Customer Reviews for

Cruelty to Innocents

Average Rating 3.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

CALL 911!! BEST SELLER ON THE LOOSE!!

Very rarely do I ever give *anything* 5 stars- but this debut novel by CK Webb and DJ Weaver deserves nothing less. The story line will grip you and you'll find yourself right along side the characters... in this suspenseful tale of childhood abduction.

When I found ...
Very rarely do I ever give *anything* 5 stars- but this debut novel by CK Webb and DJ Weaver deserves nothing less. The story line will grip you and you'll find yourself right along side the characters... in this suspenseful tale of childhood abduction.

When I found my emotions getting caught in my throat- and when I couldn't stop turning the pages- I knew CK and DJ had a hit on their hands. Go ahead- stop everything you're doing and buy this book! If you've ever had to call 911 before- and if you ever have to call 911 again when you're out in the public- you'll certainly remember this story. It won't let you forget- and that's a good thing. We look forward to more from CK and DJ!

posted by tomriddell on May 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Anomymous

I just finished reading this book. I felt rushed, I feel I didn't get to know the characters very much. The author put too many events in 143 pages. There was so little background on the characters, that I didn't get to form a picture in my mind of any of them. To m...
I just finished reading this book. I felt rushed, I feel I didn't get to know the characters very much. The author put too many events in 143 pages. There was so little background on the characters, that I didn't get to form a picture in my mind of any of them. To me thats makes a good read. The plot was good and this could have been a really good book if the author had taken more time and more pages to write it. This was only 99 cents, so maybe I shouldn't complain I really don't like to read books who are only 100 or so pages long because they are going to lack substance.

posted by 8429876 on March 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Anomymous

    I just finished reading this book. I felt rushed, I feel I didn't get to know the characters very much. The author put too many events in 143 pages. There was so little background on the characters, that I didn't get to form a picture in my mind of any of them. To me thats makes a good read. The plot was good and this could have been a really good book if the author had taken more time and more pages to write it. This was only 99 cents, so maybe I shouldn't complain I really don't like to read books who are only 100 or so pages long because they are going to lack substance.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    CALL 911!! BEST SELLER ON THE LOOSE!!

    Very rarely do I ever give *anything* 5 stars- but this debut novel by CK Webb and DJ Weaver deserves nothing less. The story line will grip you and you'll find yourself right along side the characters... in this suspenseful tale of childhood abduction.

    When I found my emotions getting caught in my throat- and when I couldn't stop turning the pages- I knew CK and DJ had a hit on their hands. Go ahead- stop everything you're doing and buy this book! If you've ever had to call 911 before- and if you ever have to call 911 again when you're out in the public- you'll certainly remember this story. It won't let you forget- and that's a good thing. We look forward to more from CK and DJ!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Goood read

    Makes you think twice about helping others in dire need

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    H

    Horrible! It read like a high school paper.
    vs

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book starts out with Chloe Jacobs and her 13 year old daugh

    This book starts out with Chloe Jacobs and her 13 year old daughter, Danielle, doing a little grocery shopping. When Chloe stops to help an elderly gentleman who has collapsed on the floor, the last thing she is thinking is that her daughter would be in danger. But she was. While Chloe gives assistance to the unconscious man, someone kidnaps her daughter.

    The police are called and of course handle it like most calls for missing teenagers. Are you sure she didn’t just run away? Chloe is out of her mind with worry and decides she needs help. She calls her friend Sloanne to come and help her through this terrible time.

    Sloanne has the instincts of a detective because of years of guidance from her police officer father and his partner, Patrick Louchilin. Uncle Patty, as Sloanne calls him, is now retired and runs a security firm and does consulting work for the police department. Together, they decide to do some investigating on their own to help find Danielle’s kidnapper.

    I think what immediately captured me with this book is that the bad guy preyed on good Samaritans with children. As a mom, you immediately feel the terror of Chloe when she starts looking for her daughter. Every moment you cannot find your child is pure hell. You fight the panic that threatens to overwhelm all of your senses. The authors did a great job in describing the nightmare that Chloe was going through.

    The authors, C.K. Webb and D.J. Weaver, take you on a suspense filled journey through the town of Aberdeen as other children start to turn up missing. Finally, the police believe that something is going on. But is it too late for the children that have already been taken?

    I did enjoy the book and I found myself reading well into the night because I just had to find out who was and who was not the villain in this story. C.K. Webb and D.J. Weaver created a great cast of characters who all could have been involved, but you just aren’t sure until it is actually revealed in the book who the bad guy really is or isn’t. I know I had one guy in mind that I was very suspicious of for a while and I kept thinking, please don’t let it be him! LoL

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    An amazing thriller beautifully written. Couldn't put it down.

    Wow! This debut novel of these two authors is an amazing ride. The suspense pulls you in immediately. The story of an abduction of a child is scary, but the novel doesn't leave you there. It then begins to weave the story of the many people involved and the feeling and flavor of an entire town. The organization and flow of this book was totally professional, pulling me along, introducing new characters and fully fleshing them out for me. Everyone seemed so real and the story so believable I felt like I was walking the streets of Aberdeen.

    I did not guess the ending, either...and I often do! So masterfully written, Cruelty to Innocents shouldn't be missed by anyone who loves a mystery or thriller...with a little love story tucked in here and there for us romantics. I cannot recommend this book highly enough. It was an amazing read and I hope to heck they are coming out with a sequel, because I want to walk with these characters again!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    Recommended Reading for Suspense Lovers!

    This story starts off with a bang and never lets go! The "what-if" scenario that drives the plot is "what-if" a Good Samaritan stops to help out someone who has an emergency and then a young child is snatched from the kind person's vehicle? And what if this happens more than once in a small town where everyone routinely helps each other out? This is the main plot of Cruelty to Innocents, with a couple of interesting side plots involving the protagonist's relationships with her old family friend whom she calls her "Uncle", her best childhood friend,and an old flame. Can you really go home again and not be adversely affected? A must-read for lovers of contemporary suspense! Rae- Best O' Books Reviews

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    Highly recommended...suspense filled page turner!

    CK Webb and DJ Weaver have co-authored this well-written, suspense novel with numerous twists and turns. The unknown and the desire to know more keep you riveted to every word and each and every page. This dynamic mother-daughter duo have managed to write a book in such a way that it makes the reader feel like they are actually viewing a movie as they read it. I could mentally visualize all that was taking place making it virtually impossible to not become part of the action. I eagerly returned to read this book time and time again in order to see what could possibly happen next as the clues unfolded to solve the mystery in "Cruelty To Innocents". You will not be able to put this book down.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    I will never forget this story. It is that good!

    I will never forget this story. It is that good!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    A Must Read by Dj Weaver and CK Webb!

    Cruelty to Innocents
    by
    Ck Webb & DJ Weaver

    I found this story a bit surreal with the Caylee Anthony story just coming to an end, and in my opinion, a disappointing one. But I digress. CK and DJ wrote this book in such a way that it put the reader into the story and I was able to feel what the characters were going through and to be honest, it was not a pleasant experience. I do have kids, all grown, but I do have grand kids and I could not imagine either one of them being kidnapped. It is parent's and families worst nightmare. It was brilliance the way they made all this happen during a 9-1-1 call! I have never came across another book like this in all the years I have been reading. This took total imagination and creativity and I felt it was awesome!

    This book is riveting and it makes you sit on the edge of your seat, yet you can't wait to turn the page to see what happens next! It blends in and plays on a person's worst nightmare and that is abduction of a child but with a total twist in a way that a person would actually be waiting in the wings to kidnap children from 9-1-1- emergency calls. When everything is in chaos and people are preoccupied with what is going on around them, they tend to let their guard down, just for a split second and that is all it takes for a predator to take a child. Bravo, bravo, bravo, and brilliant! I would like to know what made you come up with this idea for a what could be called a 'typical' abduction story if you had not put a huge twist on it.

    I cannot wait to read more of their work and I thoroughly enjoyed Cruelty to Innocents and I give it five stars all the way!! I highly recommend it and if you would like a nice thriller to curl up with that will pull at those heart strings and touch on your worst nightmare, pick up a copy!!!

    I give Cruelty to Innocents five stars *****

    Reviewed by
    Nora Barteau

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    How do people get this junk published?

    The plot was completely improbable, the characters cliche, and the suspense NIL . Nancy Drew is more entertaining than this bunch!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Why did I keep reading?

    The authors' writing style is stiff and formal making what should have been intense, emotional moments flat and lifeless. The dialog was forced and didn't flow in a natural way. The characters did not have distinct, individual voices. They all spoke in the same manner. The plot was predictable and the big "twist" at the end could be seen from ten miles away and if I am catching your spelling errors... you're in trouble. I liked the premis of children being taken from 9-1-1 scenes I just dont't think it was well written. Having said that, I have much respect for anyone who puts themselves out there and takes the chance. It is more than I have done.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1