! True, none of the major plots were wrapped up or even brought any closer to conclusion, but there were some interesting developments and some new questions were posed. But, is the plot all this series is about? No! It's also about the characters and the setting. There was some genuine fun to be had in this book as Mat was made to squirm for Queen Tylin and it was sad (and kind of frightening) to see the changes Rand went through in this book. One truly begins to wonder if the madness has seized the Dragon Reborn. If one thing detracted from this book, it had, what I believe to be, a rather abrupt ending. Still, I look forward to reading 'The Path of Daggers,' and seeing what new things happen in the lives of our heroes and what new things may happen in the plot.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 1999

    Can't get enough

    'Even though the books seem quite long they are for the most part fast reading and have me following the story very closely practically living it'

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2014

    Well written book

    A great story, Well written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    Freerunner19

    Sup E.P?-FR

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Bearowner20

    Awekward!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    UNGARD


    ()===([:::::::::::::::::::::::>

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    F

    O

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Highly recommended

    A great continuation in the wheel of Time series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Really Recommend This Book

    I really loved this book and would totally recommend it to anyone!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2010

    wow

    the plot thickens as mutiple protagonists fight for their lives just to stay afloat.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2003

    Another Great Hit!

    THE BEST YET! IT HOLDS YOU IN SUSPENSE WHILE YOU WAIT FOR THE FIGHT BETWEEN RAND AND SAMMAEL. THOUGH IT ALSO SLOWS UP HERE, WE HAVE TO REALIZE IT IS AN EPIC, AND THAT IT IS GOING TO TAKE TIME TO REACH THE LAST BATTLE.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2003

    Deepening the rift amongst the Chosen

    Obviously a must read for WoT fans. A Crown of Swords deepens the rift forming amongst the Chosen (aka Forsaken), specifically Sammael's and Moghedien's ability (or lack thereof) to follow orders and spread Chaos throughout Randland. While the ending is a little blurry and somewhat anti-climactic, readers may be surprised at who turns out to lend the Dragon Reborn a helping hand.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2003

    Best one yet

    While the beginning is an extansion of the last books ending, the rest of the book goes by real fast. Lots of things happen in this book, Rand finally goes on the offenseive. Finally we get to see more of Min, a character that is a lot more interesting then some of the other main characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 468 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24