Customer Reviews for

The Cruelest Miles: The Heroic Story of Dogs and Men in a Race Against an Epidemic

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    The Cruelest Miles - great reading!

    I work at a university and this book was selected for a program that I am helping to plan. I decided to read the book so that I would be able to help participants decide if the want to participate in this program. The book was so fun to read and very informative. I loved all of the background information that the authors gave us to help us understand the differences between life now and life in Nome in the 1920. Very good historical information as well. I learned so much more than I expected to with simple "work reading" and I can't wait to talk to the participants of my program and see how they liked the book I picked!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    INTRIGUING AND INFORMATIONAL! DEFINITELY WORTH READING!

    I liked this a LOT! In a way it was almost two stories; the geoloic and social development of Alaska and the story of the epidemic and the people who responded to it. It was well written and a vivid portrayal of the area and especially the heartfelt, loving response of the citizens of Alaska to save those affected by the illness. Man and dog pushed themselves beyond 100% and the result was the ending of the epidemic. It was interesting to hear of the relationships between the musher(s) and his/their team(s). Having visited Nome, the depiction of the city and surrounding area were real and a great reminder of the harshness of the climate & the difficulties that arise. I would highly recommend this for anyone interested in history/geography/and just a generally good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    ?????????

    Some body if they know tell me who baltosither teamates i reallllllllllyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy need to know!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks if you havean answer, write your headline as baltopizzamoney$$$$$$! Thankssssss! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Nook sample

    Jac2848- did not like nook sample

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2010

    Amazing Story

    This account of the heroic efforts of men and their dog teams to save an Alaskan town from an epidemic is truly amazing. It starts out a little slowly with background information, but like a cartoon snowball going downhill, it soon gathers speed and urgency. I read a copy from my library, but bought it myself because I knew I would want to read it again. Don't miss this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2006

    Enthralling on every level

    A girl in my running club was watching me run with my dog and commented that he had 'lead dog mentality' and recommended this book. I bought it, and it collected dust for six months before I picked it up. Once I started, I was drawn into Nome and hated putting the book down. The book illustrates life in Nome- what were people's daily lives like. What challenges they faced and how they spent their recreation time. Alaska's local, regional and state politics were explained, as well as Alaska's relationship to the federal government. Then of course, there's the image of isolated, rural life as it was poised for dramatic changes through modern technology. That alone would make it an interesting, 3 star book. Then the authors included the dogs and their drivers. Their anecdotes were sometimes delightful and charming a few were awe-inspiring and several were heartbreaking. Their heroic acts made this book a memorable read. I live in Alaska, and immediately lent the book to a girlfriend who loved it as much as I did. She pointed out how many people we knew that had come from the towns and villages mentioned in the book, making it even more meaningful for us. If you're interested in Alaska or dogs this would be a great read for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2006

    Excellent

    This novel easily captures the heart of any reader as its vivid excitement and historical accuracy seamlessly run together. These dogs and men had an unforgettable courage amidst some of the harshest conditions imaginable. The Cruelest Miles is an excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2006

    phenomenal

    what an inspiring store. one to tall you children. well written and full of suspense, thrills and uncertainty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2005

    Incredible story, well told.

    I enjoyed this book as much as any I have read in years. The story is set up very well so the reader has a great understanding of the terrain faced by the mushers and dogs, and the predicament faced by Nome. The description of the scene when 'Wild Bill' pushed off on the first leg of the run in the middle of the night with a temperature at fifty below zero gave me chills. A great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2005

    CATCH US IF YOU CAN !!!!!!!

    A fast-paced race against time. An informative and historical glimpse at Alaska's 'dark side of the moon' accompanied by man's very best friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2005

    Excellent book giving an appreciation of what the mushers did

    The Saliburys have done an excellent job of putting the serum run in context. Anyone who has actually *read* the book without a prior bias will know exactly why other methods were not risked. At that time, dog sleds in Alaska were the standard transportation. There wasn't much alternative. No other mode of transportation combined reliability and efficiency in the same way. And if you want to check the sequence of events, you can always check microfilm records of the major newspapers of the time. I seriously doubt that the vaccine manufacturers needed to stage that sort of event. It would have redounded upon their ability to provide the vaccine as needed. This book is an excellent read and gives a real appreciation of the toughness and rigors of the Alaskan frontier.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2003

    Two tragedies promoted as wonderful

    In 'Vaccination Condemned,' the author (Elben) shares that the Mulford Company (vaccine manufacturer) staged the Balto sled dog promotion to stir up fear and suspense. She writes that the vaccine could have been transported faster and easier, but that would not have been as good PR, and that AFTER the serum was delivered and utilized was when the real epidemic broke out. That is tragedy #1. Tragedy #2 is that dogs suffer terribly and often die pulling sleds. I guess I could add that tragedy #3 is people buy into dramatic stories and don't investigate further behind the scenes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2003

    A must for dog, sled dog, and especially Siberian Husky Lovers

    Being an admirer and owner of 2 Siberian Huskies attracted me to this book and I got a lot more than I bargained for. The well written history of the dogs, people, and places involved in this true-life drama made me laugh, cry, and shake my head in amazement. When I first started reading I thought 'they should make a movie of this.' But I soon realized that no movie could possibly do justice to the heroic acts and amazing history that lead to this incredible event. This book is a must for anyone who admires the amazing courage and spirit of dogs, (especially Siberian Huskies); or for anyone who wants to be reminded of the self-sacrificing goodness of human nature; or simply wants to know more about the history of Alaska. 'Thank You' to the Salisbury's CM Asheville, NC

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2003

    Two Modest Pens Allow Inspiration to Shine Through

    Sebastian Junger, author of the 'Pefect Storm' and 'Fire,' summed up the Salisburys' writing perfectly when he said: 'Fortunately, the...writing is as straightforward and honest as the men they are describing.' Gay and Laney found a story--a triumph!--that needed only to be told. The rest has taken excellent care of itself. In a time of war and political slugging, this story's theme takes on even more specialness. How can one turn away the delicious recount of children being saved from sure death during a bullying Winter that made even the Eskimo quake?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1