Customer Reviews for

The Crowning Glory of Calla Lily Ponder

Average Rating 4
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Worth the Wait

As expected, Rebecca Wells does not disappoint. The story of Calla Lily Ponder has all the Louisiana flair of Wells' previous tales of the Ya-Yas, with plenty of realism, fantasy, romance, and laughter to go around. The book was a tad slow in the first chapter, but qu...
As expected, Rebecca Wells does not disappoint. The story of Calla Lily Ponder has all the Louisiana flair of Wells' previous tales of the Ya-Yas, with plenty of realism, fantasy, romance, and laughter to go around. The book was a tad slow in the first chapter, but quickly thereafter grabbed me and pulled me in so I didn't want to put it down. I have been waiting for a very good Southern tale to compete with my love of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood trilogy, and this one certainly did, following Calla from childhood through to early adulthood. I highly recommend it to anyone that enjoys this type of Fiction.

posted by Marley1079 on July 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Definitely not the Ya-Ya Sisterhood...

I was very excited to read this book and must say that I was a bit disappointed by the time I finished the last page. As always, Wells provides a luscious Louisiana back drop for her setting and the comradery shared amongst women makes your heart swell with the want fo...
I was very excited to read this book and must say that I was a bit disappointed by the time I finished the last page. As always, Wells provides a luscious Louisiana back drop for her setting and the comradery shared amongst women makes your heart swell with the want for a big 'ol girls' night out. The book, however, is filled with references to the Moon Lady that I found a bit too far out and that didn't really improve the story. I would have been much more interested in the development of a better story line for Calla Lily than useless tales of a mysterious celestial goddess overseeing the character during her day-to-day life. The plot is one that has been used many times girl loves boy, boy leaves girl and finally they reunite but with Wells' gift for the written word one would hope for less predictability. Bottom line- easy read that will pass the time at the beach but not a book you will remember next year.

posted by Martinbaby1 on August 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted July 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Worth the Wait

    As expected, Rebecca Wells does not disappoint. The story of Calla Lily Ponder has all the Louisiana flair of Wells' previous tales of the Ya-Yas, with plenty of realism, fantasy, romance, and laughter to go around. The book was a tad slow in the first chapter, but quickly thereafter grabbed me and pulled me in so I didn't want to put it down. I have been waiting for a very good Southern tale to compete with my love of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood trilogy, and this one certainly did, following Calla from childhood through to early adulthood. I highly recommend it to anyone that enjoys this type of Fiction.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it!!

    I was able to download the audio version of this book, and it was so well read with all the emotions the characters were feeling. I found myselft crying during various parts of the book. I loved the audio version so much that I went ahead and bought the hardcover version as well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Definitely not the Ya-Ya Sisterhood...

    I was very excited to read this book and must say that I was a bit disappointed by the time I finished the last page. As always, Wells provides a luscious Louisiana back drop for her setting and the comradery shared amongst women makes your heart swell with the want for a big 'ol girls' night out. The book, however, is filled with references to the Moon Lady that I found a bit too far out and that didn't really improve the story. I would have been much more interested in the development of a better story line for Calla Lily than useless tales of a mysterious celestial goddess overseeing the character during her day-to-day life. The plot is one that has been used many times girl loves boy, boy leaves girl and finally they reunite but with Wells' gift for the written word one would hope for less predictability. Bottom line- easy read that will pass the time at the beach but not a book you will remember next year.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2000

    waitng for this book

    Rebeecca Wells book set was a bonus in my small collection, I am rereading Little Alters agian to lighten my summmer job, what a joy!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I absolutely loved this book and was sad to see it end.  I flew

    I absolutely loved this book and was sad to see it end.  I flew through it this summer and passed it on to my sister-in-law who also loved it!  I will never look at the moon without thinking of the love in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I have the privilege of reading and doing it quite a lot of it.

    I have the privilege of reading and doing it quite a lot of it. When a book can move me to spasms of fear (falling into a river were snakes are seen makes me want my Momma), cry with laughter, shake with outrage, all within the space of a few pages, I know that I am reading something exceptional.  Rebecca Wells takes the first 28 years of a fictional young lady and causes the reader to live with her in the heat and humidity of Louisiana, through the pain of growing up and rejoicing in every minute of that life.  Judith Ivey’s voice abilities bring to life all the characters so richly created by Ms. Wells, hearing this charming story aloud is a like a trip to a long anticipated family reunion.
    Calla Lilly Ponder is born in on the banks of the La Luna River, in the town of La Luna, Louisiana, in 1953.  She was delivered of M’Dear, her mother, beloved of her father and two older brothers.  Her childhood was filled with the wonder found in a town where “everybody knows and cares about everybody.”  M’Dear is a gifted hair dresser and Calla has inherited the gifts associated with that profession.  Early, Calla Lilly knew her life would be devoted to helping others look better and offering the healing that comes with being touched by compassionate hands.  After life gave her sufficient occasions for growth in La Luna, she heads to New Orleans to attain the formal training that began at M’Dear’s knee.  While there, she learns the reality of life, in all its wonder, hurt, success, betrayal and joining it can offer.  The ending is the weakest moment of this otherwise excellent novel, but it is not so weak as to detract from the delight that precedes it.
    There is nothing particular to which one can point that would cause this a story to be one the reader does not want to pause in its reading nor arrive at its end. It most definitely is one that I would “find” time to attend to at every available (or created) moment and I was sad when the last word was spoken.  All of the characters are well developed, well rounded and alive.  The plot is set in a time when life was slower, but was gaining speed with a rapid pace.  Ms. Wells has a gift for reaching the reader in the heart of life and holding them in place as that heart beats a steady, life affirming rhythm. A rhythm that is as familiar as the face in the mirror.  
    The major theme of the book is the reminder that life lived to its fullest is a life that is lived with openness, acceptance and bravery.  It is filled with delightful events that occur with frequency, occasionally there are horrific moments that seem never to end and impact life in ways that will leave scars that will remain as long as we have breath.  Its days are filled with nothing notable but the constancy of friends that turn into a living that is a wonderful whole made up of those moments unnoticed.  This is the current that carries the book from the page to the heart of the reader – open your heart to life or miss living.  
    I have yet to read Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood, Ms. Wells’s first novel, and that is an error I hope to soon rectify.  If it is anything near the read that this book is, it will be a too long in coming and its visit will be far too short.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Fabulous read!

    Great story!!! Loved it!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Great read!

    I enjoyed this book. I think anyone could read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2011

    loved it

    Loved this book. Thoroughly enjoyed how Louisiana was described!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wanted more.

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    LOVE LOVE LOVE it!

    I am so sad it finished so soon. Sad at times, but really beautiful overall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    disappointed

    I was very disappointed with this book. Being a Ya Ya. fan, I thought the writing amatuer and forced myself to finish the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    It's a fun book

    It's a book that will make you laugh and make you cry, but over all it is just a fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book! Excellent writer!

    The characters are wonderful! Love the south!!! Especially New Orleans! Will share with friends and family! I also loved the author's other books!! Must read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Imagine living your life in a small town called La Luna in Louisiana your whole life.

    You can remember spending time at the corner grocery store getting a bottle of Coke from the old red and white cooler while sitting under the ceiling fan on a hot and muggy summer day hoping for the afternoon thunderstorm to come and cool you off. Other times, you would spend lazy days with friends and a picnic lunch at the river taking turns on the rope swing and seeing who could do the biggest cannon ball.

    One day your mom gets breast cancer, something that you hardly can understand back then but something you think will get better the more times she goes to the doctor and the more treatments she gets. Your mom and you have a close relationship, closer than anyone in the world could possibly understand.

    Your mother has been teaching you about healing hands while she makes the customers in her beauty shop, called the "Crowning Glory" feel more beautiful and alive than when they came in. She shows you that you too, have such a gift and you decide that when you grow up that is just what you will do, follow in your momma's footsteps.

    In The Crowing Glory of Calla Lily Ponder by Rebecca Wells, author of Divine Secrets of the YA-YA Sisterhood, we read of Calla Lily Ponder's childhood as described above and how she grows into the woman she is today. The losses and loves that come and go in her life and how the call of her small town of La Luna beckon her back like the moon she talks to when she gets lonely at night.

    I had the wonderful privilege of receiving a complimentary copy of this book from TLC Book tours and have to tell you this is one of my most favorite books I have read so far. I felt like I was living the life of Calla Lily and the charm of the town she called home.

    If you would love to know more about this book, the author and even where to pick up a copy of this book, please click on the link below:

    http://tlcbooktours.com/2010/03/rebecca-wells-author-of-the-crowning-glory-of-calla-lily-ponder-on-tour-aprilmay-2010/

    More information about the author Rebecca Wells can be found here:
    http://www.rebeccawellsbooks.com/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Little Disappointing

    Overall, I enjoyed it. But the first half was much better than the second half.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2010

    A lovely, poignant story!!

    Rebecca Wells has beautifully written an engaging coming-of-age story that is rich with emotion. Beginning with her 1950's childhood, it follows Calla Lily Ponder's bittersweet journey into adulthood guided by the Moon Lady. While growing up in tiny La Luna, Louisiana, Calla is surrounded by the love of her family, friends and the neighborhood women gathered at her beloved mother's beauty salon. Her dream is to follow in her mother's footsteps.healing women's hearts while fixing their hair. But soon, tragedy strikes and Calla leaves for vibrant New Orleans, where her adventures change her life forever.

    Ms. Wells is a gifted storyteller. She has masterfully created an engaging storyline with a wonderful cast of endearing, compelling characters, and a sweet, loving relationship between mother and daughter. She does a magnificent job describing the essence of life in a small southern town. An enchanting spiritual element was beautifully woven throughout. As entertaining as this story was, it did include important lessons about life, friendship and the resilience of the human spirit. I really loved this thoroughly enjoyable book and I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Delightful Read!

    Rolling ride of Calla Lily, planted in Loisiana soil. When Calla Lily's heart is broken at a young age, (something most of us can relate to!), she decides to follow in her mother's footsteps, perfecting her magic by going to L'Academie de Beaute de Crescent to become a beautician. It's a story of family, love lost - found - lost and refound. It's a taste of Cajun. I do have two regrets. I wish there was a cookbook to go with this! And the other regret? It ended! Write on, Rebecca. Write on!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2009

    Loved this book.

    I have waited impatiently for a new book by Rebecca Wells. The Crowning Glory of Calla Lily Ponder did not disappoint. It was a good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2009

    What a wonderful way to spend the weekend, in Louisiana!

    Rebecca Wells gets it right. Growing up with loss at a young age, falling in love, finding a career and all with the gloss of the humid, twangy Mississippi Delta upon it. Her characters are endearing and we know people just like them. I highly recommend this lovely book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5