Customer Reviews for

Crown of Vengeance

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

This book is a superb addition to the Obsidian Trilogy family. I

This book is a superb addition to the Obsidian Trilogy family. I loved the first trilogy, and enjoyed the second. I have been waiting quite a while for this book and it did not let me down! Crown of Vengeance is a great beginning to a new series in a world that is thoro...
This book is a superb addition to the Obsidian Trilogy family. I loved the first trilogy, and enjoyed the second. I have been waiting quite a while for this book and it did not let me down! Crown of Vengeance is a great beginning to a new series in a world that is thoroughly enjoyable! Great job again Mercedes Lackey and James Mallory. You did not disappoint!

posted by BibliomaniacWA on November 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Do the ends justify the means?

Machiavelli is alive and well in the minds of Mr Mallory and Ms Lackey. Great story line, but it's hard to follow because so much effort goes into the pronunciation of names or coming up with "nicknames" to make the reading easier,

posted by DickMillerOH on April 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 17, 2012

    This book is a superb addition to the Obsidian Trilogy family. I

    This book is a superb addition to the Obsidian Trilogy family. I loved the first trilogy, and enjoyed the second. I have been waiting quite a while for this book and it did not let me down! Crown of Vengeance is a great beginning to a new series in a world that is thoroughly enjoyable! Great job again Mercedes Lackey and James Mallory. You did not disappoint!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome Book!! I wasn't a huge Mercedes Lackey fan before readin

    Awesome Book!!
    I wasn't a huge Mercedes Lackey fan before reading this book. I am now. What a fabulous story. I can count on one hand how many books I pick up and read straight through. This is one of those books. I like my fantasy to be epic in scope and "Crown of Vengeance" does not disappoint. I am anxiously awaiting Books II & III of The Dragon Prophecy. I love how the prophecy is not easily explained either. I was just as confused as the characters were, concerning the 'Song of Amrethion'. I really didn't have a problem with the numerous long names as others did. What's the point of calling it "fantasy" and then having characters with names like Steve? Vieliessar knows what must be done and knows she is the one to do it. Another big plus for me was Vieliessar didn't do alot of self-loathing which alot of authors make their characters do for some reason. This book was reminiscent of Karen Miller's Godspeaker Trilogy (at least to me). If you love EPIC fantasy, then you should give "Crown of Vengeance" a once-over.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Promising first book

    Amazing first book. Great, interesting characters interact in a beautifully crafted world. Though the story may be high or epic fantasy, it isn't your good ol' cliche filled piece of crap. My only problem is that I have to wait for the second installment. Brilliant story!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Do the ends justify the means?

    Machiavelli is alive and well in the minds of Mr Mallory and Ms Lackey. Great story line, but it's hard to follow because so much effort goes into the pronunciation of names or coming up with "nicknames" to make the reading easier,

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Can not wait for the next installment. I loved the The Obsidian

    Can not wait for the next installment. I loved the The Obsidian Mountain Trilogy and this is the predecessor. It is something that I will reread.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2013

    An excellent addition to Ms. Lackey's Obsidian Trilogy.  This bo

    An excellent addition to Ms. Lackey's Obsidian Trilogy.  This book lays the groundwork for Queen  Vielissiar Faricarnon's birth and childhood.  A well written and exceptional read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Ember

    My heart shatters <p> You left me alone <p> In this dark world of lonliness <p> But I wasnt alone <p> You were there <p> now your gone <p> My love, where did you go?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    To much over all

    This book was long winded and tidious. Not like her other books which i love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Awesome book

    This was a great book i can not wait for the next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    When is book 2 out

    When is book 2 out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    This book was amazing :) I am already so excited for the next on

    This book was amazing :) I am already so excited for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    Josh

    Boring never:(:(:

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1