Customer Reviews for

The Cruelest Month (Armand Gamache Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 123 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(76)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted September 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Charming and Delightful

    This series could be described as 'Lake Woebegon' with murders. The writing is sharp with effective dialog. The reader is transported to Three Pines and becomes immersed in the idylic life of the village. The mysteries are believable, the tension builds nicely and the endings are realistic and satisfying.

    If you're looking for several hours of enjoyment, these books are well worth the investment.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2008

    A reviewer

    I have read every Louise Penny novel in this series, and I'm delighted to have found a grand story teller and good writer in this new mystery novelist. I think Ms. Penny is excellent at both character development as well as the intricate weaving of plot strands that develop within the book and from book to book. I found The Cruelest Month to be the most engaging in the series to date. I realized that near the book's end, I was slowing down in my reading to extend the time I had with the characters I now know and love. I hope another story about Inspector Gamache and the folk of Three Pines will come our way before long.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2009

    A book sure to become a favotite read.

    I loved the characters, the plot and the writing. I find myself using Penny's quotes and poetry and I am always sorry when her books are finished. I hate to say goodbye until the next book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    Family History Rears It's Head

    It's all about father-son relationships and the hidden side of our character--and how we are shaped by these relationships. This book features Peter's family, but also Armand's history and his relationship to Daniel. And even a father-son type relationship between a senior employer and a wait staff is included. The contrast in the Morrow and Gamache family is striking and as interesting as the murder mystery-how and who dunnit.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Cruelest Month

    While I enjoy this series I find it hard to believe that so many diverse characters live in this town with such evil thoughts. As the reader, we can hear the jealousies which makes you suspect the motives of everyone. My favorite character, Ruth is not likeable in the least but I find her loveable in a prickly way. Her scenes with the goslings in this story are unforgetable. My least favorite characters are Beauvoir and Peter, who I think must do something really devastating in later books. The author does a good job taking the reader from the small town atmosphere of Three Pines to the Judiciary in Montreal. Having driven in the northern areas of New Hampshire, Vermont, and Maine I found that the description of the potholes actually made my kidneys hurt. I recommend this one for a day when you have several hours to read. It easily will fill your afternoon.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    recommended highly

    Excellent book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2009

    the cruelest monthe

    I began reading Louise Penny's Gamache series with the 1st book and have read and enjoyed every one. Her writing is more akin to english writers with attention to details and the 'every day' in people's lives.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Best one so far!

    I have been reading the series, and am hooked! This is the best, and they keep getting better! I love THREE PINES and ARMAND GAMACHE. They are lovely read.

    penrob

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    I highly recommend all 6.

    I have read all ot the Armand Gamache series and hope Louise Penny writes many more like these.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    I have only recently found this series and thought at first that

    I have only recently found this series and thought at first that one book would be enough.  However, I find it very'
    hard to just walk away after one, and so far am on my third.   I'm not overly fond of Ruth, but her poetry has caught me.

    This is gentle reading and often I find myself totally unable to even guess at the culprit who is to blame, but find the 
    story itself of more interest - the lives and thoughts and behaviors of the people of Three Pines and certainly the lives of Beauvoir and the rest, even more than of Gamache

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    A wonderful cast of people to meet and spend time with on these winter days and nights

    Louise Penny is creating a lacework of characters, some of them intelligent and magnetic, others and unpredictable, and others neighbors to share tea and cakes with but all in-
    teresting.
    Subplots are developed and run underneath the main plots covering one or more of the series and I would advise starting with the first volume (Still Life) and hoping that you will always manage to be one book behind the newest one published.
    Ms. Penny makes me want to find her little village and live in it very happily with interesting neighbors for the rest of my life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Excellent Read

    I read this book at breakfast, lunch and bedtime. An excellent well crafted story. Very well done. It captivates one's sensory awareness by making the reader think they are present and observing every converstion, scene and detail. As with all well written novels, the characters become so familiar you hate for the story to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    I am hooked on this series!

    Although dubbed as a "cozy mystery" the writing is far better than most of that genre with complex characters, well-paced plots, and Good use of description. The occasional French phrase lends authenticity to the setting -a village outside of Montreal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2013

    Highly recommend this book

    Louise Penny is a really good writer and this whole Armand Gamache Series has me hooked. I am currently reading Bury Your Dead which is the 6th book in the series. They are set in a fictitious village of Three Pines which is a place I would like to go visit. Too bad it is not real. You get to know the characters as they appear in each book.

    I do recommend you start with the first book in the series and read them in order. Besides the story in each book there is a thread that runs through the series which adds interest and mystery. If you enjoy mysteries, you will love these books!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    WHY?

    Why is the only swear word the"F" word? Ruins an otherwise superbly written book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    A nice, fun read.

    Pleasant book in the line of Agatha Christie.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Love this series!

    Louise Penny's Gamache series is my favorite - she can't write them fast enough for me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Louise Penny sustains the suspense. . . .

    Delicious to explore the current story knowing that the other stories are only gradually unfolding - fascinating!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    Wonderful series!

    With each new adddition to the Armand Gamache series, Louise Penny entices me to continue to revisit the hamlet of Three Pines. Penny's writing is elegant & multi-layered with realistic character development...not only of her recurring characters but with new ones, as well. Character dialogue flows naturally and Penny's sense of humor reveals itself,sometimes most unexpectedly! Am I the ONLY person who thinks this series is perfect to be put on screen?????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Twists and turns

    Penny keeps up the character development and dark tone while making you guess.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7