Customer Reviews for

Cruel Summer

Average Rating 3.5
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Cute quick read

Teen girls will love CRUEL SUMMER by Alyson Noel. The story is told using letters home, the journal her mother gave her, "Colby's Journal For Desperate Times...," and her new blog. The range of emotions, devastating lows to breathtaking highs, and the intense feeling th...
Teen girls will love CRUEL SUMMER by Alyson Noel. The story is told using letters home, the journal her mother gave her, "Colby's Journal For Desperate Times...," and her new blog. The range of emotions, devastating lows to breathtaking highs, and the intense feeling that everything affects her is so authentic. The reader will relate to her habit of over-thinking every comment, gesture, or word of an email, and the insecurity she feels around Yannis. I loved this book and totally devoured it. For this reason, I give it five stars!

posted by Tidbitsofscott on September 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Dissapointed in Cruel Summer. On the Nook it is only 125 pages a

Dissapointed in Cruel Summer. On the Nook it is only 125 pages and it is $9.99. I had a lot of trouble connecting with Colby, the main character, yet both of us are the same age and have been through many of the same things. The first fifty pages or so are dedicated to ...
Dissapointed in Cruel Summer. On the Nook it is only 125 pages and it is $9.99. I had a lot of trouble connecting with Colby, the main character, yet both of us are the same age and have been through many of the same things. The first fifty pages or so are dedicated to her compaining about her life rather than an actual plot or depth to the story. However, it is a cute and short read and is written in blog entries and letters!

posted by 11673650 on May 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Cute quick read

    Teen girls will love CRUEL SUMMER by Alyson Noel. The story is told using letters home, the journal her mother gave her, "Colby's Journal For Desperate Times...," and her new blog. The range of emotions, devastating lows to breathtaking highs, and the intense feeling that everything affects her is so authentic. The reader will relate to her habit of over-thinking every comment, gesture, or word of an email, and the insecurity she feels around Yannis. I loved this book and totally devoured it. For this reason, I give it five stars!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Ananymous

    I read this book in like three hours and I loved it. Alyson Noel is my favorite author and I was hooked after I read her Immortals series. I couldn't put it down. I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    OMG!!!!! BEST. BOOK. EVER!!!!!!!

    It captured my interesst from the very first word i read. It was just such a wonderful book. Yannis an Colby where my favorite characters, Yannis especially. I just wish i could have a boyfriend like him! Reading this book made me want to go to Tinos and experience it all for myself!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    Made a journ based on the title

    Cruel summer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    loved it

    I thought this was an awesome book. I read it fast. It was cute, teen girls will defiantly love this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    :)

    This book deserves two thumbs up! From start to finish i was drawn in and continuosly intrigued with the constant change of events! The setting was picture perfect and characters well developed! Lastly, the format was my favorite part. Constant letters, emails and journal entries! Fun, exciting read! Definitely worth the money!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    Great teen book..classic story line with great special teen twists..finding yourself

    Teen finding herself on the greek island of Tinos. Great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Cana Rensberger for TeensReadToo.com

    Colby Cavendish has finally made it into the in crowd! She worked hard to gain Amanda's favor and now she's her new best friend. She's practically guaranteed the best Senior year ever! As an added bonus, Levi Bonham, the hottest guy in school, has suddenly become very interested in Colby! So interested that she's actually sitting right next to him on the couch at Amanda's house. <BR/><BR/>Okay, so Colby's just a little nervous that it's their first date...well, not even really a date. She's alone downstairs kissing Levi like she's always dreamed, like they'd been dating for forever, while Amanda is upstairs in her room with her guy. And Colby can't stop thinking about her curfew, which, by the way, passed, like, two hours ago. But at least she's stopped feeling guilty about dumping her former best friend, Natalie. Sometimes you have to make sacrifices in order to progress up the social ladder. It's just part of life. Right? <BR/><BR/>Colby's parents are in the middle of a messy, angry divorce. Turns out they were so engrossed in their fight of the night, that they didn't even know Colby missed her curfew. It seems they barely remember they have a daughter, whose life they are royally screwing up. Then Colby finds out they have plans for her summer that don't include hitting the malls and becoming fully entrenched in her new social order. <BR/><BR/>They are sending her to Greece. No, not Athens. A tiny little island called Tinos. No amount of ranting, reasoning, pleading, or even crying will change their mind. Colby boards the plane bound for three months with Crazy Aunt Tally and no TV, no computer, no Wi-Fi. Nothing. How is she supposed to maintain her new social status? What if Colby gets replaced by a new Amanda Wanna-Be? <BR/><BR/>But soon things are looking up. First, there's Yannis, this really cute Greek guy who's living on Tinos! And second? She found an Internet café! Score! She is alive again! Maybe she can ignore the parent wars. But why was Yannis with Marie? And should she tell him that she's going to island hop to Mykonos to meet Levi, who's on a cruise to Greece? And her parents are going to sell the house as part of the divorce settlement? She might be spending her Senior year in Arizona? <BR/><BR/>Teen girls will totally love CRUEL SUMMER by Alyson Noël. The story is told using letters home, the journal her mother gave her, "Colby's Journal For Desperate Times...," and her new blog. The range of emotions, devastating lows to breathtaking highs, and the intense feeling that everything affects her is so authentic. The reader will relate to her habit of over-thinking every comment, gesture, or word of an email, and the insecurity she feels around Yannis. I loved this book and totally devoured it. For this reason, I give it five stars!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2008

    Amazing

    Colbie Cavendish is looking forward to a fun summer spenet partying with her new (and über-popular) circle of friends. Unfortunately, her fighting parents decide to send her to a tiny Greek island no one¿s ever heard of to stay with her crazy aunt Tally. This is practically unforgivable to Colbie since she¿ll only have minimal contact with her new friends (email) and is worried they¿ll forget her. But when Colbie finally takes a break from being depressed about her vacation when she spends mostly in an Internet café, she realizes that maybe she should be out living instead of mourning all the changes to her old life. And that¿s when she meets Yannis, a gorgeous Greek guy who¿s just as interested in her as she is in him. It seems Colbie¿s vacation isn¿t as miserable as she thought it would be it changes her perspective on her entire life. I really enjoyed Alyson Noël¿s writing in her other novels that I¿ve read, Faking 19 and Saving Zoë, and Cruel Summer was no different. While the plot isn¿t fast-paced and exciting, it¿s the well-developed characters that really caught my attention, though in this case, Colbie was the only well-developed character as the story was told from her point-of-view. Alyson Noël has a subtle way of making her stories much deeper and more meaningful than they may appear on the surface, and this makes them seem real. For example, Colbie is initially portrayed as a whiny and insecure girl, but as her vacation progresses, she starts to appreciate or at least accept what she has in life. I also liked how romance was incorporated into Colbie¿s story, because she really deserved Yannis in the midst of all her other problems. In all, Cruel Summer was a very enjoyable story and, despite the cover, much better than just a beach read. In a strange way, although none of her novels rank very high among my favorites, Alyson Noël is one of my favorite authors. It¿s not just because she¿s an Orange County resident like me and often writes about that setting Alyson Noël just has a really great writing style. I definitely recommend Cruel Summer as well as her other novels that I¿ve read, Faking 19 and Saving Zoë. I also look forward to reading Art Geeks and Prom Queens and Kiss & Blog sometime in the future.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2008

    A reviewer

    omg!!!! best boook by far!! makes you wanna go to greece && fall in love. or fall in love all over again. i recommend this book :]. really kept me entertained. i read it in one day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2008

    Best book ever!!!

    Cruel summer is totally amazing!!! I loved every sentence! I couldn't put it down. AWESOME!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2